We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by the room, shame about breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Lovely room looking over the swimming pool. Bit like a maisonette, with a downstairs meeting / day room, downstairs bathroom with a huge Jacuzzi bath. Upstairs large bedroom with a balcony, dressing area and a large bathroom across the landing. Definately an upgrade! Best to have the aircon on in the bedroom and the door closed at night otherwise the heat rises and the cold air goes out the door and down the stairs.
Dining room was rather small for breakfast, tables not cleared / set after previous users and food rather limited both in choice and quantity. This didn't improve if you got there early. Perhaps we sometimes expect too much in a poor country.

Room Tip: C1 to C4 are the bees knees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2016

Despite what I'd read I really liked this hotel. I had a good size room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and gardens. Resteraunt was fine, only dissapointment no cheese (grommet!), but good choice. Hotel location fine, easy five minute walk to centre of town and the markets, or ten minutes to the Mekong river. staff fine, always smilling, I had some laundry done, came back ironed and properly folded same day.

Room Tip: If you get the choice, get a spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woottey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We visited Luang Prabang with a tour group ...... We had a huge, well appointed room with balcony, spa bath, huge bed, ..... Absolutely loved our room, though air conditioner couldn't be adjusted to "low" fan.
One couple in our group had a room facing the street and complained about noise ..... but our room (M2) was exceptionally good and quiet.
Loved to pool area, staff very helpful .... Breakfast adequate, but sometimes need to wait for food to be replenished

Room Tip: M1-4 best rooms .... Upstairs to the side of pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul88882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I was a bit reluctant about staying in this hotel after reading all the reviews however I can honestly say, I have nothing negative to say about this property. I stayed in an executive suite, room C2 and it was great. The downstairs had a lounge and spa bath and upstairs had a massive bathroom and bedroom and balcony. The location was great, I felt safe walking to/from the hotel late at night and really early in the morning (5am) There is a choice of hot and cold breakfast everyday. The hotel manager Hoa is extremely friendly and helpful as are her staff. Great value in a good location!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
Thank krystraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Seriously the worst place I have ever stayed! Plane got delayed so they put us up in this hotel for the night. I didn't mind the musky smell in the room, the sewerage smell in the bathroom or the cold food served at dinner. What I did mind was the paper thin walls and the CONSTANT noise all night. I did not get a minutes sleep. Along with the rock hard pillows, which we couldn't sleep on, so it was no pillows.
From the guest doors slamming, to a number of guests having a pool party at midnight, yelling and screaming. I called the reception and they said they have received a number of complaints, but the guests won't stop making noise.
That was their way of dealing with it.
When the constant noise stopped at about 2am, they continued to randomly yell and slam doors.
The the fridge in our room would also make a humming noise every half hour that would wake everyone up.
The curtains did not block out any light, so the room had a light shining through it all night.
Then at 5am the roosters started.
Then at 6am it was a cat.
I mean, I could honestly hear everything (even the neighbours flushing their toilet).
I feel sorry for anyone who has to stay here more than a night, you will get no sleep the whole time and it will ruin your holiday.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1 km away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#27 of 71 in Luang Prabang
95 reviews
1 km away
Muang Thong Hotel
Muang Thong Hotel
#46 of 71 in Luang Prabang
99 reviews
0 km away
Xishuangbanna Hotel
Xishuangbanna Hotel
#62 of 71 in Luang Prabang
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hot...
#43 of 71 in Luang Prabang
87 reviews
0.8 km away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#59 of 71 in Luang Prabang
27 reviews
3.3 km away
Chanthavinh Resort and Spa
Chanthavinh Resort and Spa
#60 of 71 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel

Address: Boun Khong Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: ₹ 3,692 - ₹ 12,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing