We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Americana with all the smells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September, as I came for the Notre Dame football game. Got by without a car, but not a good idea, as this is mall and office park world near Briarwood Mall. Ann Arbor bus service is not that great. This is the south Red Roof in Ann Arbor and is basic. I thought the "whirlpool" room would be an upgrade, but this is only a token in a basic roadside motel. Not particularly quiet, my room came with this old-motelly smell. Breakfast is basic and front desk is very helpful.

Room Tip: I had a ground-floor room in the middle of the complex... Upper floors may have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights while visiting a graduate program at U of M. Great location and easy to get to. For the price, it was great- room was mostly clean, just found a few stray hairs- only found them as we were looking to make sure there weren't dog hairs left! He was nervous about staying in a hotel that allows pets, as unless the room is cleaned VERY well, he will still have an asthma attack if there is any pet dander. But we didn't have a problem. Staff was efficient and helpful, they had an iron to loan, thank goodness! The breakfast is just cereal, english muffins, and pastries- don't expect fruit or yogurt. Our room was right above the office- no complaints about noise, but the stairs have awkwardly tall steps and you had to go down a shady dark hallway to get to the room- people with mobility issues should probably ask for the ground floor. Overall, a great deal for $50 a night (I searched for 'Red Roof Inn coupon' and saved some dough)!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smajewski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I booked a last minute trip to Ann Arbor and didn't want to spend Ann Arbor prices, so here we go,,,,

At $50/night for a weekend rate, this was a good value for its purpose; a place to crash after a late hockey basketball game and postgame celebration. Check in/check out was easy as pie and the continental breakfast was stocked with basic fair of cereal, concentrate juice, some bananas, and the usual selection of bad carbs/sugar. We had a full breakfast elsewhere, but the hot coffee (not bad for hotel joe) and a bagel was good to start the day. Location is ideal as it is near 94, near Briarwood, and a quick drive to campus.

The room itself was very clean and the sink area had been recently updated. That's about the best you can ask for at a budget hotel. TV was a newer model Samsung 32" LCD, but the cable system was in analog so no HD. So much for the upgrade... The mattress was firm and good for one night's sleep, but I couldn't vouch for more than that. The other furniture in the room looked like it had been there since the 70s-80s.

If you can handle stairs (no elevator) and happen to be a light sleeper, I would recommend asking for a second floor room. The exterior doors/walls seem very poorly insulated for sound, so you can hear any conversation or starting car from the parking lot during the night. I found this out the hard way when a woman told her sob bar night story to her friend on the phone (and to the rest of the first level) at 4am. I heard every word before getting up and turning on the wall heater to drown her out. Surprising, the walls between rooms seem pretty well insulated as I did not hear much from the neighbors.

If you are looking for basic, no frills lodging in Ann Arbor, the Red Roof is a viable option. Ann Arbor has plenty of high prices options for those looking to splurge on elegance or a romantic weekend, but the Red Roof works for a night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Our stay at the Red Roof Inn fulfilled our expectations in every way. The room was clean. The location was great for our purposes (we went to a football game and since we walked, we didn't have to worry about parking). The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The young woman at the front desk was very friendly, I made my reservation on-line months ago. She immediately knew my reservation and got me in a room right away. She recommended a few delivery restauraunts for the hotel. Dinner was great. I had pizza, wings, fried chicken, even soda delivered. The room was recently remodeled. All plumbing was new. I will stay there again. The woman at the front desk deserves a promotion.

Room Tip: I stayed at a ground floor room. (I thought it would be easier for pizza delivery person-but I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
8.5 km away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#30 of 35 in Ann Arbor
478 reviews
8.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.0 km away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#25 of 35 in Ann Arbor
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: ₹ 3,883 - ₹ 5,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U Of Michigan South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing