We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of tranquility”
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Satri House
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid February 2012, a special trip as part of my wife's 50th birthday vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house and rooms - we had a junior suite - are very tastefully decorated with antique pieces of furniture throughout. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in!

The restaurant was excellent - both for breakfast and for dinner on our first and last nights. The staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. we didn't have time to try the Spa so I can't really comment on the treatments but it looked a very relaxing place

Whilst in Luang Prabang I was really quite ill with a bacterial stomach infection (very unlike me indeed). I had a fever and was really not at all well. The staff looked after me really well, cooking special meals that were more easily digested etc. They also arranged a doctor (who frankly did a better examination of me than any UK GP I've ever been treated by). All of this meant that I missed out on 24hrs of our time in Luang Prabang which was quite a chunk of our 3 day trip. We will have to go back and will definitely look to stay at Satri House....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In_Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We do remenber you well and your group of friends.

It was a real pleasure to be part of your 50th Birthday!

All the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    110
    27
    19
    6
See reviews for
94
282
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We could not have enjoyed our time in Luang Prabang more thanks to Joffrey and his special team of genuinely kind staff. For someone with sophisticated taste, yet enjoys simplicity and natural beauty, this is the place! We loved our room overlooking the lilly pond, breakfast, use of the hotel's complimentary bicycles, and most especially, just getting to know the staff! This hotel stands out as we travel 6-weeks through Southeast Asia. Despite struggling to decide between several attractive hotels in this small city, we're very glad we landed at Satri House! Very highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clsilver24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We have on our side - really enjoyed you staying with us.

Thanks for your constructives comments and all the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Satri House was the perfect blend of style, class and service. The gardens are exquisit, with well groomed natural and potted plants, flowers, stretches of grass and ponds with fish and turtles. The rooms are classy with the warmth of wood floors and 4-post beds, large bathroom and lots of natural light from ample windows. The lap pool and regular swim pool are well kept, and a special treat as swimming pools are rare in Luang Prabang hotels. The greeting team were immediately helpful suggesting places to visit or eat in town; while The Satri House menu also offers a rich array of choices for reasonable prices. Ms Mem, a native of Luang Prabang is one of the hosts providing zest, delight and insight along with great guidance. General Manager Joffrey Gris has a wonderful presence, greets all his guests, and gives one the sense of being at home at this wonderful 'retreat' like complex, just near enough and far enough from the center of town. Bikes or a tuk-tuk are freely provided. In one word: elegance.

Room Tip: Second floor room overlooking lappool and garden was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mettadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I have to say that we are indeed very proud of our garden. Such a great environment to relax.

All the best!

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This stunning boutique hotel is located about 10 mins walk from the main street of Luang Prabang. Rooms are very nicely appointed with beautiful pieces of furniture. 2 Great pools set in a lovely green garden. The hotel is made up of 6 houses all quite unique, another is under construction. Breakfast is great and the main restaurant is excellent-food and atmosphere.
The BEST thing is the staff- from Joffrey and Audrey to Mrs Mem, and the sensational Lao staff- they are so kind and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 511sallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks Sallie.
Will pass on to Audrey and Mme M your great comments.

It was a real pleasure to have had you staying with us.

Best regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

This magnificent haven leaves you speechless. Surroundings and rooms are exquisite and for Laos even the Service is good. Beatiful, beautiful but maybe just a but pricey...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thanks again for staying with us all the you from Finland.

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
2.1 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.8 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.4 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Property: Satri House
Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,240 - ₹ 16,354
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing