We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not plan to return to this hotel”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #442 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not plan to return to this hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A couple of friends and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and have decided that we shall not be returning in the future. We usually travel to Dubai every month for 2 nights and I usually stay at the Marriott however this time we opted to stay at the Capitol because a friend of ours lives just a few blocks down the street. We booked 4 rooms and at check in everything went smoothly. The only thing we noticed is that the staff does not know what it means to smile and greet guests… anyways. The rooms were clean however two of our rooms didn't have warm water in the shower so we had to shower in the rooms with warm water. (One of my friends who’s stayed in this hotel before told me he had the same shower problem the last time so perhaps the hotel should look into their piping system since warm water is not exactly an "Extra service”).

One of the biggest issues we had was when we returned to the hotel in the night. One of the night staff decided it was necessary to follow us all the way to the lift and repeatedly ask "are you guest’s" which we all answered yes however he still followed us. He was directing his questions to the females in the group which made us realize he must have thought we were "working girls". Now while this issue might be a big problem in Dubai that does not mean the hotel gets to harass their female guests.

On the second night all the girls in the group held their room keys in their hands as soon as we left the taxi so that we were not harassed and followed all the way to the lift.
If the hotel insists on following guests around perhaps they should print a list with the names of in house guests and make sure that all guests who enter the hotel tell their name and room number (even though this would also be seen as delving into people’s personal lives…it seems better than having a man follow you and repeatedly ask the same question).
When I travel I feel that I am paying with my hard earned money and therefore should feel comfortable and safe which I did not therefore, we have decided that another hotel in Dubai deserves our business.

The hotel should look at the number of females booking the hotel because I am pretty sure that if their night staff treats all their female guests as they did us I am pretty sure they would notice female bookings are not that high. (I am not sure if our group was a special case...but we were dressed appropriately for the region and behaved in an orderly fashion since I have lived in the middle east for 27 years).

While the Marriott might be a little more out of the way from the places we visit in Dubai and costly we decided that we will spend the extra taxi and hotel money in order to feel comfortable rather than being made to feel cheap. (I never had this issue in the Marriott..too bad that the Capitol will be losing out on our monthly visits of at least 4-6 rooms for at least 2 nights).

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    37
    17
    24
See reviews for
10
11
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in Capital hotel in Jan 2012 as group of 10 people and although the staffs were polite but they always made many silly mistakes , for example I asked 3 times to send someone fix our bath hot water and during 4 days no body come , hot water in bathroom is not really warm and you can not take shower .

Also I asked for booking airport transfer at 10 AM for 10 PM and in 10 PM shift was changed and nobody knows about our booking .Although a person who was in charge of service called the taxi and try his best but we lost some time for waiting ,

Disco sound even in second flour makes you to do not sleep till 3 Am , so be ready for that :)

Breakfast was good and room was clean .

It is far from metro station and you need to take a taxi for about 10-13 AED .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahsa_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel with a small child. The fact that I've experienced - it's terrible. In 8 days I moved from room to room 3 times. On the 1 floor impossible to sleep because there are two discos. After complaints of loud music, I was transferred to the 4th floor. It looked like a joke from the administrator, because the music from the restaurant was so loud that it seemed played only for me, even the TV was not heard. Finnaly I moved on 3 floor/
All the rooms smeels of cigarettes, even in so-called non-smoking. Breakfast is monotonous, but the dinners are very good.
Not all rooms hot water. The hotel is not for people who want to sleep at night.
This hotel is a maximum of 3 stars. Clean room is bad - were everywhere strange hair.
No one would not wish this experience.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep asked room on 2 or 3 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

piraeus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent hotel, great rooms, but the area around the hotel has no any interesting . However the hotel with the cool night clubs and restaurants provides an opportunity to have a really good nights, with the SAVAGE GARDEN Latin American Tavern and the CZAR CLUB Russian Night Club
The BAZERKAN Lebanese Restaurant and the IMPERIAL GARDEN Chinese Restaurant provide very good dinners
The mini Bar is full and the bathroom very clean
The internet connection is not so fast and very expensive
General is very good hotel for a busines trip with logical prices

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panagiotis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

do not stay here if you want to sleep at night. The hotel features 2 night clubs on the ground floor and an extremely loud restaurant/belly dancing on the top floor.
The hotel itself is not a 4 star neither for the structure nor for the service. The staff is polite but that's about it, no extra effort is made and silly mistakes are repeted daily. The hotel advertises internet availability in the rooms, but only few have it and its not cheap either! the pool is tiny and the location is poor. it might seem like a good deal but its definitly notunless you are a single man looking for fun a night and sleep during the day!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yobled30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
1.8 km away
Mercure Gold Hotel
Mercure Gold Hotel
#194 of 545 in Dubai
1,022 reviews
2.1 km away
Fortune Karama Hotel
Fortune Karama Hotel
#402 of 545 in Dubai
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Ramada Jumeirah
Ramada Jumeirah
#148 of 545 in Dubai
911 reviews
0.9 km away
Majestic Hotel Tower
Majestic Hotel Tower
#163 of 545 in Dubai
1,247 reviews
2.5 km away
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
#383 of 545 in Dubai
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Capitol Hotel Al Mina Rd | PO Box 33228, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#159 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#280 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,231 - ₹ 9,950
Hotel Class:4 star — Capitol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing