We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thongbay Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
US$ 55
US$ 52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$ 127
US$ 102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 30
US$ 28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
US$ 160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 115
US$ 56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 114
US$ 93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
4
4
25
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
4
25
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a nice enough hotel, but as others have already noted it's looking quite tired these days. At $65 a night for a standard room for one person, it's probably the most expensive place I've stayed in Luang Prabang and overall poor value for money. My room was clean but the mattress a little uncomfortable (could feel the springs), the view was directly over the backyard with clothes drying line, the wifi didn't work in the rooms (just in the lobby), and the breakfast was designed for the Asian rather than a Western traveller (fried rice, pink hotdogs, cold fried eggs, white bread, tasteless fruit, thick Lao coffee - nothing was particularly appetizing or fresh even). It was ok, but you can find much nicer guesthouses in Luang Prabang for $30-50 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. As others have said Phousi is in a good location and is close to the joma bakery which has aircon, & close to the night markets .
Staff were indifferent & either wouldn't or couldn't speak English . As a married couple( from Sydney ) we were expecting a queen bed but ended up with a twin. The bath was a nice feature until we found out the plug was broken and could only be removed by using a large oversized suction device,( plumber's plunger ) & quickly pulling the plug out. This worked until the maid removed the device and we had trouble making the staff understand we needed it back.This took some convincing as one of the hotel staff started bailing out the bath out and the other had a knife ready to lift out the plug, but this method would not have worked. Air con was quiet and breakfast O.K . but staff were generally indifferent and unsmiling..TV was a large flat screen with cable channels & room had mini fridge and beds were comfortable enough.. Probably a good hotel back in "the day ". 20 years ago..

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and look at ta few.Test that all plumbing works.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arafurapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The location of this hotel is very central which was it's main advantage. The rooms are very old and tired but were as clean as they could be. Our shower was terrible, the showerhead was cracked and actually painful - you couldn't shower without constantly getting an eyeful of water!
The staff were sullen and generally unhelpful, particularly at breakfast time. The appearance of the hotel is nice from the outside, but I wouldn't stay here again and given the abundance of great places to stay in LP I think they need to pick up their game if they want to stay in the running.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We just needed a place to stay the first night in Luang Probang and after reading some reviews of this hotel, decided it would do for the first night of arrival in Luang Probang. At first glance the hotel looked big and old and rather charming in an old colonial way. The room was adequate, large with a window, overlooking the laundry area outside. The shower did have hot and cold running water. You either had HOT or you had COLD. Seems you could not quite get a balance of hot and cold. The toilet had to be unblocked twice in the 15 hours we were in the room and probably required unblocking again just before departure. Breakfast was outside but by the time we sat down to eat around 0930, there was not much choice available and what was there was cold. Cold eggs, cold "hot dog" type sausage and some warm rice and noodle stuff. We had to ask for bread and for them to refill the tea jug. We moved out and found a guest house that was a quarter of the price, with a bigger room and functioning shower and toilet. Agoda price was around $US60 for a double room, which is by far way too much money for this accommodation. Quite disappointing overall and very glad we only stayed the one night

Room Tip: Check the room out first before booking if possible as room pictures on the net can be very misleading. No elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty_Dibden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The rate was good and the hotel has a great location right on the main round-about in the center of town. My room was very small and simple but clean enough.

The food was inexpensive and adequate at the outside bar we ate in.

We checked in to a different hotel after just one night because we wanted a room with more amenities and a larger space.

I will not return to this hotel as I prefer 4 to 5 star range properties. I can recommend this hotel for those looking for an adequate and simple room in a good location in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorRoccoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews