We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stay!”
Review of Media Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Media Rotana
Ranked #143 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stay!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

It is an average hotel, that serves the purpose of spending a night in a cheap and comfortable hotel.
The room and amenities are very standard.
Good for short trips, especially when you know that you are not going to be spending most of the day at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you once again for your support and the time taken to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    695
    199
    64
    66
See reviews for
317
368
131
817
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We are writting this in regards to the experience we had two weeks ago with the management staff at the Channels buffet restaurant.
We went for dinner there on a Friday night after reading the Dubai Time Out magazine an interesting offer. However, when receiving the bill we were surprised to see that the price was much more important than the one supposed. Following this we informed the assistant manager (Mr. Kapila), that there might have been a mistake regarding the price. To which we were coldly answered that these were the right prices and that he believed the waiter told us price upon arrival which was not true.
When telling us so we were amazed about how disrespectful and extremely unprofessional his ton was, especially when we were accused of lying because we did not have the magazine as a “proof” of our good faith with us. In addition, upon our complaint he said, I state: “ I don’t care anyways I am getting paid for what I do”. We are having difficulties understanding how a 5 star hotel can employ such undertrained and unqualified staff to be in direct contact with its guests, especially in regards to the image and reputation this kind of attitude can have on your establishment. We then had to require several times this Mr. Kapila to bring one of the magazines from the reception in order to show him the prices. When we finally got the magazine Mr. Kapila insisted that this was not applying that night and we had to require for his manager (Peter) to come. We then argued that we were not going to pay a price that was not the one we saw in the magazine as this was the reason we chose this particular restaurant. It is the responsibility of the hotel/restaurant to put the right prices up in magazines and not wrongfully attract guest with a lower price. We can understand that mistakes happen but the way we were treated that night was unacceptable and ruined not only our dinner but also our evening considering the time the resolution of the issue took.

We can now add to that that the e-mail we sent regarding this incident was never answered.

In the wait of your answer

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyd v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Media Rotana, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

First, I would like to express my sincere apology for the inconvenience that you and your guest experienced during your dinner at Channels Restaurant. The points raised have been addressed with the concerned departments to investigate and take the appropriate action to avoid other guests being similarly disappointed.

We are aware that your experience may be affected by the handling of your concerns and do hope that you will not solely judge us on the basis of this particular experience. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again.

In closing, may I thank you once again for your support and the time taken write.

Regards,

Rabih Melhem
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed for one night. Check in and check out were a bit slow, but not unbearable. Rooms were a good size, clean, and comfortable (rain shower, normal shower, and a massive tub that my wife appreciated). My only gripe was that the reservation agent (I booked by phone directly with the hotel) had promised me free Internet after I requested it, but it was not included when I arrived.

Overall, a decent experience. They were providing 'free drink' vouchers on arrival (there's a promotion on), and that was well appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to get away from the street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sputnik62ms
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Media Rotana is a decent hotel. It's not in the 'downtown' area of the city, but it's well placed for easy access to most places you'd want to go.

Very nice buffet lunch - good spread, and a mix of local and western food. The local food is great. There's also a decent Italian restaurant serving huge pizzas.

Only complaints about the public areas of the hotel are that the bar area is NOT a non-smoking area. In fact, smoking seems to be compulsory! It's a big and busy bar, but the smoking made it hard to stay there long.

The hotel has two 'sides' to it - one more like hotel rooms, the other side like 'serviced apartments' (in other words, they have a sink and a microwave in them). Personally, I'd have much rather been in a hotel room. For one thing, having all this extra space made the distance to the bathroom bigger.

Dubai is not my favorite destination, I have to say, but this hotel was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sputnik62ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

While it is classed as a 5 star hotel this would be on the lower end of the scale as there are some truly great ones available. We had no problems with our stay and were very well looked after, once we got over the hurdle of checking in. We did not use the official website and got a great rate at last minute which was a surprise. I contacted the hotel to let them know that there were some requirements that we needed so it was a little frustrating to be told at 14:30 that housekeeping just needed to check the room was ready. They said that they were 97% full which may have contributed - in any case we were upgraded so that was very nice - thank you.

The suite was not excessively large as is sometimes the case in the UAE and had all the amenities that you would expect. It was clean and well proportioned with good blackout curtains and the bathroom was spacious with a rain shower stall and bath. Bed was comfortable and AC was easily adjusted.

The swimming pool was in a sun trap so getting a tan was easy although it could get a little windy. The health club was well appointed and close to the pool area. There were obviously the separate changing areas with saunas, steam rooms and jacuzzis in each. My wife went for a massage which she said was wonderful.

First night we went to Pregos for dinner and the food was excellent. Truly a great Italian restaurant. The menu was varied and comprehensive.

We also used Nelsons bar one evening and as Tuesdays was Ladies Night there were free drinks available. This is typical pub grub fare for the most part however the steaks that we had were delicious.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Dubai
0.8 km away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#117 of 546 in Dubai
577 reviews
5.2 km away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Auris Plaza Hotel
Auris Plaza Hotel
#147 of 546 in Dubai
991 reviews
15.9 km away
Rose Rayhaan by Rotana - Dubai
18.1 km away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#164 of 546 in Dubai
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Rotana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Rotana

Property: Media Rotana
Address: Media Rotana Hessa St | Barsha Heights, Dubai 503030, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#72 Business Hotel in Dubai
#83 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#95 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#110 Family Hotel in Dubai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,703 - ₹ 13,981
Hotel Class:5 star — Media Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 536
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Media Rotana to find yourself greeted with a feeling of contemporary luxury. Imagine dramatic architecture and design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and peerless facilities. We take pride in offering you the best of everything; stylish restaurants, modern rooms and friendly service. Whether your stay in Dubai is for business or pleasure, it should be a worry-free experience that delights you. So choose Media Rotana and we assure you the best stay away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Media Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Rotana, Barsha - Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing