We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, budget type hotel. Pleasant stay though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour. We had a pleasant stay but it certainly wasn't the best hotel we've stayed in. My overall rating would be below average but the next rating down is poor and I felt that certainly wasn't the case here.
The room we first checked into was large, on the first floor with a lovely view at the front but at the end of the building. Everything looked fine until we saw the bathroom. It had a louvered type window with a fly screen over it. The screen had holes in it and was cellotaped to the wall. There were also numerous mosquitoes flying around. We worried that bathing at night with the light on would attract more mosquitoes through the holes in the fly screen so asked to be moved. We accepted the only other room available which wasn't as nice as the first one offered but it didn't have a window in the bathroom.
Our new room was ok. Not the best decor but the bed was clean, comfy and we slept well. We bought a large can of insect repellent at the supermarket and sprayed the room before we left at night to kill the mosquitoes that kept appearing and it didn't become a problem. The hotel did offer to do it but we decided to do it ourselves. The bathroom had certainly seen better days. To be honest it looked grotty but it was clean, the shower worked and we had hot water. It served the purpose.
Breakfast was just ok too. Disappointed that there was no cereal or freshly cooked eggs. We managed, didn't go hungry and the restaurant was pleasant.
The hotel looked lovely from outside. Good location. The staff too were lovely and once we were settled in we had a pleasant stay.
I'm trying to give an honest review without being too harsh because it wouldn't be justified. The hotel had a lovely feel to it but such a shame that the building was very run down in places.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRobinsonPrestonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2016

Lovely room looking over the swimming pool. Bit like a maisonette, with a downstairs meeting / day room, downstairs bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi bath. Upstairs large bedroom with a balcony, dressing area and a large bathroom across the landing. Definately an upgrade! Best to have the aircon on in the bedroom and the door closed at night otherwise the heat rises and the cold air goes out the door and down the stairs.
Dining room was rather small for breakfast, tables not cleared / set after previous users and food rather limited both in choice and quantity. This didn't improve if you got there early. Perhaps we sometimes expect too much in a poor country.

Room Tip: C1 to C4 are the bees knees
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Despite what I'd read I really liked this hotel. I had a good size room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and gardens. Resteraunt was fine, only dissapointment no cheese (grommet!), but good choice. Hotel location fine, easy five minute walk to centre of town and the markets, or ten minutes to the Mekong river. staff fine, always smilling, I had some laundry done, came back ironed and properly folded same day.

Room Tip: If you get the choice, get a spa bath!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woottey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We visited Luang Prabang with a tour group ...... We had a huge, well appointed room with balcony, spa bath, huge bed, ..... Absolutely loved our room, though air conditioner couldn't be adjusted to "low" fan.
One couple in our group had a room facing the street and complained about noise ..... but our room (M2) was exceptionally good and quiet.
Loved to pool area, staff very helpful .... Breakfast adequate, but sometimes need to wait for food to be replenished

Room Tip: M1-4 best rooms .... Upstairs to the side of pool area
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul88882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I was a bit reluctant about staying in this hotel after reading all the reviews however I can honestly say, I have nothing negative to say about this property. I stayed in an executive suite, room C2 and it was great. The downstairs had a lounge and spa bath and upstairs had a massive bathroom and bedroom and balcony. The location was great, I felt safe walking to/from the hotel late at night and really early in the morning (5am) There is a choice of hot and cold breakfast everyday. The hotel manager Hoa is extremely friendly and helpful as are her staff. Great value in a good location!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank krystraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 km away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 68 in Luang Prabang
366 reviews
1.3 km away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#38 of 68 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.0 km away
Muang Thong Hotel
Muang Thong Hotel
#44 of 68 in Luang Prabang
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#35 of 68 in Luang Prabang
93 reviews
1.6 km away
Vansana Luang Prabang Hotel
Vansana Luang Prabang Hotel
#54 of 68 in Luang Prabang
44 reviews
9.4 km away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel

Address: Boun Khong Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: ₹ 3,341 - ₹ 12,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing