We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Chobe Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chobe Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was the start of our Safari experience and it was a great way to start.( We stayed 4 nights as part of a longer trip.) The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, our first floor safari room overlooked the gardens and river. It was great to see the warthogs, mongoose and monkeys from the balcony. Although this is a large lodge it didn't feel impersonal.

There was a good choice of food in the restaurant, which is buffet style. Whilst not always very hot the freshly prepared stirfries at dinner and the omelettes at breakfast were great.

Our excursions were included and we choose the times to suit- they were well organised. Both the morning and afternoon game drives are a must, we saw some of the big five elephant, lion , buffalo as well as gifraffes, impala and kudu and a variety of birds.

The river trips were also good particularly the private boat trip where the guide was very knowledgable and tailored the trip to what we wanted to see.

There is a bank and supermarket right next door to the lodge with no problem walking around.

A fantasic experience which we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    471
    166
    48
    28
See reviews for
238
459
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at Chobe Safari Lodge over 10 years ago and returned to see the place had had a big renovation. The Lodge is luxury, amazing open bar and massive restaurant a pool and better rooms. We camped in the adjacent campsite which is much smaller than before but is still next to the river. To be truthfull the campsite has lost some of its character but is still has good facilities and you can use all the Lodge facilities. Location is great as you can walk to Kasane for soemthing to eat or to the store and it is only 10 minutes drive to Chobe National Park.

Room Tip: Look out for the larger sites as some are quite small and dark under the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vengavamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Every year (and for the last 8!) we have stayed at Chobe Safari lodge. We have only had wonderful experiences here and so keep coming back. Fantastic value for money. Even though it is a large lodge +/- 80 rooms you feel like you are somewhere more intimate. The Safari rooms are best, as good as any exclusive small luxury lodge/camp. We prefer being upstairs. The staff are ever helpful and happy. There is always a good vibe, and everything seems to flow like clockwork. We find that their staff turnover is nearly nil! .... which can only mean well-trained staff who are happy. Chobe Safari Lodge is always full, other lodges in the area say they are busy when they have 50 guests, whereas Chobe Safari Lodge say they are quiet when they have a hundred!! The location is right on the boundary fence of the game park , and only a 5 min drive to the gate. This place is a treat.

Room Tip: avoid if possible the River Rooms and the Garden Huts, Safari Rooms are the best!! and top floor bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the lodge for three nights in a family suit. Although it was room and comfortable, the air conditioning was very noisy and it was hard to sleep as a result. Also walking past over rooms, meant jumping over their air conditioning leaks from the humidity which is a bit dangerous. Apart from that, the hotel was very child friendly, good food and good location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Since childhood I have had the dream of attending an African Safari and I am thankful that when I made this dream come true it was at this fine establishment. I went there with my travel group and from the moment we arrived, we were given the finest treatment. The rooms had a great view of the Chobe river so I saw so much wildlife especially the hippos who would come close to the shore. The wild boars who roamed freely throughout the property and the various monkeys who every waking moment lived to perform.

As for the food, there was so much to eat. I loved the fact that they offered actual game for one to try. I tried ostrich,various antelopes, buffalo and different types of fishes but to name a few. They also made typical American food for the non adventurous types so there was something for everyone. I totally enjoyed this place and cannot wait to return in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasane hotels
3.0 km away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
0.7 km away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kasane
427 reviews
1.8 km away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 6 in Kasane
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 km away
Chobe River Cottages
Chobe River Cottages
#6 of 26 in Kasane
132 reviews
9.6 km away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#14 of 26 in Kasane
26 reviews
11.6 km away
Elephant Valley Lodge
Elephant Valley Lodge
#8 of 26 in Kasane
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chobe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chobe Safari Lodge

Property: Chobe Safari Lodge
Address: Border of Chobe National Park, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasane
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,343 - ₹ 1,13,711
Hotel Class:3 star — Chobe Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Chobe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chobe Safari Hotel Kasane
Chobe Safari Kasane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing