We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveller rating
647
77
12
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
77
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french colonial style la belle epoque organic garden main building tuk tuk beautiful property in town turn down service colonial feel huge bathroom four poster bed overlooking the garden the general manager lush gardens rooms are spacious beautiful pool each evening
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 747 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Absolutely fabulous, very welcoming, kind and caring staff, food was great, very large and spacious room, pool was a great place to unwind as well as the great bar area, airport pickup & drop off was on time & very good value. We can't recommend it enough! 10 out of 10.

Room tip: Every room is very spacious, if you don't want a room above the main entrance, there are other area's away from the main building.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F, Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear ATWett, Thank you so much for the post! Highly appreciate it. Thank you also for sharing your lovely feedback on our spacious rooms, Kind and caring staffs and service facilities.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Francis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This was my second visit to the Luang Say Residence. This time, I brought my family (husband, 2 children aged 3 and 6, and parents - 2 seniors). We got three rooms. This may be my favorite hotel in the world. The customized, personal service is impeccable.

Staying at the Luang Say Residence is like staying at home with a family. We had a package the provided free children's meals for our kids so long as an adult also ate with them. We looked forward to breakfast every morning. The room was well appointed and large. The wifi was strong enough for both kids to stream netflix (peppa pig) simultaneously on their Kindles.

Luang Prabang is one of the nicest and most beautiful cities to visit, but the reason I'll go back is to stay at the Luang Say Residence. It's like staying in a home with close family that care deeply for you and your happiness.

Room tip: Every room is magnificent. The rooms are large enough for an extra bed if you need to stay 3 to a room.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidhya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F, Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Vidhya R, Many Thanks for the post! We are very pleased to have you stay with us at The Luang Say Residence again and this time with your family.
It is truly encouraging to know that staying at The Luang Say is like staying at home. Also, Thank you for your positive comments on our caring services provided by my team, your compliments will be shared with the team which will encourage them to strive for more.
Thank you again and we hope to seeing you again soon for an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Francis
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This is a beautiful property with lovely rooms, about 5 minutes away from Luang Prabang town.
The highlights of the hotel are:
- Friendly staff
- Shuttles to and from town: Although the hotel advertises a nightly shuttle that runs once an hour, we found they were usually willing to drive us to and from town whenever we wanted to go. This could be because it was low season.
- Excellent food and cocktails. We only ate breakfast but it was delicious. The charming bar served excellent cocktails. They are very expensive for the area (2-3x the price) but worth it to get a high quality drink.
- Comfortable rooms with nice amenities.
- Overall great value for the price.

There were only a couple drawbacks to our stay. First, the pool was under repair. The staff did take us to a very nice pool at another hotel whenever we wanted to, though, so this was a minor inconvenience, but not the end of the world.
Next, the location is not great. It's nice that they provide shuttle service to town, but being walking distance would certainly be more convenient. Finally, the A/C took a long time to cool down the room, and the rooms got VERY hot. They did get cool enough, but we had to be patient.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine5376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F, Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Christine5376, It was a great pleasure having you stayed with us recently and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Luang Say Residence on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property, good service and friendly staffs, which will motivate us to continue to strive for more perfection.
We apologize for the pool being closed for urgent maintenance during your stay, also your Air-condition in your room not cooling fast, we have taken note and have fixed these issues already.
Thank you and we are Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Francis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Luang Say Residence. The rooms were large and beautiful. The beds were were very comfortable. Staff were very attentive and helpful. They arranged the transport and the days trips for us, with no hassle. Food was good though more expensive then what you will get in town. But lots of food were made in-house, including the yoghurt and jams, which was delightful. We stayed through the Family package and my son was delighted to be able to eat whatever he wished from the Kids menu throughout the stay at no extra charge. The hotel is about 5 mins drive away from Luang Prabang town. While Luang Prabang town is great for walking, the area around the hotel is not that interesting. The other let-down was that the pool was under renovation during our stay though the hotel had arranged for us to swim at a pool in another hotel. Overall, it was a lovely hotel and service was top-notch.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ai Ling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F, Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear ALShen2017, Many thanks for sharing your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at The Luang Say Residence. we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Also,Thank you also for your kind note in regards to our pool closed for maintenance, as it was very urgent, we had to make this decision, which has been completed now.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again to Luang Prabang soon.

Kind Regards,
Francis Fernandes
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Definitely worth a SL hotel. hotel is realy nice and has the old colonial feeling eventough the hotel is only 8 years old. We visited LP with our 3 kids. The hotel people were adorable with them. Always smiling and helpfull. Dinner and breakfast was delicious. the swimmingpool is realy beautiful and again the personnel was amazing to us and the children. Fantastic stay and certainly to recommend!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank luxury08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis F, Manager at The Luang Say Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Luxury08, Thank you for spending your quality time to provide your valuable feedback about The Luang Say Residence.
It gives me great pleasure to see that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your lovely comments on our helpful staffs. Your positive thoughts have been shared with the entire team.
We look forward to your next visit to Luang Prabang soon.

Kind Regards
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews