We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encore Angkor Hotel
Ranked #182 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A big, clean hotel. As most of the reviewers have already mentioned, the highlight of this hotel is the location. You have to take off your shoes as you walk inside the hotel, which is a good and understandable policy, I thought. The owners of the place as well as the staff are friendly and helpful.

Unless that would not not bother you, make sure to book a room that does not overlook the living crocodiles pool, owned by a neighboring property! Not only is the scene from the window not pleasant, but also the sounds they make during the night were loud and annoying to me. The room was fairly sized and furnished, but poorly lit. The TV is old-looking but was OK. You are provided with dispensable slippers and long robes (I used over the swimsuit when I went to the pool). Fridge has only bottles of water, maybe so you could buy from their bar downstairs. Bathroom is a classic and very practical one (which is a rare feature in hotel bathrooms today!) but towels do NOT smell nice, even when washed and replaced!

In my opinion, there's an overall boring/chilly feeling about this place. It's a large hotel and the corridors are too long and too quiet, and you always feel you are gasping for air there - as it's poorly ventilated. There's also a "stingy" feel about its management, which might be logical given the reasonable prices.

One last thing, If you're staying more than 2 nights, you will get bored with the breakfast. It's too monotonous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

I agree with many of the comments here. Great location close to pub street, value, size and cleanliness. My room was overlooking the crocodile farm (in a small crowded lot) so they kept me entertained but also awake at nite. Dont let that put you off nor the diesel bus station of the other side which was sometimes a bit smelly.
I had confirmed and arranged a airport pickup which didnt happen and no explanation - she seemed a bit vague that I even had a booking so I didnt find the service that good - just a bit short and sharp which I can understand working with tourist all day. However very disappointed when my externally arranged transport was hassled and they wouldnt take a phone message for me. Several tour/taxi companies told me of similar stories so not sure what that was about

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

From the moment you step inside this establishment you seem to leave your worries behind you. Nothing seems too difficult for the very helpful and happy staff. They make you welcome, look after you, ensure your safety and are generous with their time. The values and ethos that underpin the management of Encore Angkor make it a special place and one that I have been recommending to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

stayed here for 5 nights and it was a fantastic experience. After visting the temples of Angkor, which is incredible but also exhausting in the heat, it was wonderful to come back to such a calm cool and relaxing place.The rooms are large and very comfortable - big beds, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and great bathrooms. And the rooms, like the rest of the hotel, are utterly spotless - down the the fantastic shining beautiful big wood staircase in the centre. The pool is perfect - just the right size for swimming lengths - and lovely to lounge by - with clean towels always on hand. The hotel is run with incredible effeciency - we booked all our tours and our onward travel through the manager and they were all perfect and very good value.The staff are lovely - its great to be greeted with such friendliness at breakfast every day. And the breakfast is plentiful and excellently cooked. The most perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Spotlessly clean, tightly run and beautifully located. You cant ask for more. We stayed there 4 nights - a family group . Nice Breakfasts with eggs and fruit- though it would have been nice to have a local option too.

Very good value for money - has everything you would need. I specially liked the No Shoes in Hotel policy.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms looked nicer than the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
8.0 km away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 361 in Siem Reap
586 reviews
8.4 km away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
367 reviews
4.9 km away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#77 of 361 in Siem Reap
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,115 reviews
7.4 km away
Shintana Saya Residence
Shintana Saya Residence
#1 of 361 in Siem Reap
232 reviews
9.9 km away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Angkor Hotel

Address: No.1482 | Village Chay, Commune Tek Vell, Siem Reap SR1 15, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: ₹ 13,203 - ₹ 27,447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap's exquisite countryside, 5 kilometers from Pub Street and Old Market (free pick-up and drop-off, 8am-9pm), a beautifully presented, spotlessly clean family-run hotel. Computers are available for guest's use - all rooms include free Wi-Fi Internet. Refreshing coffee, tea, and snacks are complimentary of your stay and available throughout the day. Refrigerator and electronic safe are located in every room. Tours arranged free of charge. Complimentary pick-up from Siem Reap International Airport and the local bus station for guests of Encore Angkor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Encore Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Angkor Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing