We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Ranked #49 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We booked a bit late our stay in Luang Prabang so chose this guesthouse out of need but were so pleasantly surprised! It is located in a little lane between the river and the main market road which makes it convenient and yet secluded. We were surprised by the 'solid' feeling of the place: spacious with gorgeous teak floors. Our bedroom at the front of the house had a wonderful balcony.
The bed was very comfy and we had a fridge to keep drinks cold.
The only problem we had was the bathroom - when we shower the water run through a sort of canal between the bath and the wall and poured all over the floor and the shower curtain which was far too long was a bit mouldy. So although the bathroom looked very nice the showering experience was not so good.
They had wi-fi and a computer in reception available to guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

I am absolutely in love with this place. Hoxieng Guesthouse I is fantastic-has all the amenities one could want. Free-wi-fi, nice, cozy rooms, central to everything in town but more importantly the family that runs this place are absolutely lovely. They treated me like a princess and I extended my stay for much longer... now I consider it my second home. I upgraded to Hoxieng II guesthouse because it is brand new, both guesthouses have cable television; (not that I ever watched,) however, I had free wifi in all my rooms, there is a fridge, free coffee and hot pot in each room, flat screen t.v's, hot water with great water pressure some of the rooms have big bathtubs and the beds are very comfortable. In addition, I am so central to Joma bakery, the night markets, Utopia, The beautiful Mekong river, great restaurants. The Hoxieng family that run the place make it so homey...Mee Mee, Cat, "Bruce Lee" aka Tome, Janette and Grandma. They are so endearing. This place gets booked fast so its smart to make an early reservation. I have such an affinity for this place that I would never consider staying anywhere else in Luang Prabang!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Beautifully finished throughout, the rooms are the nicest & most luxurious we seen in Laos, we had the best sleep in the very comfy bed and all amenities are provided; ac, tv, fridge, hot water filter, comp coffee. We even had a bath! The private balcony was a relaxing place to while away an evening reading and watching locals & backpackers go about their business below. Staff were so so, as is common throughout much of Laos, they were friendly enough but seemed to spent more time snoozing in Reception than anything else really! Overall a great find and would highlly recommend! (Just don't mistake it for it's older relative across the lane!)

Room Tip: Front facing room on the 1st floor - private balcony & nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were unexpectedlyfierced to spend the night due to a double booking elsewhere necessitated by others' medical emergency. But rather than stay just one night, we decidedly to stay two nights for the following reasons:

1. Very good value for high season ($35 per night).
2. Very comfortable room with personal balcony.
3. Excellent bathroom that looked liked it belong to a two-star hotel rather than a guest house.
4. Surprisingly excellent Wifi connectivity.
5. Flat screen TV with the best channel selection we've seen in SE Asia.
6. Excellent location close to all major sights and less than a minute's walk from Jomo Bakery in one direction and the Mekong River in the opposite direction.

Here are the negatives:
1. Often no one is at the front desk so one naturally wonders about security.
2. No restaurant and breakfast.
3. It was a bit noisy during the daytime due to cross alley construction plus other noise from a bustling urban community.

Considerations:
1. There are now two guesthouses of the same name on the same alley. We stayed in the one on the southside, closer to the middle of the block.
2. Only a few rooms have a balcony.

Overall, though not the cheapest, Hoxieng is probably one of the best, hidden values in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We accidently stumbled onto this little gem. We had nothing organised when we arrived in Luang Prabang. The taxi driver dropped us near the post office and pointed down the laneway next to JoMa's cafe indicating that there plenty of guest houses in the area. The guest house cost about $25US a double. The room was air conditioned, well furnished and with a very comfortable. bed. The owners were hospitable, helpful and friendly. The guesthouse was only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and from the Mekong River. We were given the room directly opposite the reception. Nice room but a little noisy. I think it would be better to ask for a rear room or one on the top floor. Still, all in all, a very pleasant 4 day stay and good value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 km away
Mali House
Mali House
#34 of 271 in Luang Prabang
16 reviews
0.3 km away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 271 in Luang Prabang
523 reviews
0.3 km away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#56 of 271 in Luang Prabang
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#53 of 271 in Luang Prabang
69 reviews
0.5 km away
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
Lakangthong 2 Friendly House
#42 of 271 in Luang Prabang
45 reviews
0.2 km away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#36 of 271 in Luang Prabang
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoxieng Guesthouse 1? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxieng Guesthouse 1

Address: 40 Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: ₹ 1,457 - ₹ 2,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxieng Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing