We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thongbay Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
US$ 55
US$ 50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$ 112
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 130
US$ 108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Lotus Place(Luang Prabang)
US$ 30
US$ 29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 27
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 69
US$ 53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 460
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
4
4
25
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
4
25
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Had a large airy room, but no view. Still air conditioning worked and it was very clean.
The staff were a bit indifferent but by no means surly or unhelpful. I got the impression they were students supplimenting their studies. At least one menber of staff was training to be a teacher.
The breakfast cafe was lovely, and they make a good omlette and french toast. Brilliant location about 30m from the main road directly opposite the King's palace.
There were some steep uneven wooden stairs to negotiate but unless you were elderly or infirm it wouldn't be a problem. i have no doubt there are better hotels but we found it perfectly acceptible.

Room Tip: Road facing rom for the views
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel occupies a lovely large plot ideally situated near the centre of beautiful Louang Prabang. The decor and rooms are quite reasonable, but the hotel is badly let down by staff who don't appear to want to be there.

Louang Prabang is a very lovely town set in beautiful countryside with an abundance of temples and a truly laid back feel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Great if you're backpacking without slumming it. If you want to be pampered and fussed over go elsewhere. After staying the first night in a small 'boutique' inn (ie. cramped and dirty) with a grumpy owner, our change to the much larger and more central Phousi Hotel was great. Located directly opposite the night markets and various restaurants and shops this was an excellent location to spend a few days in Luang Prabang. The adjoining rooms accomodated the four of us easily. We had none of the problems experienced by the other reviewers. Moderately priced, clean and quiet, not five star by any means, but nor does it charge 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubarb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed at the Phousi Hotel the first time about 5 years ago. It seems like not much has changed. I didn't experience any problems and the staff was nice and informative. The rooms were clean (for Laos standards), but were just dated and old. The Phousi is located in the heart of Luang Prabang, right next to the night market and has nicely manicured grounds where one can enjoy a nice Beer Lao. Its a great starting point to begin the day or evening. I had a last minute booking for a standard deluxe room that cost around $65/night (Christmas time).

Luang Prabang itself has vastly developed unfortunately the Phousi hasn't, the hotel has remained the same since I was there, not much improvement. In fact, I would say the location is now a hindrance if one is looking for quiet and serenity. There is constant noise. Its located on the main artery road with traffic noise starting from 6AM and lasting till 12AM. In addition, there is a primary school located right behind it as well. So, if you are there during the afternoon or early evening there will be kids screaming/playing.

The hotel purported to have WiFi, but I could never connect to it. Other relatives at mine stayed at different, vastly more expensive guesthouses, and their wifi didn't work either. So, it could be something with the Lao network.

If you are looking for a good central location the Phousi is good. If you are looking for charm and quiet then better to pick elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank URSOJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in September for US$20 a night in Phousi GH1 - the nicest of the 3. The room was clean and had a balcony on the top (2nd) floor. However there were a few odd things about the place that make me unwilling to recommend it.Firstly when trying to book it via email we were quoted $35 a night, then when we phoned after reading much cheaper prices in reviews they said we could have a room for $25, which we negotiated down to $20 as we were staying 3 nights.

There was construction going on next door (an apparent extension of the guesthouse) which has been going on for over a year and doesn't look like it is anywhere near finished. It wasn't too noisy and didnt bother us too much, however all the washing that is done at the hotel is hung amongst the dirty and dusty bricks and old building remains - including the sheets and towels which consequently don't seem that clean when you get them back.

On the topic of towels, the room was cleaned daily however every single day we had to ask for our towels to be replaced and the cleaner would take them and not replace them. This was annoying, but bearable until the cleaner waltzed into the room to replace the towels , we were in bed and had left the do not disturb sign on the door. It was very embarassing! The shower was also pathetic.

I also wouldn't recommend getting your Visa for Vietnam or Thailand arranged through them last minute as their rates are very high. The internet is in GH2 around the corner and constantly cut out when I was using it - and quite pricy compared to what you can get in town around the corner.

The breakfast in the restaurant outside next to the construction is edible but nothing amazing compared to what you can get in Luang Prabang.

We had an evening flight out of LP so they kindly let us store our bags for the day... in their staff quarters where they were watching TV. It was fine, however I didn't feel confident that my bag was safe from other travelers and staff members prying eyes.

Overall it is a good price for the location, level of cleanliness and new furniture in the room... might be better when the construction is finished.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews