We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“quiet days amongst the temples of angkor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa of Somali

Villa of Somali
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa of Somali
Ranked #155 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet days amongst the temples of angkor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

returning to siem reap it was nice to find a newly opened very comfortable villa in a quiet residential area just 10 minutes from downtown and a quarter of an hour to the temples. the villa has only 7 rooms all very clean and with a balcony to have breakfast or an evening night-cap. the pool and the garden are perfect for relaxing after a days visit to the temples. the staff are very friendly and help with all the neccessary information. the food is excellant and what i enjoyed the most was this laid-back atmosphere in a relatively busy town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwell5294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I cannot explain the pure joy of staying at the Villa of Somali. We were a big group, and it's a small place, so we'd almost rented the whole place out. But it's like a home away from home, with the most comfortable rooms, a balcony, wooden floors that you can walk on barefoot (in fact, it is recommended!). The food is absolutely fantastic; Somali is just a fantastic intuitive cook. For vegetarians, like me, she is more than willing to turn signature Khmer dishes into vegetarian versions.
The swimming pool is gorgeous and always inviting, and you can order drinks to the pool. There's nothing quite like swimming in the pool while the sun sets.
Breakfast is delicious, and part of the room rate, with a wide array of choices.
Also, Somali can arrange for tuktuks to come and take you wherever for extremely low prices, and they are absolutely the best tuk tuk drivers I've met in Cambodia (especially Happiness tuk tuk! He comes highly recommended!) The only fault some people may have is with the location, since it's on the Airport road, away from the centre and hustle bustle of the city, but since arranging tuktuks is so easy and convenient, it is in fact the perfect location for some peace and quiet, after an eventful night at Pub Street, if that floats your boat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Villa of Somali is distinguished by its hosts and staff who treat you like family and go the extra mile because they care about you as a person and not just a paying guest. They are concerned for your every need and use their local knowledge to ensure that you don't pay more for your tuk tuk, your market purchases, your tours, your massage and your other outlays, than you should. Morning staff ensure that a delicious breakfast is served quickly so you can get your day on the way in the shortest possible time. The tuk tuk to town is free and is available to collect you from anywhere in Siem Reap at a time of your choosing. Your personal valet...The bicycles are free. There is internet as well as wifi. There is a refreshing and clean swimming pool to sink into at the end of a hard day at the temples and markets - and the owner will anticipate your need for a cocktail at this important juncture. The dinner menu is more than sufficient with Somali who is a great cook and very versatile. We planned to go out to dinner a few times but in the end preferred the fare of Somali and trying another new cocktail and meeting up with some of the interesting academics and other travellers who are old fans of Villa of Somali (formerly the Green Village Palace). The environment is quiet and safe and out of the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap central so noise is not a consideration. Tom, who owns the Villa with his wife Somali, is an authorised Tour Guide and will take you anywhere in Cambodia in his air-conditioned bus and provide informed commentary in good English. Your private tour guide. He took us to Preah Vihear on the Thai/Cambodian border, an ancient temple which has been in dispute with the Thais. The trip was excellent, Tom's knowledge vital to every aspect of our experience including staying at the village near the temple - and he got us home the next day in good time, safely and securely. It was the highlight of our whole SE Asian trip. The rooms are large and quiet and have cable TV, air-conditioning, hot showers and balconies. The staff are honest and extremely well-mannered, being relatives or personally known to the owners. The tariff for all this is ridiculously inexpensive. We would never want to stay anywhere else in Siem Reap than Villa of Somali and hope to return asap.



________________________________________

Room Tip: Recommend a room at the back with a nice view over traditional rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We booked our three nights stay at Villa of Somali a few days before our arrival, using the website booking.com. We received a confirmation from the website, but did not get any reply from Villa of Somali. Just to make sure, we decided to send them an e-mail, confirming our arrival time, and asking for a pick up from the bus stop. We did not get any reply. On the day before our arrival, we decided to confirm once again, and called them directly to ask it they had received our booking and the pick up request. They confirmed our booking and said someone would be waiting for us at the bus stop.

When we arrived after a bumpy ride from Phnom Penh, nobody was there to take us to the guest house. We were a bit upset (because we had just confirmed the day before - providing them with the bus company name, time, etc) but took a quick US$2 tuk tuk to Villa Somali. When we arrived, the same lady who talked to me on the phone was on the front desk. We mentioned our pick up problem, but she did not seem to care and did not apologize. Then, she showed my booking receipt from booking.com, but continued to say that they were having a "little booking problem", and did not have a room available for me for that night. She said she would send me to another hotel downtown and the next day we would return to their Villa. I was really upset then, because we had a booking and we confirmed it the day before! But, as we did not have many option, we accepted being moved to another place.

The hotel we were sent to was a really bad Chinese place, very dirt and disgusting. It did not have hot water, the air conditioning did not work properly and the bed sheets had holes and blood stains on it (!!). We must have killed more than 20 mosquitoes inside the bedroom that night! I was so noisy we could hardly sleep! In the morning we were charged US$ 22 for the night we spent on that terrible place (we saw other guests paying US$11 for the night!).

After an awful night, the lady from Villa of Somali really insisted that we returned to her Villa, but we had enough from their lack of professionalism, and decided to leave to another place.

So, we did not get to stay at Villa of Somali, but we can say that their location in not good at all, very far away from the town, the restaurant, and everything else. We ended up staying in a much better place, which also had a swimming pool, for US$6 less than what we would have paid at Villa of Somali (that charged me US$30 per night for a double room).

Room Tip: I think you could do a lot better then Villa of Somali. There are many other places to stay in Siem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luizniquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a find! This amazing guest house in the back streets has every thing we needed - a fantastic pool to cool off in, big clean rooms with comfy beds, hot showers and free computers and Wi-Fi. The staff were wonderful, always helpful even at 5am when we had to leave.they were also good company especially at dinner time. It is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy fine food and a cocktail or two. Somali and Thom treated everyone like family not guests. we would definately stay there again. :)

Room Tip: you probably should book at least a few days in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 km away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#1 of 331 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.0 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
The Privilege Floor @Lotus Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#69 of 331 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.0 km away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#30 of 331 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.0 km away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#2 of 331 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa of Somali? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa of Somali

Property: Villa of Somali
Address: 6 Airport Road, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 257 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,702
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa of Somali is just 300 metres off the national highway road #6, on the way into Siem Reap from the airport. It is a little more than 2 km from the center and the city. It is quiet location surrounded by open space and a few large neighboring villas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing