We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and very nice host but didn't meet expecations”

Library Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Library Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds and very nice host but didn't meet expecations”
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This is in a great location and Joan is a very nice host. The room was comfortable and the common area was welcoming. I was however not expecting to share a bathroom down the hall.

I was also excited about the breakfast but it was a big disappointment. I have read so many nice reviews about the delicious breakfast however I was there on a morning where she didn't not cook at all. She served a small fruit salad and homemade muesli/granola. No hot food at all. I was told that Thursday was the only day of the week that she does not cook and it was my only morning there. I was disappointed because it was the reason I stay at a Bed and Breakfast, rather than a normal hotel, and the HOJO that I stayed at in East Lansing the day before served hot continental breakfast.

It is also good to know that she has cats in case you have an allergy like me.

I would have rather stayed at a hotel with more privacy at a less expensive rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Signladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
7
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Its like staying in a museum of books, with a wonderful intro to Univ of Michigan with so many details of the univ. Mrs Joan is a wonderful host, who loves to personally cook and serve a sumptuous breakfast everyday. You can forget time, just chatting with her. A wonderful stay in a boutique inn filled with books.. Thanks Mrs Joan.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramg_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Researchers in American History, may have to use the Clement Library at the University of Michigan for research, while others need to go to the University of Michigan for conferences. Ann Arbor is an expensive town, but if you need a nice place to stay, may I suggest the Library Bed and Breakfast? It is a short two or three block walk from the Clement, and costs only about 75 a night---which is about half of most of the other local hotels, without the driving and parking hassles. Off street parking is available. The Library is run by a very interesting woman, who has some connection to the U of Michigan's music or band department, and is full of books---including miniatures---University of Michigan memorabilia, and an extensive collection in the bathroom of rubber duckies. There is no television, so after a hard day of researching, its nice to relax in the comfortable salon and read some of her collection. (There is also no wireless internet, but that should be available at several nearby places) Cooking facilities are available, and it is a short walk to downtown and the campus, with its many cheap eating establishments. The beds were nice, and the breakfasts were very memorable---I'd say my first one would have cost 15 dollars in a hotel. This was my first experience in a long time with bed and breakfasts, but it was a great one! Several cats, but only at breakfast (I love cats, but not everyone does). Overall, a great experience at an inexpensive price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Researchguy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Wow wow wow. This is a book lover's paradise. When I stayed there, I was treated like a queen with great breakfasts and driven to where I needed to go on campus. This was my second time here. The last time I had strep throat and rather than take a cab to the train, she drove me. Needless to say, Joan goes all out for her guests. There's a mystery room, a poetry room and a miniature books room and in addition, you can hang out in a living room and adjoining kitchenette where I cooked a couple meals. Hope to go back some day soon.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnebogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

The Library is wonderful and Joan makes such an effort to make your stay enjoyable. Our son got sick and needed medical care. Joan drove us to the emergency room, helped with doctors, pharmacies, and was all around great. She is a wealth of information about the University and the area. The book collection is unbelievable in itself. Will return.

  • Liked — Location, Joan and breakfast
  • Disliked — No Internet access and limited parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohafromPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.9 km away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
704 reviews
1.1 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
5.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Bed and Breakfast

Property: Library Bed and Breakfast
Address: 808 Mary St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-3322
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,843
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Library Hotel Ann Arbor
Library b&b
Library Bed And Breakfast Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing