We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and great location”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #58 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great stay and great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We booked for 5 nights and chose the hotel for its location. We arrived late in the evening and after approx. 20 mins in a taxi we arrived. We were checked in quickly and given a nice cold drink on arrival. We were shown to our room promptly and left to our own devices. The hotel generally is very modern with an Arabic twist. I really like the layout and décor of the lobby area.

The room was quite modern with enough space to two people, although the bed isn’t particular big for a double. We had a view of the swimming pool from the 3rd floor. They had left some pastries, chocolates and some flower soaps in our room which was nice. The mini bar was ok in price for a hotel, but beers were expensive, I think approx. £6/£7 for a small can of beer. The bathroom was nice, some may not like the exposed feeling of all the glass, but the toilet is behind a closed door. I quite like the open aspect of it and have seen this a few times in recent travels.

We ate at the hotel once for dinner, I opted for spaghetti bolognaise (half portion) and husband for a risotto (full portion), either I got too much or he didn’t get enough as both portions came out the same size. I would say he got less, as if he would have had a half portion of what he was served, it could only be classed as a started. The food was nice and we shared a dessert, but for 2 main courses, house wine and one dessert came in at around £65-£70 which is expensive for what we got. However, the service I thought was very good and the restaurant is very nice. Again beers/wine is expensive, but this is Dubai.

There are plenty of other places to eat; across the road are a few little restaurants by the water and also in the Souk Al Bahar. If you carry on the Dubai Mall has lots of choice. When walking to Mall the best way is to go via the Souk Al Bahar as it can be very hot in Dubai and going this way, keeps you mostly in air conditioned buildings. Takes about 10 mins maximum to walk to the Mall.

Food wise, there is a small supermarket on the ground floor in the Souk Al Bahar and a great Waitrose in the Dubai Mall if you want to stock up on drinks and snacks.

The pool area of the hotel isn’t particularly big, but during the day we never had a problem getting a sunbed when we wanted. Parts of the area do become shady, but there seemed always to be a sunny spot. The hotel provides towels too.

Staffs wise, any member of staff I spoke to, or saw were always very helpful and polite. One thing is for sure, you cannot fault the staff. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bionicgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    433
    76
    34
    18
See reviews for
258
690
201
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Wow!!! Qamardeen Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Dubai, if you want awesome accommodation, at a reasonable price, in the best location.
The staff were all very courteous and helpful and the rooms were immaculate.
We loved our time in Dubai (not long enough though) and we loved staying at the Qamardeen Hotel. We'll be staying there the next time we go to Dubai and we'll definitely be recommending the Hotel to all our friends, family and colleauges that intend to visit this truly amazing place.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, but see if you can get one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Interested62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Excellent Hotel, good value for money and perfect location. We stayed 4 nights at this hotel, The Staff was always helpful, Internet included, very good breakfast, walking distance to Burj Kalifa, restaurants and Dubai Mall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hotel more for businesse trips. Very good located for dubai mall. Nice poolarea & good breakfast. Concierge wasn't that helpfull on the first day. Second one much better.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our China tour, so were not looking to do anything except relax. We'd booked a Pool/Garden room and were allocated a Garden room, which was actually very nice, though we didn't ever sit outside as it was too hot! We'd asked for a non-smoking room, but were told there were non available, but there was no apparent smoky smell. However, there was an unpleasant odour in the corridor outside the room (drains?) which on the second day became apparent in our room. We asked for a room change and this was granted, to a Pool view room just across the corridor. We were offered help moving our things but as it was so close we didn't need the help (but it was nice to have been offered it). The room was a mirror image of our garden room and fine, but (like another reviewer) it is a bit of a goldfish bowl as people walking back into the hotel from the pool area pass within 10 ft of the patio door.

The breakfast was superb - so much choice and so much to eat. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, and although nice, it was nothing sparkling, and very expensive.

The pool is great - so clean, plenty of towels, shade and friendly pool staff. Beware of the beer, though - £7 per pint!!

The Dubai Mall can be reached by courtesy bus during the day, but in the evening (when the heat is not searing!) it is a very pleasant walk past the Burj Khalifa (tallest building in the world) and the fabulous fountain displays (on the hour, from 5pm, I think). It's good to go to catch one in daylight (we saw 7pm show) eat at one of the many eateries in the mall, then catch a show in the dark on the way back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole_NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#26 of 545 in Dubai
2,117 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#72 of 545 in Dubai
1,948 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#36 of 545 in Dubai
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Property: Vida Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,491 - ₹ 28,941
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing