We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great spot in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old House Restaurant

Old House Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 839 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 9
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Khmer owned restaurant-Close during Khmer New Year day and Pchum Ben day
cincinnati
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and two children had dinner here during our stay in Siem Reap. The atmosphere was as good as the food. The service was prompt and friendly and all four of our meals were prepared perfectly. It was nice to order off a menu without numbers for a change! The staff spoke excellent English and responded promptly to our needs. We met a nice couple from Australia at an adjoining table and shared our adventures together. Excellent experience all the way around.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    223
    60
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Many reasons to go there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

This little Restaurant is definetely worth a visit. Firstly it's not on Pub Street - fantastic! - secondly the food is yummy, thirdly the service is very friendly and last but not least it's a very fair price for the quality - actually it's cheap. We were alone in the restaurant, which was very strange because this place earns much more guests. Go there and discover it. I'm sure you will like it.

Helpful?
Thank Hans1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Try not to miss - delicious food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We went to this restaurant on our last night in Siem Reap and I personally found the food much more enjoyable than in The Touich restaurant, which is currently rated #1 here. Our tuk-tuk driver found the restaurant on the advice that it is opposite the hospital - then you just have to look around a bit to spot this hidden gem.
I was a bit disappointed to see that the restaurant was empty, we went in anyway and I'm glad we did. The decor is very inviting, the waiter is friendly and the food turned out to be delicious. We ordered water lily root salad, something we have never heard of before but it was really nice. I tasted the amok fish which is a very good curry with local fish. We also received a bit of bread and butter for aperitif. I wish more people would visit as this is is certainly a good choice. Afterwards we went to Pub street and were very happy that we did not eat there - was interesting for drinks but food at other tables seemed far too much touristic.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This restaurant was recommended by a local. It bypassed all expectations.
This most value for money, as well as taste and service of all the eateries we frequented in Siem Reap.
Pity we only discovered it on our last day!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Food! Outstanding Service! And Cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This place had delicious, cheap food! The chicken or fish amok is really good and the most memorable for us now a month later. The staff treat every customer so well, and they really pay attention to the pace at which they bring out different courses. We went here twice and loved it.

Just wear mosquito repellent! The place is open to the outdoors and the mosquitoes are everywhere! We went here in the afternoon, and it was empty. But it really starts to fill up in the evenings around 7 p.m. If they're full, then they just turn you away! We saw them do this to many people!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah10155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Old House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing