We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certified joint for drinks and bites”
Review of Miss Lily's

Miss Lily's
Ranked #2,011 of 10,057 Restaurants in Dubai
Description: Miss Lily’s opened their first international outpost inside Dubai’s Sheraton Grand Hotel on Sheikh Zayed Road in 2016, bringing their highly celebrated Caribbean cuisine and sunny vibes to the Middle East for the first time.
Restaurant details
Description: Miss Lily’s opened their first international outpost inside Dubai’s Sheraton Grand Hotel on Sheikh Zayed Road in 2016, bringing their highly celebrated Caribbean cuisine and sunny vibes to the Middle East for the first time.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would still give this place 5/5 even after visiting after few months back. The bartenders are friendly and amazing. Staff are smiling and engaging, beat joint in town for drinks. Valet parking is available.

Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Guest Relations Manager at Miss Lily's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Norman,

We appreciate you still rocking with us. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon for some drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fancified Jamaican food, incredibly loud music, and cigarette smoke to boot (yes, there is still a smoking section in this restaurant). The staff was beautiful; they must do a casting call to find waiters because nearly every one of them was a model. The drinks are strong and the festival taste good but if you've ever eaten in Jamaica you'd be ashamed to pay the prices they charge for what they service. Not a bad night out if you're looking for a club vibe.

Thank CulturePundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Guest Relations Manager at Miss Lily's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

CulturePundit,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Miss Lily's. We're happy that you enjoyed the food, the staff, and the vibe. As is the case with most places in Dubai, smoking and non smoking sections still exist, so we do our best to provide a section for each to enjoy their time with us. We do hope you'll visit us again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived and the door staff said we had to have a reservation, there was no information about this on the website or instagram. We waited for a while and the door staff let other people not of colour in !!! The girl asked if two of her friends can come in and he let them !!! We addressed this and he stated that she comes all the time so he is doing her a favour as she is from Abu Dhabi ! We came from LONDON !! He just shrugged and continued to let people in and turnt every black person away !!! Even though they have a Jamaican flag at the entrance !!! Other reviews say the exact same thing ! Please don't come here if you are black !!!! Waste of time & Taxi fare !

Absolutely appalled by the modern day racism.

Thank Sashana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Guest Relations Manager at Miss Lily's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sashana,

First we want to thank you for taking time to share your feedback and are sorry you were unable to experience Miss Lily’s here in Dubai. Let us set the record straight that none of it had to with the color of your skin. This is a baseless claim since we do not practice “modern day racism” which you have claimed to hate or any other forms of racism.

Our door policy is to take care of reservations, regular customers and walk-ins in that order. At no point do we use race or color of a person(s) skin to determine entrance. We are confident that if you had made a reservation prior to coming you would of seen how diverse our customer base is.

Being a Caribbean restaurant we celebrate not only the Caribbean culture but all cultures, and especially those ones who have helped shaped the Caribbean culture which include the cultures of the sub-continent of India and continent of Africa. If you were to come in you would also see the diversity in our staff starting from our owners who are Indian and Palestinian followed by our General Manager who is African American and has dealt with racism in his country growing up as a child and has no tolerance for this type of behavior. You would also see it through the rest of the Miss Lily’s team who are from Africa themselves as well several members of our team who come from numerous countries throughout Western and Eastern Europe as well as Asia.

It’s unfortunate we have been accused of this by you and others but nothing could be further from the truth. We would suggest for your next visit (if you give us a second chance) that you make a reservation and you will see you would be welcomed with gracious smiles and once you are inside the venue you will notice that your claims of not letting people of color inside are very far from the truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The title of my review may sound quite mixed because that's what the experience is like.

I've dined at Miss Lily's thrice before writing this review and it's a jumble of those experiences.

What holds strong throughout is the deliciousness of some of the starters. The fish tacos are MUST-HAVES, as are the jerk corn, the chillis, the lamb. Order these and then order more and more rounds, which we did the third time I visited having learnt from previous ordering. You're not missing much by ignoring the mains. Some of them are adequate but are blown away by how excellent the starters are.

The waiting staff are by and large, rather gorgeous, which is not a bad thing, dancing & singing along to the excellent music. We were a large group the first time and our female server was okay but to be fair, we were a large group. The second time I went, we were three couples, and even though the restaurant was full on a weekend night, our female server was a darling. Beautiful, friendly, helpful and very quick. The third time, we were a small group and the place wasn't packed but our server was extremely slow, didn't follow the order my friend gave properly, attempted to argue about it and whilst polite enough, was so slow that we had to constantly search for him to request more food, etc. A little put off by the service, some members of our group decided to forgo dessert altogether and instead have some in the hotel lobby (where we had the most extraordinary customer service from a lovely chap called Aditiya from Indonesia but that's another story). Hence, the mixed rating on the service.

Don't go to Miss Lily's if you want to have a conversation and expect white-glove service. The music is too loud. Go to Miss Lily's if you want a fun night out, excellent starters and dancing to some really good music.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Discerning-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at Miss Lily's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Discerning-S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at our venue. We're happy to hear that enjoy our starters, including the must-have fish tacos and our style of music. We're sorry to hear some of our main dishes didn't meet your expectations and that you felt our service was inconsistent throughout your visits. We appreciate the feedback and will use them as tools as strive to become better every day and provide a great product to our guests. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Good food, we are carribean, so not excellent but for the region definitely good.... party like vibe, it gets loud after 10pm and is kind of a small space so crowded pretty easily. We ate here twice, very tasty, great service. If staying at the Sheraton grand hotel you can get food to go. Dress code is nice for ladies, men cannot wear shorts or ball caps.

Thank Jbeauvil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRMSarah, Guest Relations Manager at Miss Lily's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jbeauvil78,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Miss Lily's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Lily's also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Miss Lily's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing