We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned a lot!”

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 95.00*
and up
Luang Prabang Local Life Full-Day Small Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 Museums in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Enjoyed my Hmong Batik class very much. Next time, I'd like to take the other offerings as well. There's a cafe and shop on site, you could spend an entire day here.

Thank Gao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Gao,

Thank you for leaving us a review about the Hmong Batik class - we are happy to hear that you've enjoyed it.
We would love to welcome you back for more classes ;) Remember to check out our website for more class options, and also about the option to pair tow 1/2 day classes together. Gives guests the opportunity to try many things in 1 day!

Hope your days in Luang Prabang have been great & we look forward to welcoming you here soon again.

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"weaving class"
in 35 reviews
"free tour"
in 30 reviews
"natural dyes"
in 25 reviews
"silk worms"
in 21 reviews
"craft centre"
in 17 reviews
"weaving process"
in 13 reviews
"free tuk tuk"
in 12 reviews
"mekong river"
in 43 reviews
"silk production"
in 8 reviews
"silk road cafe"
in 8 reviews
"east meets west"
in 9 reviews
"silk making"
in 4 reviews
"entire process"
in 4 reviews
"cafe overlooking"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful silk"
in 5 reviews
"local women"
in 9 reviews
"lao textiles"
in 4 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

I spent 3 days at Ock Pop Tock, doing the 2 day Batik class and the 1 day natural dye and weaving class. I can highly recommend both to anyone interested in textiles, they were fascinating! The setting and design of the centre is beautiful, it's right on the river and the food at the cafe is delicious. really can't recommend enough!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank indiaintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Indiaintern,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review! Our teachers, staff and activities team at Living Crafts Centre truly appreciate it and strive to make the classes enjoyable for all guests.

We hope that you enjoy your remaining days in Luang Prabang and that we can welcome you back here again! (In fact, you still have the Bamboo Weaving or Village Weaver Project class to try...) ;)

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The property is stunning. They have a beautiful patio overlooking the river, which is fantastic for a drink. That said, I wouldn’t eat here. We had the papaya salad which was far too fishy despite indicating it was made with pork. And the Khao Soi which was lacking depth of flavor. We tried and left both dishes and left fundamentally unsatisfied.

The products in the store and beautiful and pricey. This place is well worth visiting, but not for food.

Thank Rahul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Rwr,

Thank for for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Living Crafts Centre and our stores.
As you already mentioned, the prices reflect our company mission, which uphold the fair trade values. Specifically ensuring that the artisans receive fair pay, health coverage, educational programs, leave, and additional benefits. Our materials are all locally sourced and we go through a rigorous quality control process that ensures the highest value in our materials and textiles.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the Silk Road Cafe and our dishes - we've passed on the feedback to our kitchen staff. For future reference please do not hesitate to let one of our team members know if you are unhappy with your choice, so that we can fix the problem on the spot. We want to make sure everyone is satisfied with their dishes.

We hope you still had a pleasant stay here and your remaining days in Luang Prabang.

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

In 2014 we happened upon Ock Pop Tock and bought a beautiful wall hanging and scarves, which we treasure. We returned to LuangbPrabang this year with friends, and two of us took a half-day weaving class. We each had a choice of one of two designs and two colors of silk apiece. The looms were all set up for us, and we learned the basic technique and went from there to create a small piece , just big enough for a lumbar pillow. The experience gave me a deeper appreciation and admiration for the Lao weavers. They are truly artists with tremendous skill and patience. And the women were exquisitely friendly and hospitable.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank marjorieraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Marjorie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review & 5 star rating! It's really appreciate by all of us here at Ock Pop Tok, especially our Activities team who work hard at curating the classes; aiming to create the best possible experience for our guests.
We'll be sure to pass on the kind words!

We hope that you enjoy the remaining days in Luang Prabang and that we get to welcome you back soon again.

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Enjoyed a great family day learning about natural dyes overlooking the Mekong. Fabulous master class that we all enjoyed as a family!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Alberto,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review & 5-star rating! It's truly appreciated by us here, and we will also pass on the kind words to our Activities team, who work hard at making sure all visitors have an enjoyable time with us!

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing