We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A handy shortcut away from the Dubai Mall”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #60 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for three days at Qamardeen Hotel and were impressed with its seamless service. Because our flight landed close to midnight we have arranged for a transfer to the hotel in advance (by email). This went off without a hitch and after a smooth check in we were packed off to bed with a minimum of fuss.

Similarly, when we enquired about a desert safari the next day and found that the company we previously used was fully booked, they immediately suggested an alternative (at a significantly lower cost) and made all the arrangements. This turned out even better than our previous outing.

Obviously we were never going to drag pool towels with us halfway around the world. This was however not a problem, the lifeguard had a whole stack readily at hand. A taxi to the Dubai Mall? Not necessary - they give us directions and a short, leisurely stroll later we were there. There is a very handy shortcut through the grounds of The Palace Hotel and Souk al Bahar that limits walking out in the open to less than 200 meters.

Qamardeen Hotel is an excellent base to explore Dubai from. It is reasonably priced and little ones get to stay for free should they share the existing bedding. Above all it offers excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nambul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest 'Nambul',

We are very glad to read your review and to see that you are a rturning guest to the lovely Qamardeen.

I am very pleased that your stay was 'seamless' and that the team provided good links to make your stay in Dubai a little bit better.

As a Southern Sun Hotel we strive to be humble and efficient in our guest contact so that we can see you again.

I do hope that you will continue to stay with us whenever you are in town!

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,359 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel should be rated higher on trip advisor. GREAT hotel, excellent location next to Dubai Mall, good service, great breakfast, lovely rooms. The gym is also very very good. The whole place is great and we will definately be back to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker make sure you specify a non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Guest - 'Kiwi88_10',

Thank you very much for your superb review!

We do hope that we shall continue to improve to deliver better service each day.

Being a relatively small Hotel in Dubai, we strive to be very personalised in our approach with our guests and I am glad that you had a good stay.

Do come back again soon.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The return to the Qamardeen after almost 2 years was absolutely flawless. Despite the argument I had with the night shift at check-in whether I would settle for a room with two single beds instead of a queen size (sorry, but why should I? I try to book a decent size bed for a reason), the room was immaculate, clean, modern Arabic style and without any visible signs of ageing. As a casual smoker I tend to forget to bring cigarettes ever so often, so I was pleased with the facts that a) the A/C dealt with the smoke just fine, b) they still offer smoking rooms and c) they have to sorts of cigarettes in the minibar :-) (the minibar itself was stocked well, too, with various beverages at reasonable rates). Breakfast was good, too, a small but tasty selection at the buffet and perfect omelettes at the live cooking station. Wifi all around the house with good speed, so all in all everything a business traveller can ask for.
Much has been said to the good location, it certainly is impressive to drive along the boulevard with all the palm trees and LED lighting around Burj Khalifa.
Comparing this hotel to several of the 5* places or 4* places, I can only conclude that the hotel is underrated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear 'Quilmess76',

Thank you for your review of Qamardeen.

We are all flattered and humled by your title.

All the same, do accept my apologies for the misunderstanding at the reception desk upon check in but I am glad that the rest of the stay worked well and over shadowed the incident.

Thank you for returning to Qamardeen and I do hope that you will come back again sooner.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

3 weeks is a long time for me to stay in a hotel, but I really have felt at home here. The Arabian touches are just enough to give a flavour of where you are, not over the top. Everything is very clean, tidy, well maintained, and all of the staff are friendly. The public areas of the hotel and the rooms themselves (I've had two in different parts of the hotel) are well designed. Don't be alarmed at the glass walls to the bathrooms.. the toilet is separate behind a frosted glass door! Pool / patio area ajacent to the airy restaurant is not large, but tastefully arranged with vegetation. If a lovely hotel is not enough, the location could hardly be better, just 10 mins from the largest shopping mall, highest building, most impressive fountain/light/music display, many restaurants and local shopping "souk"s. The metro (very good) is 15mins walk or 10dm taxi from the hotel.

Room Tip: Slightly more road noise "overlooping the pool", but better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear 'Mark E',

It is a great pleasure to read your review as you stayed at the Hotel for three weeks.

It is great to note that you had a pleasant stay and everything worked well.

We do thank you for the time spent here and for letting other travellers know that Qamardeen works well for people staying in Dubai for longer durations of time.

Thank you once again.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife & I would like to thank all staff at the Qamardeen for their extremely friendly welcome, when we recently stayed for 6 nights in mid-April. We asked for a quiet room with a good aspect, and we got it in spades. On arriving at 8am (due to overnight flight) we expected to be asked to wait until our room was available, but to our surprise it already was, and we were able to move in immediately. The room was excellently furnished, comfortable, and quiet. We had a Garden Access room, which meant we had a french window opening onto a garden patio, with a table & chairs waiting for us. Seats & cushions were placed ready for us each morning, and taken in late each night.

We were a little apprehensive about the see-through bathroom we had read reviews on. This was unnecessary, as the toilet was in a separate (private) room, and the bathroom, although see-through, had roller blinds which could be dropped for privacy - hence no problem.

Particular thanks should go to the concierge, who gave us excellent advice when we wanted to book a desert safari, and on taking that advice we had a very enjoyable time. He also recommended the best day to go to Wild Wadi (sunday, as it's quietest), and gave us tips on travelling about.

Tips on things to do (if you are not already filled with ideas. (1) Visit the Burj Khalifa "At The Top", which takes you to the 124th floor for fantastic open air views across Dubai. Best to go just before dusk to get both day & night views. We could only get 8pm, but it was still worth it. Book it online before you go, otherwise you might be unlucky. (2) Use the metro to get around. It's overground not under, pristine in cleanliness, but otherwise works like London. Just remember Coach 1 is extra cost with leather seats & carpets, Coach 2 is women only, and 3, 4, & 5 for anyone. Get the wrong coach, and you'll fall foul of officialdom, so make the right choice. (3) Do a desert safari - it's a bit touristy, but great fun, and (4) try a water park Wild Wadi or Aquaventure, which are both outdoor with great rides & scenery.

Finally back to the Qamardeen. We would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone as a slightly lower cost alternative. Not having an on-site Spa wasn't important to us, but it kept the cost down. The only criticism from my wife was that the Gym (on the 6th Floor) was too male oriented (smallest weights were 10kg, and TV screens only showed sport). The hotel location in Downtown Dubai was brilliant, and was 10 mins easy walking from the Dubai Mall, Fountain, Burj Khalifa, and a myriad of restaurants. Worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Garden Access rooms are quiet and private. Pool Access rooms are goldfish bowls, as you have no priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hianshodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnAritho, General Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Guest - 'Hianshodan',

The quality of your review was excellent as it pointed out the complete Dubai stay for any traveller coming for the first time in a very detailed way.

We shall definately thank the Concierge and Reception Teams that you have mentioned.

We have also taken into account your comment on the lower weights in the gym as well as the Sports on the TVs in the gym and we shall work on that.

Thank you very much for this very informative and detailed write up.

Best Regards

John Aritho

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#29 of 556 in Dubai
2,251 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#66 of 556 in Dubai
2,247 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#39 of 556 in Dubai
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#94 of 556 in Dubai
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: ₹ 13,785 - ₹ 39,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing