We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
26
14
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
14
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large room river view small pool new york city local news water pressure in the shower cinnamon rolls in town comfortable beds maritime museum workout room front desk staff thunder bay first floor hie bedding lounge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Room was spacious and well-decorated. Location was great, downtown on the river. Hotel appeared to be fairly new and was clean. However, desk person was very disinterested and unfriendly, lack of water pressure in shower and slippery tub, bed not the most comfortable. Charged for king suite but not sure why-only one room, no couch...?

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jvangets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpena - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hello jvangets,

Thank you for posting honest feedback. We appreciate the chance to host your visit! I'm sorry to learn about your disappointments, especially with front desk and the water pressure. I am confident that our hotel will address the individual concerned, and will look into enhancements. We want nothing else than to meet your expectations.

I also checked the king suite being offered and it's one big room with a king bed and a sleeper sofa. It doesn't have a separate room or a living area. I am glad you found the suite roomy. We are hoping to get another chance to regain your confidence in our hotel chain.

Regards,

Anna R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Loved this hotel. The rooms are clean and new and the quiet setting was quite relaxing. There are plenty of places to eat in the area that can be walked to. The staff is professional and helpful. Not to mention that the price was right for the quality experience.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. It looks to be fairly new. The location is nice right along the river but there are not many places that you can walk to that are close. Rooms are nicely appointed. If you are looking to get any local news from your TV you are out of luck. The only local stations are out of New York City. It doesn't help when you are trying to find a local forecast. Also, breakfast was lacking. The hot food was never kept full and when there was some, it didn't feed many people. It would have been nice to have opened earlier than 6:30 since I like to start work around 6:00. Parking is also limited if you have a trailer.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ditto716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Clean hotel. Disappointed we spent over $200 a night and when we went to get breakfast in the morning with almost 30 minutes left it was completely empty. We chose to stay in this hotel despite being twice as expensive as every other hotel taking into consideration we wouldn’t need to purchase breakfast. That wasn’t the case, we had to go to a restaurant. Very disappointing to say the least!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The thought of 9 nights in a Holiday Inn Express did not fill me with excitement. However the rooms are huge, wifi is excellent, staff are extremely pleasant & helpful & it's very nice to be able to sit outside on the terrace overlooking the river.

Room Tip: top floor facing the river
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews