We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Experience at the Bell Tower” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury NY 11797
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Experience at the Bell Tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This past week I visited the University of Michigan with my son and chose to stay at the Bell Tower. The staff at the desk couldn't have been more helpful in pointing out and even looking up cultural events that I could enjoy while my son met up with a friend who already attended. The healthful and delicious continental breakfast was hosted by a delightful server. Even the cleaning staff were personable and accomodating. I just felt like I was truly someone's guest. Its location within the campus, quite near to the Admissions office, across from a concert hall, around the corner from two cinemas and near an eclectic array of restaurants made it completely unnecessary to have a car.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your kind description of our hotel and location. I love to hear when guests recognize what the hotel and Ann Arbor has to offer!

I hope your son decides that the University of Michigan is the best option for him. Ann Arbor is a great city and U of M is a great University!

Again, thank you for your kind words and best of luck!

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    234
    76
    32
    9
See reviews for
244
117
32
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The best thing about this over priced, slightly stuffy but overall nice hotel is the location in downtown Ann Arbor within walking distance to many bars, restaurants and activites. A big problem is NO room service after 10:30pm. Not something I would expect for an average room priced over $200.00 a night. Our room was clean, but could use some updates-none of which were a real issue. The adjoining restaurant (Mercy's with French/Asian cuisine) was good, but not spectacular as far as food and prices. I think a better bang for your buck could be made by any number of other restaurants within walking distance. A plus: Complimentary valet parking which was efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: We had a small balcony off our room which would have been nice to use if it hadn't been February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to deliver room service from Mercy's past 10:30PM. Hopefully you contacted the front desk so we were able to order from the numerous local restaurants that are able to deliver to your room.

Thank you again.

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Bell Tower Hotel. It's location right in the middle of the U of M campus was great. The room was very nice and clean and the staff was warm and helpful. The hotel itself has a very warm, welcoming feel about it - not your sterile lobby type - more like an old world hotel, yet very up to date (including free in-room wi-fi).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you appreciate our European style lobby and decor. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Thank you again and good travels!

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I recently took my high school senior to visit University of Michigan. I chose to stay at the Bell Tower since everything in the main campus is within walking distance and you can walk through Ann Arbor very easily to shop or find a nice restaurant for lunch or dinner. The accomodations are very nice w/ attractive decor and very comfortable beds. They had everything I needed to be comfortable and I appreciated the free breakfast, which had plenty of items to satisfy until lunch. It was also very quiet in our room at night. Additionally, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave me an excellent referral for transportation to and from the airport, which made the trip even easier. I will definitely stay at the Bell Tower again. kh

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for visiting the Bell Tower. We understand the importance of making your travel as easy as possible. Providing the best guest service in Ann Arbor is our mission and I feel each and every staff member tries their best.

Best of luck on your child's collegiate decision but I vote for U of M.

Thanks again,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Bell Tower is a gem. Whenever we are staying over in Ann Arbor our first choice is The Bell Tower. We highly recommend it. Truthfully, it is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for believing we are the "place to stay". Very gracious comments!

Thank you again,

DeWayne Grann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.7 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.3 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.4 km away
Weber's
Weber's
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Property: Bell Tower Hotel
Address: 300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#4 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#5 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,146 - ₹ 25,489
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor
Bell Tower Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing