We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angkor Village Resort
Ranked #60 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not at all peaceful”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The pictures look tranquil, don't they? And yet, despite asking for a quiet room, I am this moment listening to a crew of workmen hammering and pounding -- for the second day in a row, all day long -- not ten yards from my window. For some reason, the staff finds it surprising I'm not happy with this.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngkorVillageTeam, General Manager at Angkor Village Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear John R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback which will help us improve.

I'm truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our usually peaceful Resort.

I will forward your review to the concerned teams to ensure that it won't happen again and keep Angkor Village Resort quiet and peaceful as it should be.

Regards,

Pierre Carron
General Mananer
Angkor Village Hotel, Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    217
    57
    18
    1
See reviews for
183
368
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Beautiful territory and good rooms, nice pool. Very good food as well. Staff is very helpful. However, this is probably one of the most expensive hotels in Siem Reap but I would say it worth it. Start your day with excellent breakfast, go explore Angkor Wat or some other place, come back, relax by pool, swim, go to the town to have a dinner (or have it at the hotel, it is good). Very nice place to relax between sightseeing - this hotel is.

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from the entrance, check with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Undoubtedly, Angkor VIllage Resort is luxurious and filled with many amenities : its river/swimming pool, fine decorations, extensive breakfast buffet and tropical garden are just part of the picture. However, when paying these kinds of prices in a country where 10 USD will set you a decent double room anywhere, one expects flawless service and it wasn't delivered.
A few things that went wrong :
- the door lock was dysfunctional at check-in. It was fixed right away though.
- two nights before we left, the room got invaded by bugs. We complained at reception that said it was "normal" when the weather was about to change. We went to dinner and they got the room clean when we came back. But stiil, where did the bugs come from ?
- a waitress at the restaurant made an order mistake. When she brought us the actual order, she said we would be charged for both dishes - that is the wrong one included - claiming WE had made the mistake. We had to argue not to be overcharged. Unacceptable, dishonest behaviour.
- at the restaurant again, we wanted to book at 8 pm but were told to come at 7:30 because they would be full. However, most of the restaurant was empty with no reservation signs on them by 8:30. Strange.
- some drinks from the minibar weren't systematically renewed daily. We ran out of soap twice.

No dealbreakers here (save maybe for the incident at the restaurant) but still all of these somehow affected our stay. FYI the resort is a 10-mn, $3 tuk tuk ride away from Siem Reap, but there is no shortage of motos to take you there. Car rentals and drinks were a bit overpriced, but I guess it is a fancy hotel thing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank assenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The chocolate croissants were fabulous. They handled all our touring arrangements. The flowers all ariund the grounds were lovely. I think all of my group of 7 (4 adults and 3 kids) were well satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngkorVillageTeam, General Manager at Angkor Village Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Jodig123,

I would like to thank you for the time taken to write this review. We are glad to hear that you liked our gardens and our chef will be especially delighted to hear that his Chocolate croissants were fabulous!

We hope to welcome you to Angkor Village Resort again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pierre Carron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My family just spent three nights at this place and we loved it. It is not a five star place and you should not go expecting that. But we liked it a lot better than the much more expensive five star Raffles where we stayed in Phnom Penh. The common areas have lovely ponds and flowers, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast choices are many and excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Its quiet by ten, so not a place for carousing with your friends, but great as a quiet escape from the heat and noise of the temples and Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.9 km away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#57 of 337 in Siem Reap
535 reviews
1.5 km away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#29 of 337 in Siem Reap
1,291 reviews
6.2 km away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#19 of 337 in Siem Reap
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 337 in Siem Reap
4,688 reviews
1.0 km away
Nita by Vo
Nita by Vo
#17 of 337 in Siem Reap
297 reviews
3.0 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 337 in Siem Reap
3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Resort

Property: Angkor Village Resort
Address: Phum Traeng, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,248 - ₹ 24,619
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Angkor, "Angkor Village Resort" a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World features beautiful cottages, restaurants and spa all set amongst lush tropical gardens and along a unique 200 metres river shaped swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkor Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Village Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing