We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Discover Cambodia and its ever-smiling culture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OSMOSE

OSMOSE
Ranked #55 of 788 Tours in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Osmose Eco-tours and Community Based Eco-tours of the Prek Toal Bird Sanctuary, flooded forest and traditional floating villages of the Tonle Sap Lake, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Your experience contributes directly to support the livelihoods and well-being of the floating community members, and includes trips to the bird sanctuary, traditional paddle boat tours of the floating village and the flooded forest by day and night, Community Based Home Stays, Community Restaurant, Community Based Activities, a visit to the Saray Tonle Cooperative, the Water Hyacinth Handicraft Workshop and much, much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Discover Cambodia and its ever-smiling culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This non-profit launched by 2 French people in the mid 90s has been doing a great job to promote sustainable eco-tourism on the Tonle Sap lake while helping local communities improving their living conditions. The one-day tour allows you to discover the Tonle Sap unique eco-system (hydrological phenomenon, birds sancturary), its fishing villages and many aspects of the Cambodian culture. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about his work.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Ly-Antho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    26
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We took a tour with osmose who organize a trip to the floating village. We went to the village then the bird colony and spotted many birds, pelican, storks, eagles, cormorant and others. Then back to the village to check out the fish and crocodile farm. While other tourist went back to siem reap, we stayed overnight with a family. Luckily one member could speak some English so we got plenty of info. The agency organized the trip back to siem reap via boat public transport and tuktuk back at the hotel. I found the organization top class, the guide was excellent, could explain the life around the lake, the projects, identify birds, etc all with a smile. Food was plentiful and nice. Family was very friendly and helpfull. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to see and understand the life around the lake.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlainrlgMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Varied daytrip the whole family enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Bird' Sanctuary is wonderful and we saw beautiful birds and landscape (flooded forest). The ecological program brings together unique nature, local community development, visit of floating village, including crocodiles farm etc. It was a peaceful, nice and varied daytrip that the whole family enjoyed.
Fee suports the NGO project for nature conservation and the local community. Enthusiastic guide.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newstead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wanted to do weaving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

The one thing i really wanted to do was basket weaving with the ladies in the village, I was disappointed because we didn't get to do this. Maybe there was a different trip.

Liked everything, however was over looking at birds by the end of the day and my eyes got saw.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BrisvegasGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A highlight of our time in Cambodia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a wonderful time on our Osmose tour of Tonle Sap Lake. Seeing the many trees full of nesting birds was truly amazing, especially as we opted to take the paddle boat and get a bit closer. The view of the lake from the tower was also quite beautiful and the visit to the floating village was both educational and wonderful.

All the arrangements were easy as Osmose was quite responsive to our many emailed questions. The guide and driver were both delightful.The food was delicious and we were particularly pleased that the guide and driver joined us for a family style lunch. We would have felt very uncomfortable had it been any other way.Osmose helped to make our trip to Siem Reap truly unique.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JSBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OSMOSE also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to OSMOSE? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing