We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much of a buzz” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Ranked #331 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not much of a buzz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

we purchased a deal for a night stay with breakfast and massage. the guy i dealt with for the reservations was very nice. when i rescheduled he made efforts to accomodate my requests. very pleasant to speak to.

the check in was fine, it wasn't fast though but it was reasonable. the guy distributing the welcome juice just gave juice for some visitors. unfortunately, he didn't bother to ask me - so i felt unwelcomed.
next the room we had was old - then the table was broken, so we called someone to fix it.
the bed wasn't good as well. it was a really old hotel and it was obvious. but then, it's still sleepable. the A/C was quite loud. since not much to do, we just watched the TV whole of the day.
the next morning we ate breakfast - which was really nice. varieties of food, and people were accomodating. in the massage center which is in the other building (hotel) - was quite unorganized. there was only 1 lady taking care of everything. but she was excellent! pool was good as we used the one for ladies only.
all in all an average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelle705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
31
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at Al Jawhara for 4 days after our pilgrimage in Isarel and Egypt. It was a welcome respite after a tiring but enjoyable journey. Rooms were quite small but it was clean and comfy. Buffet breakfast was very good and served wide variety. Staff were veery helpful. Overal stay in this hotel was pleasant. Would recommend to others!

Room Tip: Walking distance to Deira City Centre Mall where there's also Carrefour. There was also a conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you are in Dubai with your family or for business there is no better place to stay than Al-Jawahara. Its neat , clean and most importantly free of alcohol. There is a mosque right in front of the hotel and the deira city center is a 3 mins walking distance. There is free wifi and the staff is extremely courteous. I have been staying at this place for the past 7 years and plan to for the next 7 as well.

Room Tip: try the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have read the previous reviews and a deep sadness goes out to the person who was unable to have a bacon breakfast. Muslim hotel...bacon.... am I missing something here?
The Location is close to the airport, rooms cheap at 300 AED (Arab Emirate Dinah) per night. I have found the staff very helpful and willing to answer all questions if they can and perhaps a little shy if they don't know the answer to the question.

Some stranded travelers lamented that no shuttle bus from the airport was available...stranded you are not! I can see the tail fins of emirates planes from my window. Taxi from the airport costs 30 AED in colloquial terms a coffee and muffin. From the hotel to the airport is 10-15 AED. Minimum taxi fare in Dubai is 10 AED so if your trip costs 6 you pay 10. 10 Dinah is about $3.

Dinner buffet at Al Jawhara Gardens ("Al J") was good - tomato soup yummy. We also ate at the Meridian down the road (sp?) which had a glitzier glam selection of food and a very elegant foyer but I think the food at Al J was more tasty and half the price. Has a pool on the top floor and a female only pool and a gym. I think it has a sauna also. Internet works well, occasionally there is a holding pattern due to overcrowding and log on takes 30 minutes but this happened to me only 1 time in the middle of the day. Air conditioners are great and to quote from Pat Benetar - cold as Ice. Shower, Bath and separate bidet rather than a hose/squirter attached to the loo. Room sizes were good. Windows opened not siliconed shut for that additional Dubai luft. Plenty of cabs sailing past no- need to wait long. Avoid the unmarked cabs associated to the hotels, stylish they may be but twice or thrice the price. There are restaurants and some coffee shops nearby An Italian restaurant just down the road near the Mosque. City Centre is a large mall within walking distance, good for money exchange and shopping, has electrical, fashion etc. Great coffee shop in the middle with an amazing White Forest cake. Seems to be patronized more by local than touristy types.
Check out Dubai mall, taxi fare is approximately 35. A must do is the Dubai Marina at night time - have a meal, light up a tobacco pipe and relax for a few hours- taxi is 55 Dinah approx. If you aren’t used to smoking ask for the mild apple tobacco (I think its called) – it is very very mild wont make u cough and not at all like cigarettes.

Al J is unashamedly a Muslim establishment. I was told gently when I arrived that there was to be no alcohol, and that single males and females are not to share rooms.
If you are married - be able to prove you are married. Proof is simple, provide passports or documents with photo id and matching surnames. No matching surnames no bacon sandwich. If the weariness of marriage is scrawled over the both of you that might be proof enough...
Al J isn’t a glamorous and ritzy hotel and not a lot of wow factor... for a less expensive hotel however it is good. I have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. As to that slightly 'out there' post in which the staff were accused of being illiterate (see previous posts) it is true English is not their first language but they were able to make themselves understood and had a desire to be helpful, and their English was a lot better than my Moslem which would make the non Moslem speakers illiterate I imagine? The staff was actually very nice and quite engaging. The young men had a dazzling smile probably aimed more at my wife than myself.

Is this post too long, am sure I have breached all posting etiquette but am unable to sleep and so very tired. In conclusion it is a hotel that is a Muslim establishment, reasonably priced, down to earth accommodation, friendly, clean and economical. A welcome counter to the very materialistic nature of Dubai. I might in honesty say the décor in the room was a little long in the tooth but I paid for and bought a Volkswagen and to expect a Rolls Royce is silly. If you check in and don’t like it there are several hotels around the corner you can easily shift to, The Ibis and the Novotel are a 5-minute walk. The Ibis at about 380 AED doesn’t have a swimming pool or free Internet in the rooms, rooms are small and modern and nice foyer if foyers are your thing and internet at snails pace is free in the foyer. Try the AL J. for a more authentic atmosphere. If you don’t like it no problemo, scoot around the corner for a more western feel at the Ibis. Well it's time to go, my work is done here.

Room Tip: stay away from the room next to the microwave oven on floor 5. it is noisy and used from about 6.30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank patrick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iran
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I think you can find this hotel as one of the best four star hotel in Dubai.It is near Deira city center , you can go there on foot.
The breakfast and lunch acceptable and delicious. The staff are friendly and polite.
The best part of Hotel is its room, They are modern and spacious with good furniture , They offer you coffee and tea free of charge.
But you should consider this place as an Islamic place with its roles.
In a nutshell I recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 km away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
0.0 km away
Al Jawhara Hotel Apartment
Al Jawhara Hotel Apartment
#370 of 545 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.5 km away
Tulip Creek Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
#168 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 km away
Pearl City Suites
Pearl City Suites
#252 of 545 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 km away
City Seasons Hotel
City Seasons Hotel
#203 of 545 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel

Property: Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Address: 27th St #9 | Port Saeed, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,107 - ₹ 10,952
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing