We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of Downtown”

Gran Hotel Santa Cruz
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Santa Cruz
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
United States
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Center of Downtown”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Every town in Latin America has a 'Gran' Hotel. I look for them. They are located in the center of downtowns, are built big and first-class, and are invariably a generation out-of-date. Gran Hotel Santa Cruz is a prime example. (plaque in lobby: 'since 1952') This one has a nice, big atrium restaurant and does a trade in meetings. Pool area is a nice little oasis and the gym is more than adequate for most things. The Gran even has staff that appear to have been there for decades. Location is a couple blocks from the principal plaza and near everything. A new boutique hotel has opened on the plaza, but otherwise the Gran is the best choice in center of this town. Rooms are enormous with large all tile bath with tub. Only one small window though in room 610. It appeared there are several room types and possibly an annex near the pool. Hallways are dark and underlit, although area near elevators are spacious. Wifi reception spotty at times and TV channel selection not extensive. A very unfortunate painting of questionable taste hangs behind the front desk in lobby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
3
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This hotel has seen better days, and might need some attention. Some colleagues has problems with showers in the morning, such as not having hot water or not having water at all. Staff was so-so.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

As previous reviews have noted, a major decorative overhaul is looong overdue at this 70s relic. However if you want a large clean room with a good bed and decent bedding, good bathroom, wifi, TV and minibar, attentive friendly service and a central location, it's fine.

The pool is large and deep, and although the water is mysteriously opaque, it's lovely to swim in. Try to get a room with a view over the pool - you get a view across the city which isn't bad.

Breakfast has a wide selection of stuff and they'll make you eggs to your preference. Coffee is dire but I've yet to have a good one at a hotel so far in this city.

We negotiated a hefty discount off the rack rate, and at the price we paid, despite the swirly floral carpets and cracked plasterwork, we were happy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I wanted to write a review of this hotel since I'll be going back their for another weekend soon. I was there back in Sept 2009 for 2 weekends.

The staff is great. Always courteous and always available to assist. From the point of booking to the point of checking out- I had a pleasant experience. Their location was great and the rooms are pretty large. They even had an underground garage for free where I was parking my rented truck.

I didn't try the pool or sauna since I was busy and hopefully this time I can. I believe their was a security guard which is always a good thing for a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAVUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la paz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I stayed in this hotel for three days, found the rooms to be huge, and very comfortable, excellent breakfast included in the rate, the staff was friendly and helpful ( dont speak spanish), location was perfect for my business trip, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markLaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Canciller
Hotel Canciller
#27 of 49 in Santa Cruz
48 reviews
0.0 km away
Senses Centro
Senses Centro
#25 of 49 in Santa Cruz
12 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#30 of 49 in Santa Cruz
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
Cosmopolitano Hotel Boutique
#6 of 49 in Santa Cruz
35 reviews
0.6 km away
House Inn Apart Hotel
House Inn Apart Hotel
#12 of 49 in Santa Cruz
48 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Tropical Inn
Hotel Tropical Inn
#40 of 49 in Santa Cruz
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Santa Cruz

Property: Gran Hotel Santa Cruz
Address: Rene Moreno 269, Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Santa Cruz Department > Santa Cruz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Santa Cruz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Hotel Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing