We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good 5* hotel with a few nasty things” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Ranked #30 of 543 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good 5* hotel with a few nasty things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It was my 2nd trip to this hotel (I stayd at this hotel a year ago), but this time the experience was less pleasant... Overall the hotel is very good: with good restaurants, big rooms and a nice spa. But few things turned me down this time: one sink in my room was clogged, TV was not working properly, the food selection at the pool bar was very poor (less choice Vs last year) and the noise level during the early morning is quite high (I was awaken once by the loud sound of running water).
It's good for business, but if you want to explore the city or you are on holiday there, you should choose a different location: it's a bit far away from the big malls (Festival city one is small Vs the others and not so nice), from the old town and from the beach. The sun is coming out of the shade near the pool area only around 10-10:30 am. Before that, you are sitting in the shadow. So my reco is choose this hotel in Dubai if you are planning a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear “ks_bazhenova”,


Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City. I was very happy to know that there were a few positive aspects to your stay such as the restaurants, room and spa.

I was however disappointed to learn about the inconvenience you faced with the sink in the bathroom and the TV. Hopefully this was brought to the notice of one of our colleagues and taken care off. Rest assured this will be communicated with the respective team and will be given careful attention to in the future. Nevertheless, I’m happy to inform you that your feedback regarding the food selection at the pool bar has been taken into account, and we are currently in the process of reviewing it. Hopefully on your next visit you should be able to treat yourself to a larger variety of foods.

I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future so that we can provide you with a more complete experience.


Best Regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    335
    72
    32
    14
See reviews for
269
375
117
640
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for seven nights in mid-April and couldn't have been happier with the experience. The hotel is clean and beautiful and I loved my room. The shower has a huge window which was a little odd at first but there's nothing like taking a shower in the morning looking at the beauty of Dubai (just make sure to close the blinds at night as you can see into the rooms from outside at night!). I ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and it was delicious with almost anything you can think of. I also had the dinner buffet one night and it was also incredibly good. The buffets are pricey but when your company is paying the bills you tend not to worry about it...:)

The hotel is right next door to the Festival City Mall which is a beautiful mall for shopping and eating. It's not as high-end as the Dubai Mall or Mall of the Emirates which is a good thing as I really felt like it was more my style. There's also a golf course five minutes away and they will be happy to take you there for free in a comfy Lexus!

I don't know what else to say, it was my first trip to Dubai and I thank the Intercontinental Dubai Festival City for making my experience just so wonderful. All of the associates were so friendly and helpful as well, I can't forget to mention that!

Room Tip: I had the room on the city side and it was a nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pantone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear “pantone77”,


It is very pleasing to learn that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to note your appreciation of our “clean and beautiful” hotel and enjoyed reading your description of the shower. I was also glad that you were satisfied with the “delicious” breakfast buffet at Anise restaurant and that you had a chance to visit our 18-hole championship Al Badia Golf Course. I am definitely going to share your compliments with our team and am quite sure this will be appreciated by them.

We’re extremely happy to have made your trip to Dubai a memorable one and hope to welcome you again in the near future.


Best Regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe
Level Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Attended the Dubai World Cup. Our hotel was the Intercontinenta Dubai Festival City. Nice and roomy rooms, big lobby, lovely lobby restaurant, and plenty of people to service your every needs. At one time I counted 18 people, either outside or inside, looking to help your find your way or anything else you needed. It is situated with three other hotels. It has a mall attached, with a Hard Rock Cafe right next door. If you are looking for that Ferrari you have always needed, just look no further than out the front door to your right. It is situated on a marina, with nice restaurants surrounding. The mall has plenty of nice shops and a moat around it. If you would like, boats are available for renting to go around the moat.

The rooms are real big. Wi-Fi is an extra charge. The view of the marina was great. You had trouble seeing the Burj Khalifa from the room. Most days the wind was 30-35mph. Plenty of dust and sand in the air to see long distances. I did not notice the dust or sand up close, but at a distance. If you are looking to explore, the only way to get around is taxi cabs. Nice and neat, and the drivers are all wearing uniforms. Not real expensive. I found the big problem being alone was getting around, no buses, no rail, nothing, except taxi cabs.

Yes, I did go to the buffet in the afternoon. Get ready, $96, but it was wonderful.


Explore Dubai, but get ready to spend the money. Ride the camels, fly the helicopter, swim with dolphins, eat at the hotel that looks like ships sail, go up the Tallest Tower in the world, go skiing at Emirated Mall, or ice skating at Dubai mall. Oh, yes don't miss the Aquarium at the Dubai Mall.

As they say, Done that, Got the T-shirt!

Room Tip: facing the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear “kyderby”,


I was delighted to read your review about your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City and would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the hotel and found our service to be “excellent”. I was happy to read that you were able to enjoy all the recreational activities that Dubai has to offer and even had the chance to explore the shopping mall next door. We hope that you enjoyed the Dubai World Cup. I am also glad that you were pleased with the quality of service provided by our team. They will be delighted to hear that your stay was made much more enjoyable as a result of their commitment to service.

Our guests’ complete satisfaction is our main goal at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, and it is rewarding to learn that is has been achieved on this occasion. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel to other travelers visiting Dubai and we do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you to our hotel.


Best Regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed in a standard room for two nights in April 2012. It's a nice hotel and the room is generally good with the exception of the bathroom. There is approximately an 8' x 8' bathtub and shower area. The bath is supposed to have an overhead shower head. It was missing. There was no soap dish anywhere for either the bathtub or the shower. The shower controls were on the other side of the room where the bathtub is located. The towel bars are too small to hold the hotels large plush towels, so there is no where in the bath-shower area to hang a towel. The entire floor is polished marble, including the shower area, so it is very slippery when wet. The lighting over the sink and counter is very poor. A woman would have a difficult time with the poor lighting putting on her makeup.

I was disappointed the room did not have a desk, only a round table with a chair.

On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was the most extensive and varied I have experienced at any hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4036balto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear 4036balto,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Dubai has the best hotels you can ever imagine and Intercon is one of the greatest hotels you wish you always stay in. The interior design of this hotel is very modern and sophisticated and somehow I am always lucky to have a sea view room whenever I come to Dubai for business trip. They also have great selection of restaurants which offer delicious cuisines! This is a luxurious hotel with great service, elegant rooms, and convenient location. InterContinental Dubai Festival City is highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossyMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGDFC_45777, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear “Shery R”,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

I greatly appreciate your kind words about our hotel, in particular your comments regarding the interior design of the hotel and the “great selection of restaurants”. I am very delighted to know that you had the opportunity of trying out the restaurants at the hotel and commend it. Your comments will surely be shared with the rest of the team and appreciated.

Thank you once again for recommending us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.


Best Regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Park Hyatt Dubai
#8 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
The H Dubai
#28 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Dubai
#32 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Taj Dubai
#14 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dubai Festival City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Property: InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Address: Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubai
#19 Business Hotel in Dubai
#22 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,469 - ₹ 32,891
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dubai Festival City 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a graceful sailboat, InterContinental Dubai Festival City stands tall amid the business and shopping districts. The hotel is home to 6 dynamic bars and restaurants, including the award-winning Reflets par Pierre Gagnaire, has wifi throughout rooms and public areas and its own 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Dubai Festival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dubai Festival City Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing