We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone from spectacular to "meh"”
Review of Pai Thai

Pai Thai
Ranked #121 of 10,167 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Arrive by abra and take your seat overlooking Madinat’s serene waterways – the perfect accompaniment to PaiThai’s gourmet cuisine. The lavishly decorated terrace and traditional culinary sensations culminate in a quintessential Thai experience, where it’s all too easy let your mind wander to the River of Kings. Pai Thai won Best South East Asian Restaurant for the fourth consecutive year.
Reviewed 16 December 2017

This is our 4th year of an annual big "splurge" at Pai Thai. Bear with the background information for a bit.

In 2013, we went on a Thursday night just before leaving town for the holiday. We were greeted personally with our name, slowly and quietly led to our table, greeted by several waiter and waitresses who seemed genuinely happy to see us.

4 years ago, from the moment we sat down until we took the abra back to civilization, we felt pampered and personally welcomed. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The food was suggested to us after asking questions and helping us carefully consider the choices. From appetizer to dessert, every dish was slowly and proudly presented, describing each dish and how it was prepared. When it looked like we needed something, our napkin fell on the ground, or even just a bit more light to view our menus, it seems they anticipated our needs before we asked them.

Fast forward to last night (15 December 2017). We arrived on our abra as usual and were greeted perfunctorily but politely. The hostess seemed to scurry ahead of us and only slowed down when we asked if we could have the table next to the water. Without reply, the hostess turned and went toward the water. The hostess quickly said the name of our waiter while looking away at other tables (we didn't catch the name), and was gone as quickly as she got there. The menus we were given by our waiter were tattered and worn. On this lovely calm evening, the light was wonderfully dim, and we were straining to see the menu. We had to flag someone down to bring us a little extra light.

Orders were quickly asked for - again politely but quickly. Gone was the personalized service, the sense that we were truly welcome, and that we had all night to leisurely enjoy our meal. Unfortunately, the service we received could have been given at Applebee's or Chili's - not that there's anything wrong with those places.

The food this year was good. But was it good enough for 1800 dirhams for 3 people (appetizer sampler, 2 salads, 3 entrees, 1 bottle of budget wine, 3 desserts, and 2 cocktails)? I just don't see it. We paid this amount (maybe even more) 4 years ago without batting an eye and pledged our loyalty to come back annually for this "splurge" that we really can't afford, but do it anyway.

Next year, we'll be trying a fancy holiday brunch at a hotel somewhere. I wish we could say we'll be back - but it's just not worth it any more.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangu1982, General Manager at Pai Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Ben B,

Many thanks for taking the time to share Pai Thai dining experience on Trip Advisor. I am personally disappointed to learn that your most recent visit to Pai Thai was not pleasant from all the aspects.

As a General Manager of Pai Thai, I was very much concerned to read your feedback and learn that you will not come to Pai Thai.

Please allow me to assure you that your feedback about service, food and whole experience has been taken on board and immediate action will take place to remedy the shortfalls you experienced so that same would not happen in future.

Despite disappointing experience in your most recent visit, I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to restore the confident you used to have about Pai Thai.

Please contact me directly when you make up your mind to visit Pai Thai so that I could personally look after you.

Once again many thanks and hoping to see you in future.

Regards,
Chheyang Lama
chheyang.lama@jumeirah.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 2,352 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

it was a lovely evening, celebrated my mother's bday dinner with Pai Thai and it was the best decision we made. We had requested for outdoor siting as the weather is good, it was pack, so we were asked to be seated inside in the lounge area till we get a table. The staff is friendly and smiling throughout. there is a traditional Thai dancer for entertainment.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank unnatishivraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Tastefully and nice flavors and taste. Delicately served by friendly and attentativ staff.

The atmosphere is nice and so is the surrounding area in madinat.

This is must try. The curry is really good.

Thank 413Sverre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangu1982, General Manager at Pai Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear 413Sverre,

We appreciate taking the time to share truly inspirational feedback about your most recent dining experience at Pai Thai. We are glad to hear that Pai Thai is one of the top Thai Restaurant in the middle east and your kind words and compliments are much appreciated.

Once again many thanks and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Chheyang Lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Visited last night for dinner, second time we have been whilst on holiday in Dubai. Once again very impressed with the whole experience and cannot rate the place highly enough. Will definitely return!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank SAS122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangu1982, General Manager at Pai Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear SAS122,
It was our pleasure to have you with us two times during your holiday and glad to hear that on both occasions you had impressive dining experience with us. We appreciate recommending Pai Thai to other travelers.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to see you in your next visit.

Regards,
Chheyang Lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Don t get me wrong. The location is amazing and it's worth on its own a lot but the food was good but not exceptional and so the service... good but that's it

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank prestijacopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sangu1982, General Manager at Pai Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear prestijacopo,

Many thanks for sharing Pai Thai experience. We are glad to hear that you found location amazing and foods and service good too.

Once again many thanks and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Chheyang Lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pai Thai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Pai Thai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;