We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Ranked #176 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for nothing”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was a frequent user of the hotle on bussiness trip. I never saw a nice hotel with inconsistent reception and sales managers to get more money from you based on booking issue. Very bad...... good for nothing !!

If you want to dissorganize your day/stay in dubai stay at citmax burdubai !! I am changing a hotel after the receptionist keep me infron of his desk for 1 hr when I reached the hotel at around 2.30am after midnight. Then they denied my booking and told me will help me with 60+ % price increase from the rate. Now I am checking out to another hotel thanks to dubai there are so many nice hotels. !!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear DAG_12,

Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Could you please contact me directly at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com as I require more detailed explanation to your complaint which will allow me the opportunity to address this issues point by point and come back to you with an explanation.

Thank you once more for your note and I look forward to your ersponse.

Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    776
    421
    95
    80
See reviews for
367
512
210
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have stayed at the Citymax, Bur Dubai on several occasions whilst travelling on business. The hotel is clean, the rooms adequate and the food in the various restaurants and bars is generally very good. I am very happy with the standard of the hotel for the relatively low price of the rooms.

I would however caution those that might have to change their check out day during their stay! During my last two stays, my party has had to amend the length of our stay (some going early, others staying longer) and it seems that the reception is unable to deal with this complex issue! On both occasions, they claimed that they didn't know that rooms had been vacated early and those that stay longer have their rooms keys invalidated, phone calls from reception and knocks on the door, all because the staff thought we were checking out!

On both occasions, I have spoken to reception myself, as well as stood at the desk whilst my company spoke to staff on the phone. Unfortunately, that doesn't ensure that our bookings are actually changed and the information passed on to those that need it!

A very good, clean and comfortable hotel for the price. Just don't try and change your booking mid stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Keelix,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

I am glad to note, that you have prefered to stay in our hotel once again and that you continuously enjoy our products and services. However, I would like to clarify your feedback regarding the extension of your stay. Upon check in, it is our standard to inform the guest about the check out time which is at 12 noon. Should a guest wish to extend their stay, they should inform the reception 24 hours in advance so that we can update our system accordingly and avoid such incidences. If we did not receive any extension request a day prior, its our normal procedure to call the guest one hour before the check out time on the departure date.

For any further clarifications, please feel free to contact me directly at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com

Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infosys , Mangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

In the Hotel city Max, some of the rooms offer a splendid view of Burj Khalifa. The rooms which are in the smoking zone are especially nice on that front. Rooms are also very clean and new. The hotel is new and it shows in rooms too.

Fortunately we found the rooms there to have a small refrigerator with some stocked items and a small safe (locker) too where we could keep our valuable belongings, not that we had any. All the rooms were fitted with a high speed wired internet connection (not wifi) which works well. And almost all rooms are basically the same in size so there is nothing much to choose from.

Most Indian travelers book it because of its cheaper 3 star rates.In India , Antilog Vacations is the official partner of most Dubai hotels & offers cheaper and better services. We went thru them as they gave us an assured service & low cost package.

There was a long queue of tourists at the check in counter and hence it took a long time to process. May be in peak season they should consider better handling of this process.
The location of the hotel is neither the best nor bad either. It is slightly further from the metro station (10 min by a cab, and cabs are really cheap in that area) and bus stop.

There are some good quality restaurants in the vicinity. International popular and reasonable names like McDonalds and Subway are also there. And one drawback of this hotel is that they don’t allow any outside food inside the hotel. They claim it’s for our own good but I don’t see how? It is practically forcing us to eat their high priced items. And speaking of food, well their breakfast is not to be cherished at all.

My suggestion is to try the nearby restaurants since breakfast has few limited items often not refilled.

There is a very nice pub and restaurants are suited to Indian tastes. A nice dance floor on the bottom too for those who want to sweat off the evenings. Another special attraction is the swimming pool on the rooftop and looks really nice. Gym also exists with all the required equipments.

Well I guess it is average for business tourists but a good option fr honeymooners

Room Tip: Rooms near smoking zones and proximity to reception area
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shrinivas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Shrinivas,

Thank you for wirting a review regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

I am delighted to read your good comments about the hotel, however I would like to clarify the issue with regards to the policy of not allowing food from outside. This is due to the fact that food from outside may be exposed to several factors such as temperature, time. moisture etc., that contributes to food spoilage or food poisoning. With this in mind, we do not take risks and we only want the safety of our guests. We do provide a good variety of cuisines such as International Buffet, Indian Cuisine, Asian Fusion and Pub and Grill House at a very competitive price which we can assure you - all served fresh!

Should you have further clarifications on this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com

Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel is new so in very good condition, rooms have a small fridge and a safe which you can use for free..
The only issue was with the food, it wasn't very high quality or great variety (every day the same) but adequate (enough) and on some days at breakfast, we had to really search to find an available and clean table.
This was just a minor issue really.
Also, there is a metro near by but not that near (15 minutes fast walk away) but taxis are really cheap in Dubai so again, not a big problem.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit slow so try to get a room on the first few floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pan145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Panicos S,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

Our staff would be delighted to hear about your good comment on them and will surely pass on the message.

We have noted down your feedback on our breakfast and will continously work on further improvements to meet our guest needs and expectations.


Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 1 day & found it to be really good..amenities were excellent, the hotel itself was clean..rooms were small but nicely made..it had coffee maker with essentials & bathrooms were ok ; the swimming pool was good too....but the access to other major points in the city were a lot to be desired for..public transport was hard to find for major bus stops like gold souk in deira..& although it mentions 1km from dubai museum,,,it is a very tiresome walk if u do indeed..& if u r in a hurry to reach the hotel..like i was ..u should be lucky to find a cab..if u cannot walk the distance..there is a night club at the foot of the hotel..so u should be willing to sleep in loud music if u've come tired from the city after a long hard day..
all in all the hotel is value for money .....see the subject line...

Room Tip: select a room at the top floors to avoid lousy noisy nights of music streaming up from the dance flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickydouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear nickydouala,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with Citymax Bur Dubai and for your support (much appreciated).

Currently, we provide a Desi Night in our Huddle Pub and Grill on a Friday evening with this night club theme. We are looking at ways of containing the noise factor on this particular evening.

I would also like to add that during the course of the week, guests will not be disturbed by this as the bar generally has a live band playing great music.

Transportation is not a hassle in our location. There is a bus station just right infront of the hotel, the Dubai Metro is just 10 minutes walk from here and public taxis come and go every five minutes.

Thank you once more for your support.

Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
17.5 km away
Citymax Al Barsha
Citymax Al Barsha
#174 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
5.0 km away
Arabian Park Hotel
Arabian Park Hotel
#183 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.3 km away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Sea View
Hotel Sea View
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.3 km away
Winchester Hotel Apartments
3.3 km away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#137 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai

Property: Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Address: Al Kuwait Street, 27 | Mankhool Rd, Dubai Al Mankhool, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,530 - ₹ 6,488
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 691
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaller travel budgets shouldn't mean less comfort. At Citymax Hotels, part of the hospitality division of the Landmark Group, we offer 4 star quality comforts, at 3 star rates; in Dubai and Sharjah. Our well-appointed rooms, extensive in-house dining & entertainment facilities and strategic location of the hotel make it convenient for both the business traveler and holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Bur Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing