We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, shame about some of the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Ranked #127 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel, shame about some of the staff”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip- A very modern generic feel to this hotel, a typical 4 star hotel as far as amenities are concerned- the rooms are spacious as is the bathroom. Tea-coffee amenities provided. Overall, clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi provided in the lobby.

The service of the staff here varies on who you speak to- for me, the concierge, bell-boys and hotel drivers are lovely and helpful. The front desk staff however, are indifferent and impatient. We arrived past mid-night and when we arrived in our room, it smelt musty and of old-smoke and we asked for a non-smoking floor- when i spoke to reception they confirmed the room was indeed non-smoking and reception gave me a look as if i were mad to even suggest the room smelt of smoke. Until further prompting, they agreed to spray the room with air-freshener (which smelt terrible anyways) which covered up the smell temporarily- had to sleep with the windows open.

Other times speaking to the front desk, isn't a welcoming experience and you're treated as a bother rather than a customer. Not a hotel I'd come back to willingly, but shame because there are some staff members there that were nice that are let down by their colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    630
    146
    22
    20
See reviews for
248
458
130
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As a regular traveller to Dubai on business I have stayed in some hotels of variable quality. This was my first stay at the Four Points and it was a very positive experience. Typical Middle Eastern 'glitz' in the reception, comfortable rooms, good food and good service. Roof top was excellent (although very windy!). Friendly service in the bar, although in common with many ME hotels, a smoking environment. I will be returning next month and would recommend as a quality, relatively inexpensive hotel with easy access to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

BUDGET PRICED 4-STAR HOTEL

OVERVIEW:
Four Points by Sheraton Hotel lives up to the Sheraton Hotel standards. It is a 4-star hotel at half the price. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. While the hotel is typical of 4-star hotels in Dubai, the standout feature in particular is the budget price. The safety and amenities offered are well suited for first timers in Dubai. The staffs are friendly and courteous. Service standards vary, yet are generally sufficient. The rooftop swimming pool although somewhat small was great for relaxing and absorbing a little sun.

TRAVEL DATES:
October-2010

LOCATION:
Centrally located in Bur Dubai, approximately 15 minutes from Dubai Airport (DXB). Gold souks, Electronic shopping district, and other shopping opportunities are a short taxi ride. I found out that there’s another FPSH in Dubai, therefore, ensure that you tell your taxi driver that you want the hotel located in Bur Dubai.

POSITIVE NOTES:
Good location; Friendly staff; Clean Rooms; Good Customer Service.

NEGATIVE NOTES:
Surcharge applies for Wi-Fi access.

AMENITIES:
Continental breakfast, Wi-Fi Access (surcharge), Mini-Bar; Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, Clock/Radio, In-Room Safe, Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, On-Site Restaurant.

NIGHTLY RATE:
$85+ with corporate discount

DISCOUNT ACCEPTED:
Starwood Hotels Corporate Discount. (Must be booked online)

NOTES:
Please click the green “YES” button below if you find this review helpful. Thank you!

Room Tip: 1) Allow plenty of time when leaving for the airport during rush hour (0700-0900 & 1400-1800). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TravellingTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the Four Points for 4 nights from 22 February 2012.

The staff were all very pleasant and polite. The room was as you would expect. OK, very clean, unexciting.

The rooftop bar was great. Lovely views and even better in the evening.

HOWEVER................

One thing I do have to report for you to be wary of. When I went out of the hotel on one particular occasion, I was stopped by a "hotel manager suit" who said to take one of the private cabs outside. I said no, I wanted a metered cab. He said no problem because the private cabs were metered. When I got to where I wanted to go, the driver had not put the meter on and a 13 direm journey became a 20 direm journey. A litle scam going on there so WARNING.............only take the Dubai state metered cabs and ignore requests for you to take the private stuff. Work that one out for yourself!!!!!

Other than that, it was all pretty good.

Room Tip: Go as High as you can for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goan_and_Indian_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I agree with the good comments. The location is excellent to explore the Old Town and the Creek. Close to metro and supermarket if you need it. Taxis are v. reasonable in Dubai too and stress free.
They've got a v. punctual shuttle to the beach and Dubai Mall too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MireneQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Bur Dubai
4.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai
0.2 km away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#159 of 540 in Dubai
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
2.2 km away
Ramada Jumeirah
Ramada Jumeirah
#154 of 540 in Dubai
855 reviews
0.5 km away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Address: Mankhool Road, 4C Street | Bur Dubai, Dubai 116162, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in Dubai
#106 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#106 Business Hotel in Dubai
#117 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,341 - ₹ 52,154
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star property located in Bur Dubai which features 250 guest rooms and suites with 3 restaurants including a pub. It is only a few minutes walk from major shopping centers, the old souks, Dubai Museum and Dubai Metro. Provides free bus shuttle to beach & major shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Downtown Dubai Hotel Dubai
4 Points By Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Four Points Downtown Dubai
Four Points Dubai
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Four Points
Dubai Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing