We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to Improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Spirit Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angkor Spirit Palace
Ranked #162 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Need to Improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

After reading mixed reviews we decided to try the Angkor Spirit Palace for a short stay in Siem Reap at the end of our Cambodian adventure. Firstly I must say that we were dissapointed in this place, it is in need of some money to fix the place up. The staff were freindly and helpfull and the free Tuk Tuk service was good, although you felt obliged to pay some money for the service. The food was terrible, as was the breakfast, what really got under my skin was they did not offer juice as part of the breakfast, coffee or tea only ( both luke warm) so if you had kids ( mine 8,10 and 12) warm tea or coffee was not the best option, so we bought juice, were everywhere else in Cambodia its free at breakfast.
Some renovations were going on in the room next to us, and during the day the noise and dust from them cutting tiles was a bit annoying, but saying that we were out mostly. Our shower basin did not drain the water away , so if you wanted a shower straight after someone , you had to stand in their water!
Many small items around the place need fixing, things like exposed electrical wiring around the pool area, some just repaired with tape, but still outside, good chance of a accident there.
I think the staff are trying, but it's up to they owners to spend some money on the place if they want to compete with all the new Boutique Hotels popping up in Siem Reap.
In saying all this the rooms were big, a bit dark though, I would only stay here as a last resort, at least until they fix the place. It cold be a real gem for someone with a bit of go and forsight.

Room Tip: Book elsewere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damgirath, Manager at Angkor Spirit Palace, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Value Customer

Warmest greeting from Angkor Spirit Palace,

Thanks you so much for taking your valuable time to write us on tripadvisor. We really regret to knew that you were not get the positive stay with us, as we are always do our best to make you get the wonderful stay the same as previously guest.

Regarding to problem you have write we please to clarify as bellow for our future client;

With foods, we have our more than ten years experience chef for take over our kitchen to make sure is good enough, and we always ask our clients on their check out time or after their eat a bout their food, whether they satisfied or not and incase they not satisfied we would always give them some discount from that food or without charging. Alls the room are included breakfast with drinks like as coffee, tea or orange juice which you could choose any of this even though Espresso too. We really apologies for our new training staff which they dint know the work well and they just offer you only tea and coffee did make you unhappy with this and we promise you we will not allow this to happen again next time.

Bathroom alls out basin drain the water which are not work well, we have replaced. Annoying sound, our next door they make their new house and your room are face to, we have no right to stop them and it rarely happen this is the problem that we can not figure out. Terrible flooding during September it take almost haft month in Siem Reap, and it have effected our Boutique’s garden ,gat ,pool, and more … So we need some time to fix it, and we cant take a short period to fix alls of this.

Room dark: we have put more light every room and also each room have a Lamp reading book.

Finally we rally thanks you for choosing us , we also to inform you that Angkor Spirit Palace are always in hand to assist you at any time, and always appreciate the feedback of our clients about their stay with us.


Best regards

Dam Girath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    136
    44
    8
    8
See reviews for
79
164
56
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms with tv and wifi, tasty food, lovely pool. Free tuktuk into town that pick you up too. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel's building was simply breath-taking. No wonder it was used by artists before, because it's easy to imagine how the peaceful surroundings and the nice view could inspire you! The staff was also very nice, people at the reception were speaking english too, but the maid for example, could only give us warms smiles every time we met her.
That being said - the room was not completely insulated - which meant that mosquitoes could actually wonder into the room (or at least we felt that way). We bought a can of Raid and used in the room every time we went out. Also the restaurant, on the topmost floor, was good only for the view! One day we wanted to have the "local speciality" soup, and all we got was the typical wavy noodle, bag-soup - which is not what you expect from a dish with that name.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orsi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My cousin and I didn't have anything to go by - this was our first visit to Siam Reap. We went by the reviews here and were quite delighted with our choice.

The hotel offers extreme value for money! The building is very nice, and we liked it that the hotel is a bit removed from the busy town area. There's a free tuk-tuk service to town, which we made good use of.

There is a nice terrace restaurant, and the rooms were fairly clean and well furnished. Service was good. We had a problem with the aircon in one room, and the hotel offered us a larger one when we told them about it.

The business model that the hotel has is probably that they charge very low tariffs and make up for it when you hire day trips from them. On the other hand, we took two tuk-tuk trips one temple tour with a guide and a trip to the floating village, and both were excellent experiences, and were good value for money as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had an amazing stay, the owner of the hotel is a great host. He shown us many Cambodian specialties, which we wouldn't try without him. The hotel is very beautiful and during the day provide free tuktuks to the siem reap center.

I forgot my passport in the hotel reception and I realized it on our way to Phnom Phen, I talked to owner and he immediately send me the passport. I have received it the next day in the morning, that would not be possible even in Europe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.5 km away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#153 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.8 km away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#123 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.3 km away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Champey Villa
Champey Villa
#214 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.5 km away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#138 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 km away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#158 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Spirit Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Spirit Palace

Property: Angkor Spirit Palace
Address: Phneachey Village | SvayDangkom Commune, Siem Reap 2000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 982 - ₹ 3,142
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Spirit Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Spirit Palace is a uniquely styled hotel featuring traditional Khmer architecture. It is close to downtown, the temples and airport. You won't be able to resist taking pictures of the building. Relax in our tropical gardens, swim in our saltwater pool and enjoy Khmer hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Angkor Spirit Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Spirit Palace Hotel Siem Reap
Angkor Spirit Palace Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing