We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$ 36
TripadvisorUS$ 36
ZenHotels.com
TravelocityUS$ 36
CheapTicketsUS$ 36
Trip.comUS$ 40
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
9
13
9
5
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
13
9
5
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

First i have to say i did not stay in this guesthouse but my review is for another service they offer. Renting (motor) bikes. We want to rent a bike there (25000 for 2 days is the cheapest in LP !). They want to see my passport. Then he wants to take it as long as we rent the bikes....... 1 thing is holy in asia and that must be your passport. Never give it away. So i said " no". I told him that he could make a copy but he can not hold it. then he said: "we take special care of it" (they put it in a drawer not in a locker !!) and "when it is not here anymore when you come back we will arrange a new one".
What did you just say ?????????......... OMG. Later we saw a few papers by another shop. They want your passport because if something happend to the bike they charge. When you lose the bike you have to pay a new one. If you dont pay you dont get your passport back, and THEY make the price of a new bike.

Luang prabang is 1 big scam and tourist trap. It is a beautifull place but also a horrible place because of this kind of things.

I just want to warn other people with this post. Look out and never, never, never give away your passport.

Have fun.....

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The rooms of this hotel were nice however the service is absolutely terrible. We stayed there 2 nights are were meant to stay a third but there was no way we were going to give this hotel any more money that they did not deserve.

Firstly we were put in a room that I later found out had not been let out for a month. It was so incredibly smelly and musty. I know the drainage systems in S E Asia are designed in a way that does often make rooms smell but this was something else. It progressively got worse to the point that I felt sick in the room and had to move.

Fortunately there was another room available we could move to but there was no offer of compensation even after I took the manager to the room and he could hardly enter the bathroom as it smelt so bad.

Then the next morning we were happy with our room so decided to stay another night. The manager had said I could come down in the morning to re book the room if I wanted to. I went to re book the room and found he has sold it the night before to a group of 8 as they were more important to them and they all had to be in rooms next to each other. He offered to but us back into the unlivable room. Obviously we declined.

In summary, yes the rooms are nice but the service is terrible. Even after getting kicked out of our room they would not even let us use their internet cafe for free to help find a new room. This place is a gamble.

Room tip: If you do decided to stay here refuse to stay downstairs and especially in the very back room
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at the Thanaboun Guesthouse upon the recommendation of travellers that we had just met. We were very impressed with the room, the staff and the central location. The room was attractive with wood furnishings and wainscoting, spotlessly clean. Cleaning service offered every 2 days with water, towels provided upon request. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
This hotel is good value. I would give it a 5 if it was set in a garden.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiterockCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and a short stroll to the nightmarkets, museum and plenty of great eateries!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Rooms where ok but over priced, hot water was not hot but none of that mattered because the ower was one of the most ignorant and unwelcoming people I have ever met! It really annoyed me that I gave him money for that

Date of stay: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews