We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly & helpful”
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #196 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A very clean guesthouse with quite comfortable beds. Has everything that you need after a day exploring the temples - hot water (not that you will want it!), a/c, breakfast included, & comfy beds! You can hire bikes from them for $1/day or a tuk tuk to take you wherever you want to go. Whilst it's not terribly located, it is a good 10 min walk downtown & to Pub St. This didn't bother us as we were happy to walk everywhere but if you want to be near the action and go out you might want to stay closer. The staff were very friendly & helpful! The free airport pick up was a big help!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Ta Som Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 153 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

As a tourist, I don't want to go through the hassle of dealing with rude and unhelpful staff, deal with the confusion of which places to go, how to get there, how much to pay, where to eat, etc., and I also don't want to worry about getting ripped-off in whichever unfamiliar place I go to.

I just want to have a great touring experience.

If you feel the same way, then Ta Som guesthouse is my recommended place for you to stay in Siem Reap. Let me list down the pros and cons for you:

Pros:
1. If you email the owner, Meng, before your trip to make reservations and ask for advice, he will always respond promptly and with practical answers.
2. Free pick-up service to and from the airport and to and from the bus station.
3. Free welcome drink and fruits upon your arrival.
4. Cheap and clean rooms.
5. Free internet with fast speed. You can use the PC's at the reception area or you can access the internet via wifi in your room.
6. Integrated service.
-It has it's own restaurant where you can eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Breakfast is free.
-It has it's own tour service. Tuktuk, bike, car, tour guide, etc. it's all there. Look for Mr. Moori if you need a tuktuk. He speaks English very well.
-It can arrange your visa for you if you want to go to other countries nearby.
-It sells bus tickets to nearby destinations.
-Maps and other reading guides are available at the reception.
7. Very friendly and polite staff who know how to speak clear and cohesive English. There was always staff at the reception area ready to answer any questions we might have. Mr. Moori (who seems to do multiple jobs as waiter, tuktuk driver, and reception staff) also told us about a buffet and Khmer dance show at a nearby restaurant which costs only $8.00 if we go as a group with other Ta Som guests (usual price is $12.00). This was a great recommendation since we weren't decided yet where to eat that night.
8. The staff even gives you a souvenir gift when you leave. It's just a simple gift, but we really appreciated this.

Cons:
1. Our room wasn't cleaned and our 2 bottles free mineral water was not replenished during the third day of our stay. This was just a very minor thing for us though since our room wasn't that dirty that day.
2. The air conditioner seemed to have some problem because it took quite some time for it to cool the entire room. This was a minor thing for us also.

Might be a Pro or Con:
1. The location was a bit far away from the night market and central market. But this could also be a pro since you will be away from the noise.

Note:
This place is NOT for you if you are expecting a 4-star or 5-star hotel experience. This is a guesthouse and of course you need to set your expectations appropriately.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Milmar_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We enjoyed our 5 days stay at the Ta som Guest house in Oct 2011 . Meng, thank you so much for your prompt replies. In summary:
1. The guest house is clean with aircond and fan and rooms are clean and serviced every day.
2. It is within 10 mins walk to the pub street
3. Good food in the in-house restaurant
4. Excellent value
5.Not only do the staff provide good tour advice , We can also book tours and buy transport and show tickets etc from them
6. Friendly and efficient staff
7 It is like a home away from home.
Meng, We would definitely recommend our friends to stay at your guest house . We will be back!

Michael

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelwts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This guesthouse is like a home away from home. Nothing was too much trouble. It appears to be run by family and friends who also live there with their children. We had meals (at their attached resturant) at all odd times and there was always someone willing to cook for us. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport no matter what the time and we were even taken to their local musical Smile in the guesthouse van (after getting very good seats by booking with the guesthouse) Bookings can be made for all sorts of local trips at the desk and there was always someone there to give us information on the local conditions(some places were flooded temporarily when we were there and we couldn't visit) . It is just a nice walk to the markets but you can also take a Tuk Tuk for $1 USA. This guesthouse is value for money when you realise that for $15 US a day you get your bed and breakfast and friendly people too. Previously we had been in 5 star accomodation in China and this was more homely. All in all we would stay there again. We are in our 60's and not world travellers but we felt comfortable at Ta Som. Thanks to all the staff, Moray and Denise

Room Tip: As far as I know the rooms are just allocated by the staff but as they are very helpful am sure if y...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Ta Som Guesthouse (TSG) not only is a guesthouse but also provides tour services.
We stayed in Cambodia for 9 days, one day in Phnom Penh and eight days in Siem Reap. We booked 4 tour packages from TSG: Royal Phnom Penh, Angkor Explorer, World Heritage Preah Vihear and Floating Village Kampong Phluk which were really very exceptional tours. We had very good tour guides and drivers too. We visited many interesting places – except from the classical monuments – and we learned many things about the way of life of the Cambodian people.
We were very pleased from the professionalism and the organization of the staff which is very friendly, helpful and courteous. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the prices are very reasonable.
We highly recommend Ta Som Guesthouse to anyone who wants to have a great experience in Cambodia.

Kostas, Athens

P.S.
The site of TSG is very informative!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kostas_Dinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 km away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#154 of 361 in Siem Reap
502 reviews
1.2 km away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#157 of 361 in Siem Reap
160 reviews
1.3 km away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#178 of 361 in Siem Reap
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Xing Angkor Hotel
Xing Angkor Hotel
#223 of 361 in Siem Reap
108 reviews
2.6 km away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#188 of 361 in Siem Reap
450 reviews
0.2 km away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#134 of 361 in Siem Reap
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: ₹ 716 - ₹ 3,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing