We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

The Touich Restaurant Bar
Ranked #22 of 869 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The best part of visiting Touich, was the ride in their ancient jeep from our hotel. The service and friendliness was second to none. I ordered the specialty dish, Red Snapper in a salt crust. The woman at the next table complained strongly that her's was tasteless. I have to say that mine was tasteless mush. It tasted like frozen fish considerably overcooked. My husband's ginger chicken was, fortunately, much better. Loved the atmosphere. A pity about the fish.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Valueandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    349
    98
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Food is outstanding, cambodian flavors, clean, nice terrace outdoor restaurant, staff very well trained, impecable service, went there for their new year celebration and owner offered us to assist inaking an offering at their temple
Just beautiful, went there with young kids and they loved it too
Make a reservation!!! Before u go, it is very cheap and popular

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sutopi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good, interesting experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Not quite what it's cracked up to be, but a good place. Its location is interesting, a little out of the way in the "local" part of town - so that's nice and different. The atmosphere is lovely and unexpectedly classy, and attention to detail noticeable. Staff are very keen, and happy to recommend dishes or accept customisations.
However, the food was not quite to my taste. The salads / veggies were a little heavy on whacky spices / ingredients, the recommended seabass was overengineered & overcooked, and the cocktails too sweet.
However, dessert was an unexpected highlight: there isn't a dessert menu, as all the desserts are - as our waiting apologetically explained - Khmer (we're Caucasian, so he obviously figured we wouldn't be interested). When we continued to show interest, he caved and brought out a "taster" plate with a comprehensive selection of Khmer desserts, which we had great fun trying and assessing. Not all of them are a Westener's idea of a sweet, but some are awesome, and it just made for a good time.
So overall, a pleasant experience, but not a keeper for a real foodie. Go to Viroth's instead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohannaOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was not worth the price”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had better local food at much lower prices. And it was too inconveniently located. Had to ask tuk-tuk driver to wait for us or else there was no way to leave after dinner.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MlleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious detour!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We took tuk tuk to the restaurant and after passing through some darker corners of Siem Reap (a bit of a scary ride since it goes through completely dark passages with barely clad people in their huts and homes) we have arrived to an excellent place to dine in Siem Reap. The food was superb! The ambience was great. All the tables were outside in the cute courtyard. Looked like the owner was on hand and the service was great. Really enjoyed our experience! Our complete dinner with drinks, appetizers, desserts, etc. was only $35!

P.S. Ask your tuk tuk to wait for you

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Touich Restaurant Bar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Touich Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing