We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
66
90
36
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
90
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chobe river game drives on stilts large double bed boat cruise mosquito netting three nights sharon bushbuck campsite guineafowl lodge trips botswana guide meals animals
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at The Kubu Lodge in Kasane while we visited Chobe Park and Victoria Falls. Only one thing I can make any complaint about and that's the cost. It is slightly high at $100 per person per night, and €20 for dinner. Very convenient to Chobe and visiting Victoria Falls, but for dinner it's tough to eat anywhere else due to the fact you are outside of town and it's advised you shouldn't drive after sunset. But everything else is well above average. I would probably try another place if I visited the area again (like the Waterlily, which is where I originally wanted to stay but there was no availability). That said, I wouldn't be hesitant to stay again at Kubu Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

After reading the negative reviews, felt I had to even out the response. We stayed here last year, and loved the peacefulness, the high quality of the food which the chef uses as much local produce as possible. We especially liked that there were only about 12 bungalows. So no crowds, and were able to spend time just relaxing.

The only minor downside was the office staff who seemed a bit confused and/or reticent to assist which meant that the manager had to come out and deal with stuff. The bar staff, restaurant and porters, etc were all lovely; and more than willing to assist.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_Janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The kubu (hippo) lodge is located ca. 6km out of kasane on the way to zimbabwe.
There are several bunglows (ca. 10) on a wide areal. Each bungalow has it's own bathroom with shower and the beds have all mosquito nets for a well sleep. In front of the bungalow is a small terasse mostly with a nice view to the chobe river. A pool is also near by the river.
Dinner & breakfast is served in a restaurant near by. Dinner was fantastic (ca. 20€uro), breakfast sadly not. At 8:45 am the breakfast buffet was nearly empty and the staff was totally confused and not very helpfull - is it because breakfast is included in the rate? It was also not possible to do a phonecall to an other lodge in kasane at the reception - the phone is just for arrival calls ?!? They told us to buy a phonecard.
Payment for the bungalows has to be done in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

After being recommended, my husband and I took our daughter visiting from Australia to stay a Kubu Lodge. Check in was a disaster as the rooms we had been allocated were still occupied! After much fuss we were eventually given other chalets. Accomadation very basic, old fashioned & needs air con in summer! Food was ok, very basic. Staff were indifferent, gave the impression they didn't care. Camp site very run down. Beware don't go on the nature walk! - Not well signed and you get lost by the river side- very dangerous area for crocs! we obtained a map from reception but they did not warn us half the walk was closed! To top it all the morning we were leaving - check out time by 11 am - we had a walk after breakfast, got back to chalet to shower & the maids were already in there striping beds, had taken towels & our suitcases & belongings were still spread around!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We camped at Kubu lodge for a night. The camp site was decent and overall the lodge area was nice. However, it wasn't a good location since you had to take a $5-10 taxi ride to get into town. Also, the service was pretty poor...they didn't provide many activities such as boat rides or half day/full day safari ride and when we asked they didn't have any advice for what activities to do. We ended up moving to Chobe Safari lodge since it was in town and provided activities/tours. Also, the camp area at Chobe Safari Lodge was much, much nicer along with the pool area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews