We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, forget about the rest”
Review of Hostal Magnolio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Magnolio
Ranked #9 of 82 Vina del Mar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2015

To begin with something positive: this hostal lies really close to the promenade which is a great place for an evening stroll. Nevertheless, the rest was a big dissapointment. There had been a problem with our booking (fault of the bookingsite) but instead of welcoming us and explaining it in a friendly way, we got the idea that we were just annoying the owner and stealing her time. The room was tiny (just enough space for a bed) and last but not least the breakfast was a bod joke! Without being asked whether you eat meat we got some toast with cheese and something that looked like ham. Per person you were allowed to drink one cup of tea or coffee and one morning we got some chewy cornflakes! Look for something else when you wat to enjoy beautiful Vina del Mar!!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2015

The hostal is situated in the city centre and close to the sea. Due to its location in a small street, there is not a lot of noice despite its central location. The room was very small, there was hardly any space for my backpack, but it did not bother me much, since I only stayed for one night. Everything was very clean and modern. I would have definitely enjoyed staying in that hostel a while longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ca_ta_li_na_234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My stay was relatively short in January 2014 but had a terrible experience. I stayed in a triple room with private bathroom. Expensive clothes were stolen out of my closed luggage -including underwear- on the second day. They claimed the cleaning staff had only entered my room, and therefore, blamed it on them and said the "hostel would not take responsibility for the theft". After several discussions with the hostel's personnel, they refunded the amount of one night's stay (which didn't cover the worth of the stolen pieces). The hostel's owner was very rude and even said it was my fault "I didn't notice my luggage was not as I had left it".
The hostel's prices are way too high for what it has to offer. Breakfast is poor, cleaning is not the best, the personnel is not welcoming and rooms are very noisy. Location is good, but not worth it. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pilar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The owners were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The prices were reasonable. The room and bathroom were clean and looked cared for. The location is amazing - right on the main street, near the beaches. My only complaint would be the lack of a common room. The hostel is a great place to spend the night, but there isn't a nice place to spend the morning planning your day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hostal Magnolio is really near the beaches of Viña del Mar and right next to San Martin avenue. So, if you are looking for a hostel with great location, this may be a good option.
Breakfast was ok, the room if ok, the bathroom is very small but ok and the attention was very kind.
On the downside:
- Even though there are pictures of common areas, there's no terrace or common areas at all (like a room with couches and small tables to rest and use internet or watch TV).
- The use of the kitchen, unlike any other hostel I've ever been been to before is a bit frowned upon, and seems to be mostrly for internal use.
- The price is too high for the services and the infrastructure, perhaps they charge for the location.
- There's a noisy parking lot right next to the rooms in the back.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the back for a quieter rest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matiasherranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
1.4 km away
La Casa del Almirante
La Casa del Almirante
#1 of 82 in Vina del Mar
152 reviews
0.6 km away
Jaguar Hostel + Living
Jaguar Hostel + Living
#1 of 141 in Vina del Mar
224 reviews
2.4 km away
Hostal Recreo
Hostal Recreo
#3 of 82 in Vina del Mar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#1 of 2 in Renaca
403 reviews
1.2 km away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.8 km away
Hotel Monaldi
Hotel Monaldi
#25 of 48 in Vina del Mar
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Magnolio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Magnolio

Address: Avda San Martin | entre 6 y 7 norte pje manuel Montt N 6, Vina del Mar 2570046, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Vina del Mar
Price Range: ₹ 5,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the best areas of the city,Hostal Magnolio is a cozy retreat and certainly offers guests a central location, steps from the beach, shopping, restaurant and entertainment facilities, a friendly atmosphere and quiet to assure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing