We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Management” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Street Garden Inn

First Street Garden Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
First Street Garden Inn
Ranked #9 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I had a problem with my reservation and the management was very helpful and understanding in solving the problem.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank canceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

This lovely B&B is within walking distance from downtown Ann Arbor, so it is perfect for exploring the town. At the same time the owners' beautiful garden offers an opportunity to relax and rest. The breakfasts are to die for too! I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polishswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

The First Street Garden Inn was wonderful. We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Ann Arbor. Kathy was wonderful; she gave us ideas for places to eat/drink in town, and she made just delicious breakfasts. Man, those breakfasts were good. The house is beautiful and cheerful, with Art Deco flavor (on the inside), and lovely art and furniture peppered throughout. And the location is perfect: walking distance to town but situated on a quiet street with plenty of street parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

We came for a football game at Michigan. We found the inn to be a perfect location, half way between downtown and the stadium. (Although it was a slightly longer walk to the stadium).

The innkeepers were very helpful with recommendations and directions around town. You may want to make a dinner reservation for the weekends, things fill up fast.

It was my birthday and Cathy made special mimosas for breakfast. I can't say enough about the breakfast, I have stayed in at least a dozen of B&Bs and found the food here very memorable.

The common areas of the inn were very nice, there was always port and wine around for a late night drink. Also there's a TV room where you could get away if needed.

The rooms were great, the art deco room was on the small side, but we had no problem finding room for all our luggage. There was a small sitting room beside us that we used as well. The other couple we were with had the larger room which was also very nice.

One thing to note, there wasn't a sign on the street with the name of the inn, so make sure that you have the address when arriving.

If you are coming to visit Ann Arbor I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We were very pleased with the First Street Garden Inn. It is a beautiful turn-of-the century home convenient (on foot) to downtown Ann Arbor as well as the Univesity district. The house is filled with beautiful art and surrounded by gorgeous gardens. The innkeeper is warm, friendly, helpful, and not at all intrusive. Her breakfasts were delicious, if a bit heavy. The master suite was clean and comfortable--my only complaints were that it was smaller than it had appeared on the website, that it had an odd layout (the bathroom is open to the sitting room), and that there were too many nick-nacks around.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cushlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
1.1 km away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.1 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 km away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Street Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Street Garden Inn

Property: First Street Garden Inn
Address: 549 S. First Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
First Street Garden Hotel Ann Arbor
1st Street Garden Inn
First Street Garden Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing