We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Guide, Amazing Time!”

Angkor Guide Sopanha Private Tours
Ranked #90 of 832 Tours in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: My name is Yous Sopanha, I have been working as a tour guide for many years in Angkor Archaeological site as well as other tourism sites around Cambodia. I hold 2 Bachelor Degrees from Phnom Penh University in Social Science (history, philosophy...).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Guide, Amazing Time!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Sophana is the best full service tour guide! I toured Angkor with a small group and Sophana was wonderful! He arranged for our airport pickup and drop off (even when it was a Cambodian holiday). Half of our group didn't make the original flight and he was very accommodating in changing his schedule for us and going back to the airport to pick up the second half of the group so that they would not have to miss any of the tour! His rate is very reasonable and he is extremely knowledgeable about Angkor and Cambodia. Sophana speaks English wonderfully so we were all able to learn a lot and ask lots of questions. He helped us take the best photos of the ruins as well as group photos! I highly recommend Sophana as a private tour guide to anyone who is wanting a wonderful tour of Angkor!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Number One Tour for Angkor - Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Mr Sopanha Yous and his team made the whole process from booking the tour to providing just what we wanted from our visit to this great city of Angkor. My wife and I had never done small private tours like this but what a massive difference to the crowded coach versions. Although booked at short notice (8 days) we still managed to be provided with a one day tour. Sopanah could not take us personally but arranged for one of his fellow guides to take us.

Our guide, named Vann Seila, was excellent. Vann arrived at the hotel early and were quickly on our way to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat. We travelled in a car, with driver and were provided with cool bottled water and wet wipes all day (Oh yes it was hot!! outside the cool sanctuary of the car)

The knowledge Vann had of Angkor and its history was amazing and answered all our questions, something that would have been difficult for us to do in a large tour party. He also took us to locations that gave us great photo shots with some amusing ones thrown in too. Vann never stopped feeding us with the history of all the locations we visited and was conveyed in such a way that it never seemed to get too much for my wife or myself. He would tailor the day to what we wanted with helpfull suggestions when we needed them which made the day so relaxing for us

The walking between sites was kept to a minimum due to Vann phoning the driver to collect us from the nearest possible pick up locations. This was welcome because it was in the mid 30'sC (90's F) April 2012.

I would like to thank Sophana and his team for such a memorable day. With speacial thanks to Vann. Keep doing your tours like that and you will make many people happy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stringbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We find Mr. Sophana on trip advisor and luckily he was available on short notice. He was very knowledgeable and very accommodating to our schedule. Unlike many guides we have had in Asia, he really did speak English. His English was very good. This was a private tour with me and my wife and his prices were very reasonable. He ever had a battery charger available for my wife when her camera died!

We would highly recommend him.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank clintB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sopanha made our trip an outstanding experience.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have used private tour guides all over the world but Sopanha stands out above the rest. Nothing is too much trouble and he does not push you to visit tourist shops, in fact we had to ask him to include them. His knowledge of the history made every temple we visited a unique experience. He worked with us to develop a schedule before we arrived but was then able to deal with our last minute changes. The main thing was that he was able to plan our daily trips to avoid most of the crowds!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
1 review
“A very knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

His experience as a history teacher has made Sopanha very knowledgeable and passionate about Angkor and the Khmer people.

He is also accommodating in providing tours based on your personal needs and able to avoid the sites during the glut periods of tourist. This ensures that you are able to appreciate the serene beauty of these magnificent sites.

Sopanha is also punctual and able to provide vantage points for your photo shoots.

A very pleasant guide.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Guide Sopanha Private Tours also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Guide Sopanha Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing