We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
66
91
36
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
91
36
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chobe river game drives on stilts large double bed boat cruise two nights sharon bushbuck camping guineafowl lodge trips botswana guide safari meals animals
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We had a very nice stay in Kubu lodge. First night in a cabin in the lodge and second time in the camping.

The lodge is very comfortable. We speacially liked the linens in the beds (very soft) and the dinner in the restaurant. The garden surrounding the cabins is very beautiful, it is really one of the best lodges we have been to during our trip in Namibia and Botswana, very relaxing and amazing staff.

The camping is more simple, the toilets/showers need to be rehabilitated.

The manager, Sharon, was very helpful. She helped us organise our selfdrive safari in Chobe and our day trip to Victoria Falls. She is a very nice person!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inès A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

We expected a very nice lodge, but it was very disapointing. The chalets were very, very dark. You could not see anything and we need lights all day. The bathroom was run down. The pool was dirty, you could not swim. Everything was really unkempt. Just some of the stuff was very friendly. The rest was nerved, when you asked them someting. The Gamedrives were just great, but they were done with another company. Much to expensive. Never again...

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Silke-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Its difficult to describe the the views, the beautiful trees and deep feeling of peace you get staying here - the rooms are very comfortable, big beds with nets, staff excellent - great service all round. Game drives booked - trip to Vic Falls, bird watching etc -
Much prefer this style of small lodge to the big impersonal ones.
The pool was refreshing,we enjoyed lazing there watching crocs float by!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

The rooms were so homely, full of character, had such a natural vibe to it. The staff were friendly beyond words! Great service, stayed two nights and the second night we were to tired to go to dinner so ate in, and one of the staff came to ask how we were and why we weren't at dinner which was very nice of him. The food was exquisite although only a few choices. Great location as well, near Chobe game reserve and nice view of the river

We also used their services to go to Victoria Falls. Our driver was so friendly, my uncle needed some painkillers and the driver quickly stopped off for him (the other group had been dropped off to do a Victoria Falls helicopter ride so we weren't holding anyone up). Me and my mum even wanted to go back to the open market he took us to and, even though it wasn't required in his job and was talking to a friend at the time, he did it in his own free will!

Also, hippos outside my lodge one night and while we were eating dinner there were some by the river, no wonder it's called kubu lodge! Also saw a few antelopes walking around which was nice

The only reason I don't give the lodge 4 stars is because the shower temperature wasn't very constant and the floors of my lodge not very comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harriot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

4 of us stayed at Kubu Lodge for 3 days in September. We had come from Francistown where the weather was in the 70's F during the day, and found that 5 hours north it was up to 97 degrees F all 3 days. The temperature did not affect our awesome stay, it's Africa, you know it can be hot. The 4 of us stayed in two different chalets down close to the Chobe River. We were really pleased with the accomodations. It was a bit rustic, but this added to the charm. The only ammites we missed were air conditioning and a refridgerator, but again, it was difficult not to enjoy the environment. We did have a fan which helped tremendously. The grounds were beautiful and came with families of bush buck, mongoose, and wart hogs. The lodge has a restrurant that has both great food and service. Having breakfast or dinner outside on their deck was wonderful. There is no wifi in the chalets, but we had free access in the registration area we could use any time. We booked a trip to Victoria Falls, a river cruise, and a game drive through the lodge and they were great as well. We were picked up in front of the lodge and dropped off after the event. If there is a negative, it would be that the bed was too firm for our liking, but it didn't create problems for us.This was our first trip to Africa and Kubu Lodge played a big part in the terrific memories we brought home. Beautiful resort and terrific service.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 73j0hnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews