We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST guesthouse in Siem Reap and possibly, Cambodia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cashew Nut Guest House
Ranked #53 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The BEST guesthouse in Siem Reap and possibly, Cambodia!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our initial plan was to just stay long enough to visit Angkor Wat, like, 2 days or so but we ended up staying for 9 days. Alan is THE best person if you want recommendations on places to eat or where to go or just about anything and everything in Asia! We had the best room, (I'd like to think that!) Room 7 - clean and comfy with the amenities of a first class B&B. His staffs were all helpful and friendly too. I needed a Cambodian SIM card and didn't want to go through the hassle of registering for one so one of his staff, the ever so nice Lekhana, went and got it for me! The (free) breakfast was good - we had toast, omelet, yogurt, and fresh fruits each day, plus, they also have a tea/coffee/Milo set up that you can make anytime you wish to have a hot drink. Oh and if you don't feel like going out to eat, they have a delivery menu of almost any food you like! We had 2 nights of take-out, and each night, the food was really good.
The sunset lounge is a great place to hang out and watch the sunset. We practically had the place to ourselves when we were there so that was cool! We were almost sad to leave really, would've loved to have stayed longer. We were going to Phnom Penh the morning we checked out and the staff of Cashew Nut arranged for van pick up right from the guesthouse. All in all, we had a fantastic stay here! Highly recommended! Cheers Alan and co!

Room Tip: Get the room on the 3rd floor. Quiet and easy access to the sunset lounge or if you're a smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunlover2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    95
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
163
71
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights @ the Cashew nut. After a recommendation from other travelers we met in Ninh Binh (Vietnam), we decided to stay at this guesthouse during our days in Siem Reap. It was really great! The staff and Alan, the owner, are so friendly and helpful! After checking in we get many good recommendations about the area and due to this we had a great time! After Cambodia we are going to Lao, and Alan give us some insights in his travel experiences and gave some good recommendations. The service is really good like two fresh bottles of water and fresh mints each day, after a long day walking in the city a cold wet towel by arriving at the GH, opportunity to borrow some bikes during the day (for free) and a great breakfast (even Take Away when you want to see sunrise at Angkor Wat). On 9 june the first match of the Netherlands for the European Championship. Alan was checking Facebook for us because he remember that some dutch expat was organizing a football watching night. After a FB message and a phone call Alan knew the place to go and I could borrow an orange t shirt from Alan to support our Dutch team :) If you are planning to go to Siem Reap this is the GH to be, a great value place and very lovely people!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterDaphne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This place was recommended to us by the lads down at Mad Monkey and we weren't disappointed at all. The room was clean and well worth our money. The owner Alan was so friendly and helpful from the moment we stepped in to the time we left his doorstep. He even gave us a great guide on touring the temples to avoid temple fatigue! They do pick-ups as well which was fantastic since we were a bit hopeless with our map of Siem Reap. Do check out their Sunset Lounge. On our stay we went up and had the whole place to ourselves. We just grabbed a big comfy chair and stared up at the bright beautiful sky lit with stars, It was amazing! Best bang for buck and the service is fantastic! Would give it 6 stars if I could.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianealbee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here for a week - mom, dad, and two kids. We got two rooms which were very clean and comfortable. Owner was fabulous, very knowledgeable about the area (and SE Asia in general) and made many good recommendations for us. Guesthouse helped us arrange a tuk-tuk driver who was very good. Our whole experience here was excellent. We highly recommend staying here. My daughter wants me to add that we all enjoyed the view from the rooftop lounge where you can see for sunset and sunrise - a full 360 view. Definitely a family-friendly place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icb_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Cashew Nut in room 10 on the upper floor. Very happy with the room, clean nice bed linen and tiled throughout. View over the street where you can see Cambodian life in full swing. Great air con + fan kept us nice & cool. Alan helped us a lot with suggesting temple itineraries and the best happy hours around town after a hard day temple trekking. Breakfast is help yourself - cereal, fruit, nice yoghurt, toast, juice, tea, coffee and sometimes other treats. Alan & team also helped us with transport - private air con car, tuk tuk, whichever your choice. We took a car one day for the comfort. Glad we chose Cashew Nut as it made our Siemens Reap experience smooth as.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 km away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
0.0 km away
Angkor Boutique Villa
Angkor Boutique Villa
#154 of 343 in Siem Reap
118 reviews
0.7 km away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#104 of 489 in Siem Reap
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 489 in Siem Reap
698 reviews
0.7 km away
Dream Butterfly Garden Boutique Villa
0.7 km away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#68 of 489 in Siem Reap
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cashew Nut Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cashew Nut Guest House

Property: The Cashew Nut Guest House
Address: Psaa Krom Road | Vahear Cham Village, Svaydankum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 647 - ₹ 1,811
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cashew Nut Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trip Advisor award winning Cashew Nut Guest house is situated only a short 10 minute walk away from the lively markets and the restaurant/bar scene, making it the perfect place to base yourself during your stay in Siem Reap. Our newly refurnished, spotlessly clean, 10 room guest house has been designed to meet all travelers needs and requirements to ensure you don't have anything to worry about during your stay. Steve, the owner, has a wealth of information and advice about traveling throughout the region which he is more than happy to share with fellow travelers. There is something for everyone at the Cashew Nut Guest House which promises 5 Star service at a budget price.Tours available with trusted drivers at affordable prices offering great value for money.All our rooms are have en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cashew Nut Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing