We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #21 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked this hotel for 4 nights based on outstanding reviews & the charm of having a dedicated tuk-tuk.
The hotel is beautiful as are the rooms, greenery, pool & food. Initially we were flummoxed with the staff - normally one expects smiling staff, here they had 'laughing staff' - the 2 front office people we met actually laugh while talking :-), a tad disconcerting, but you get used to it !

It is located in the middle of nowhere and has car repair shops on both sides. It is few kms away from city centre and restaurants - but having a dedicated tuk-tuk makes up for the distance, though not the 'approach ambience'. Hotels in the city, which have a river view are possibly better options.
The dedicated tuk-tuk was however, priceless for going around the temples & our tuk-tuk chauffer was outstanding - in his knowledge & attitude.

The building does not seem to be an original colonial structure - more likely a new building, made to look heritage with old tiles, etc.
The spa is just about ok - though the complimentary free massage is appreciated.

They have an excellent 'all day breakfast' format - so even when we left at 5am for sunrise viewing of the temples, we could have a very filling break fast back at 11.30am. Fantastic. We had few meals there as well & every dish we ordered was vey good.

However, our trip was marred due to loss of 1 cell phone in the hotel room. My belief is it was mistakenly picked up with the bed-sheets and had just fallen off somewhere - but we could not find it despite the hotel initiating a big search. The hotel management went out of their way to address the loss & we were feeling really bad to put the hotel staff under such scrutiny. The management approach reflected their commitment to hospitality and we greatly appreciate that - however losing a cell phone causes too much trouble to forget it easily.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sanjika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POManager, General Manager at Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Positive or negative it is always very helpful for us to get feedback from our clients because it help us to improve or maintain the quality of our services.

We also really appreciate the fact that you have underlined the positive points about your stay.

With regards to the loss of your husband’s phone we are still very sorry about it. However we really think that the phone could not have been on the bed sheet without our room maids notice it because our procedure is to remove the duvet cover then remove the bed sheet separately. If the phone was on the bed it should have been seen. Furthermore our maids were cleaning up the room while you were sitting on the room’s balcony. After you have reported to us the lost we took all the steps to try to find it. We checked every corner of your room, we checked around our swimming pool, garden, spa, restaurant, we fully inspected the laundry room and we even open all the rubbish bags to check inside without success. Then I took the decision to control all my staff (bags, lockers and so on). This is something that I don’t like to do because all my employees are working here since the hotel opening 4 years and half ago and we never had such problem before. It was an embarrassing moment but of course necessary to evacuate any doubt on the trust I gave to my team. Losing a phone is sometimes like losing our keys. Sometimes we are persuading to have left our keys in one place and found them in another one. This is a common situation for everybody. If I mentioned this” everybody life situation” it is because you asked your driver to take you to Viroth restaurant and to another place you have been to check if you did not forget it there. Furthermore your driver also informed us your husband told him he may have left his phone at home. So you may not have been sure at 100% to have lost it in the hotel.

In order to avoid similar situation in the future we will make sure to inform every client to keep their valuable items inside the room’s safety box. As you know most of hotels in the world do not take responsibilities if a client loses an item that was not placed inside the safety box. But for us we believe that sometimes the international hotel’s standard should be adjusted case by case. That’s the reason why we think we have handled your problem seriously by taking all the necessary investigation and by giving you at the end a compensation even if we will never be sure where the phone has really been lost.

We wish you all the bests and if you plan to come back in the future we will be delighted to hosting you again.

Warm regards from Angkor,

Sébastien
Pavillon d’Orient manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    213
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
468
1,090
116
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for 4D/3N and found the staff plentiful and extremely friendly. Room was well kept and clean, setting was lovely, pool was nice, and the food very good. Clincher was the free tuk tuk driver, which made life easy and simple. Ask for Chin, he's the best tuk tuk driver ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

A very big thank you to Sebastien and the team - from the reception, the wait staff, the cleaners, and the tuk tuk drivers and everyone else who made my second stay more amazing than the first. If you are having any doubts (even after reading the amazing reviews) - then don't! This truly is the best place I have stayed at, and will be the reason I return to Siem Reap again and again. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, every request was dealt with so efficiently, and everyone greets you with the biggest smile. We had some initial trouble on check in ( completely our fault as there ended up being more of us than we had booked), but it was seriously no problem at all. The staff went out of their way to help us. Every little detail has been thought of here!
I can not heap enough praise on Sebastien and his staff. They deserve all the credit in the world for making this place as amazing as it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz6285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews on trip advisor my wife and I decided that we would book 4 nights at this hotel as a base for exploring the legendary temples of Angkor wat. We where delighted to find ourselves in a charming, luxurious boutique hotel.

Upon arrival we where greeted by the friendly, well spoken and super smiling Mr Charlie. He informed is of all the hotel amenities, which were many and showed us to our room.

The room was clean, spacious and had a lovely terrace. The only small point was the lack of storage in the room, but being large we didn't notice it too much.

Being located outside the main part of town they provide our own tuk tuk driver which more than compensated for this fact and we praise them highly for their forsight.

Our driver mr davood was polite and gently spoken and was always happy to see us. He was a credit to the hotel.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking to discover the wonders of the Khmer temples and have a little oasis of luxury, it's not in party central but suited us just fine.

Well done the pavilion!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetBornBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

On first inspection I was a little disappointed but the Pavilion grew on me during our stay and I thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel appears to date from colonial time with a fairly recent refurbishment that does not detract from the character of the property. Our room had stained floor board, a couple of pieces of period furniture and a nice bed with a mosquito net, and a big balcony made quite private by palms and vegetation , which we enjoyed each night we were there. There is a separate shower and bath in a good sized bathroom.

Inclusions in you room rate include airport pick up and drop off and use of a car and driver at other times-we used it to visit Banteay Srey about 38 km away which we recommend and a tuktuk for your personal use (5am until 10pm) during your stay-we had a very pleasant young driver ‘Wood’ who spoke good English and was helpful and informative and enhanced our visit to the temples.

The only negative I had was the cooked aspects of the breakfast which need some work in my opinion. It really is the attitude of the staff from Charlie down that make the establishment so enjoyable-a 5 star experience for mine and strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 13 is end room downstairs and which we recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briard8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.5 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
2.6 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
3.1 km away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#4 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
1.4 km away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.3 km away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#5 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Property: Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,241 - ₹ 6,612
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing