We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over in Dubai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #202 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stop over in Dubai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Booked an Emirates flight and a 7 night B&B at the Sheratan Deira a couple of years back and went on to Singapore. This is more a business 4 star hotel but a well serviced hotel with pleasant staff and excellent service. The rooms are well equipped and the bathroom and shower was also excellent. The swimming pool was quite small at roof level but we had it to ourselves every afternoon. Adequate sun loungers and there was a life guard and good service by the pool boys.

All in all a well run hotel, the only criticism is that it was some distance from downtown. I would certainly return here and thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank United327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear United327,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments which you expressed in your review of our hotel whilst a guest here in April 2012.

Again, thank you for your assurance of returning back as well recommending us as a preferred hotel of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    263
    171
    69
    55
See reviews for
116
175
97
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a very well run hotel. The staff care about your comfort and the cleanliness of the place speaks reams for the staff commitment. The management do respond to requests/complaints very promptly indeed. The pool area is an aviation enthusiasts dream, with aircraft departing or landing over the hotel. The rooms are so well soundproofed that you will not be woken by aircraft noise..............in case you thought otherwise!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanFIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear IanFIH,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments which you expressed in your review of our hotel.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Dubai in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us for a reservation, we would be happy to assist you and welcome you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Fw, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a great option if you do not want to spend too much money. The hotel is very clean, nice rooms. Helpful staff. The hotel is located a little bit far from downtown but the subway is just like 10 minutes walking. A taxi to the Dubai mall could cost about 25 $.
There is a nice swimming pool located on the roof where people can have a great time and for those like myself who love planes can see the planes taking off .
I would come back to this hotel the next time I visit Dubai.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear WilliamDuran00,

Thank you for expressing your honest opinion of the hotel, it’s products and services on Trip Advisor.

Again, thank you for your assurance of returning back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
365 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I booked this hotel at an amazing price. It was recommended by a friend and I decided to try it out. The club lounge had delicious food. It was a smaller selection of food choices than most club lounges but the service was prompt and friendly. My platinum upgrades were fantastic. I was upgraded to a nice suite and had a lot complimentary additions. I concur with the hall smell but it doesn't carry over to the rooms.

Room Tip: This is a great hotel if you have SPG benefits. The price and upgrades are fantastic. I have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear whslc,

Greetings from Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel and your valuable feedback regards the services received.

We are happy to note of your acknowledgement on the complimentary upgrade received at check-in being a Platinum guest as well as the other Platinum SPG benefits.

As always it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights and, despite my being a platinum member and my reservation being booked by a SPG ambassador, I had to use two suite nights to ensure that I was even an upgrade - not a good start! My suite was expansive but it did not help that almost all the lights were controlled individually rather than through a bedside master and I have a personal hobby horse with telephones that are not programmed as per the button identifications!

There was no automatic turndown service as I discovered on the first night and, while the staff were very friendly, they were not pro-active. For my second day, housekeeping failed to provide fresh laundry bag and laundry form - presumably, they felt that I would not use a same-day service on my last day but I do not think they should make that call.

On the roof, where the pool is located, the staff seemed more interested in attending to the plane-spotters than to those of us who wanted drinks/food and the pool bar was frequently unattended.

Service in the club lounge was excellent but the choice of food during the evening service left a lot to be desired in terms of healthy options.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear SPGGlobal,

Greetings from Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel and your valuable feedback.

We would like to take opportunity to clarify that the reservation was made directly by yourself through our Central Reservations online and the option for upgrade was selected by yourself and not the hotel. Please be advised that at Sheraton Deira Hotel all our Platinum guests are extended with a suite on arrival without any additional use of points.

We have duly noted your comments regarding the lights, the laundry bag and form. I have addressed this concern with the said departments so that in future there is no such re-occurrences.

We will look into the manpower attendance at the pool bar as well as some healthy food options at the Club Lounge . Thank you for bring this matter to our attention.

We understand that your Starwood Ambassador has contacted you regards the Starpoints and that you are happy to accept the 7000 starpoints offered as a gesture of goodwill by the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 km away
Grand Excelsior Hotel
Grand Excelsior Hotel
#236 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
22.0 km away
Grand Excelsior Hotel
Grand Excelsior Hotel
#240 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Deira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#166 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.2 km away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#45 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 km away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#201 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#177 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,048 - ₹ 17,798
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing