We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely and impressive”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I would always remember 3 Nagas hotel, it is lovely hotel as well as its staff. Food at its restaurants and services are excellent. Staff are very nice and helpful and very informative. This hotel locates at the downtown surrounded by a lot of shopping area and night market, overnight here you do not need any transportation for the former capital city tour but walking only. Every morning when get up at 5:45 am we do enjoy watching its elegant culture which is not the same anywhere in the world call "morning alm's giving". It is daily routine of the Buddhism which will pass this hotel every morning with more than two hundred monks in a line from many temples locate next to 3 Nagas hotel. We will love to come back and be with you one day soon.

Niclas.

Room Tip: Room # 15 is the most lovely room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niclas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We were glad to know how much you enjoyed the cultural aspects of your visit to Luang Prabang and that we at 3 Nagas had a prominent part to play in the overall success of your visit.

The staff join me in thanking you for taking the time to express your satisfaction in our efforts and hope that it won't be too long before we will have the pleasure of your company with us again.
In the meantime, and with rewed thanks, I remain,

Witha ll good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    164
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
88
267
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

there is nothing to fault with this place. The staff was so friendly and eager to please and accomodating too. the location is ideal with just 5 mins walk to the town centre & the night markets. That said, the place is so small you can walk or cycle everywhere

the hotel also provides hotel guests with bicycles for free which you can use to visit the nearby shops or just templing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inezsfchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make positive comments on our 3 Nagas Hotel: I was especially pleased to read your thoughts on our staff and felt very proud when I saw that you couldn't fault the place. This is indeed an honour when you consider how old this little Hotel is and so again, thank you.

It's not too far to come from Singapore and so we all hope that should time present itself, you will come back and see us again. Until that time, I remain,

With all good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position but then the whole town centre is so small that nearly everything is in an excellent position. The rooms are very expensive and have paper thin walls so I was woken by the snoring of the man below. Problem of staying in Old Laos building. I don't think the price is justified and there are plenty of other excellent and much cheaper hotels. I moved after the first night as the air conditioning did not work and was leaking.

Room Tip: One with air conditioning that works and without thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and to tell me of your disappointment associated with staying in our Hotel. You are correct, there are some challenges associated with staying in old Laos buildings and while there isn't much I can do regarding the disturbance created by a snoring neighbour, I very much regret our inability to ensure that your airconditioning was fully operational prior to your check-in.

I have shared your observations with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer and as a result of your review, we have added a "full on" check of the efficiency of our In Room Airconditioning units, before a room is declared ready for occupation.

Should your travels bring you back to Luang Prabang, I would very much like the opportunity to meet with you and to show you that our airconditioning systems do work and that our rooms can protect guests from excessive noise. Thank you again for advising us of our shortcomings and for helping is to address our shotcomings thus enabling us to ensure proper value for money for our future guests.

Until the next time, I remain,

With all good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Visited Luang Prabang in early April 2012. We chose the 3 Nagas partly because it had a nice website, and also its location in the middle of the old town. Most of the old town attractions (Wat Xiengthong, Royal Palace Museum, Phousi Hill, etc.) are within a 15 min walk. There are free bicycles for guests to use all day which are really great for sightseeing, it comes with a bike lock too. We asked for the airport pickup in the vintage 1956 Mercedes, cost USD 25 one way with no air-con but its worth the experience. Not sure if any other hotel offers this. Staff were really helpful & polite. Food is pretty good too.
Highly recommend anyone visiting Luang Prabang to experience the alms-giving to the monks in the morning. Hundreds of monks pass by in a line around 6:15-6:30 am. The hotel can arrange for a kratib (basket) of khaoniao (sticky rice) & a cushion for you, for USD 5.

The hotel is actually in 2 beautiful hundred-year old buildings across the street from each other. We stayed at the Khamboua House, which is quieter and has a small private garden. The other building, Lamache House, has the main lobby and is busier. After cycling around, we thought that our hotel looked the most inviting with its woody traditional Lao architecture & shady trees.

The only drawbacks are that the rooms were abit too dark, and the walls are very thin (I think just wood with plaster). There is no TV in the room but free wifi available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Khamboua House side are quieter with a private garden & small library. The Lamache...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make a detailed review following your recent visit to Luang Prabang and stay at our 3 Nagas Hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and that we in some small way contributed to that enjoyment.

I take your comments aboyut the rooms being a little dark: This is mainly due to the extensive use of wood which eminates the way the Hotel was first built and also due to the fact that we can't change much (create space to encourage extra natural light) due to the regulations of UNESCO.

Televisions, or rather the lack of them, has often been a source of lively discussions: in the days when the 3 Nagas was built, there were of course no Televisions and today, cable doesn't run through the city main street and nor do we want (nor allowed) to have a satelite dish. Televisions are very much a part of life today's and we have had guests who have elected not to stay with us because of the television. In the end, we elected to stay true to the past and mde the decision NOT to include televisions.

You are correct in as much as the walls are made of plaster and wood and there again, built in the exact way they were built over 100 hundred years ago: our committment to UNESCO has made it impossible for us to change this, even if we wanted to, but we have received very few negative comments on this.

Should your travels bring you back to Luang Prabang, do please drop me a line as we would very much like to have you come and perhaps try another of our rooms. In the meantime, thjank you for your review and I remain,

With all good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A lovely little place in the heart of Luang Prabang.
Rooms: A little small and dark, but I loved the old world feel of this.
Restaurant: The local food is pretty good though prices are high. I can recommend the wraps that they make with lettuce and friend rice. Gorgeous big mango trees!
Other facilities: Would have been nice to have a swimming pool but I understand this is not permitted in the old part of town
I enjoyed the alms giving in the morning, something to experience

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countryreggea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin O, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and we were delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience of being our guest.

Just as a point of information, and I am sorry that you were not advised of this, our 3 Nagas Hotel is affilaited with the Hotel de la Paix, also located in Luang Prabang and we have an arrangement that all 3 Nagas guests can in fact make sue of all the facilities in the Hotel, which include both a Spa and an Outdoor Swimming Pool.

We do hope that your travels will bring you back to Luang Prabang, and more especially our 3 nagas Hotel and should that be the case, we will be delighted to extend the facilities of our Hotel de la Paix to you.

In the meantime, thank you again for your kind commenst and until the next time, I remain,

With all good wishes,

Kevin M. O'Hagan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.7 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.3 km away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.8 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Sakkaline Road | Vatnong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,653 - ₹ 17,764
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel is a small charming boutique hotel comprising three restored historic UNESCO World Heritage buildings more than a century old. The hotel is ideally located in the towns Old Quarter, just a short walking distance from the major tourist attractions, on the path of the morning alms-giving procession. High ceilings, exotic dark wooden floors, four-poster beds, silk fabrics and traditional weavings ooze elegance, style and character. A beautiful courtyard garden beside the Nam Khan River plus an acclaimed fine dining restaurant, serving exquisite Laotion food, make this hotel the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serene Lao lifestyle. The hotel's intimate collection of 15 rooms and suites each blend space, luxury and exquisite charm, exuding a warm and inviting ambiance amid the tranquil surroundings. Eight rooms are located in The Khamboua House, a jewel of traditional Lao architecture. Built in 1903, it opens onto a beautiful garden edging the Nam Khan River, from where you can glimpse the serene Lao lifestyle. The other seven rooms are located in The Lamache House, built originally in 1898 to host the Royal Court. The house was restored using traditional techniques and materials, indulging guests in a truly authentic stay in this charming historical town. The hotel guests are invited to use these facilities at our 5-star sister resort, Sofitel Luang Prabang, located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Nagas Hotel Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing