We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ever been to a hotel when the showers stop working at 5pm?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ever been to a hotel when the showers stop working at 5pm?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have recently stayed at this hotel and i can conclude it was far from what i imagined.

This is my third time to tunisa and the third diffrenet hotel Ive stayed at. I arrived and first impressions were good and the staff seemed very helpful, the pools looked ok and the sand on the beach was fantastic.

That night we went down to dinner and was Very Disapointed. The selection of food was poor unless you are Russian or Tunisian, Im talking about Carrot Fish fingers, and Broth that can only be described as left overs from other peoples plates chucked into a tub and boiled. The other hotels that I have stayed at have had desent food and this is by far the worst cattering ive experienced. After youve been here you will stroungly dislike A certian country. They Push and shove, and take about 6 portions at a time. All I say is do exactly what they do.

The pool is a little small for the complex for me but probably ok with other familes. They need anoter pool with a slide etc for the kids. The entertainment is Rubbish to be quite hounest, and most of my nights spent at this hotel was in the lobby at the front of the hotel playing cards. There is a pool bar, but you cant take this food to the beach even though its a private beach and youve paid £800 each, but there is a pay resturant on the beach they will serve food, but why would you pay if youve come all inclusive?.

The hotel is advitised as a Thlassos and Spa, but if you want to use this spa, be prepared to pay a mininum of 50 Dinar Each for a Treatment.

The best part of the holiday for me is the barman Khamal, he calls everyone Jimmy and is a right laff. The hotel staff are polite and helpful apart from one young lad on the bar, who has a mono-brow and gets in a stress if you say one bad word. Also there is another waiter who ignored my mother and sister and served 3 other poeple before my mum had to say that she wanted to be served.

On the subject of the showers, they stopped working at 5 pm and ive never had this in a hotel not even a B and B!

To some up.........fantastic beach, Poor food (and no ive never been to spain and had "fried food" haha), staff are ok, and pool is a little to small for me.

Dont bother wasting your money and go somewhere else. Go outside of sousse...Monastair is good.

Room Tip: You can pay for a sea view but many rooms had this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    412
    145
    81
    51
See reviews for
432
315
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Before I talk about the hotel, it's worth noting the airport experience at Enfidha Airport. This is a relatively new airport and so is nice, clean and well presented. However the experience of being a passenger in this airport is nothing short of diabolical. We arrived and had to wait a whole HOUR to get through passport control - not because of the number of passengers but due to very poor staffing. Not a good first impression. The hilarity continued on the way back when check in took a good 45 minutes and then the dreaded queue back through passport control added on another 30 minutes. Be prepared to queue!

Onto Tour Khalef - you've probably read alot of the previous reviews and may be worried about going here - don't be. It's a very nice hotel. Clean, well presented and for the most part the staff are excellent. The main lobby is very grand and airconditioned which is very welcome in 40+ degree heat. As you approach your room you'll notice the main corridors are rather dated looking and the awful carpet is like something from the 50s, but as you arent likely to be sleeping on the corridor its hardly an issue. The grounds of the hotel are excellent and well maintained. The main pool is average sized and not as huge as the pictures make out - there were reports of glass around the pool area and we witnessed a few injuries caused by this. This was reported to Zack the Thomson rep with no success, but more about him later. The beach is lovely - gorgeous sandy beach and a VERY warm sea to take a dip in. As people have noted there are LOADS of random people trying to sell you all sorts of garbage - just be firm but polite and walk on.

The food in my opinion is absolutely fine - a decent amount of variety with something for everyone. No real logic to what they serve and some dishes do repeat themselves constantly but its plentiful and you certainly wont starve.

The Animation team are great - really friendly, happy to take a seat and chat with you and most importantly they wont constantly harass you if you dont fancy getting involved in the activities - this is a big issue for me as places ive been in Turkey wont leave you alone. None of that here - a simple no thanks and they dont mind. The evening entertainment straddles shockingly bad and hilariously good at the same time. Make of that what you will.

Onto the bad points then -

The Russians - to be direct, they are devoid of manners you'd normally expect of an average person in the UK. They will let doors slam in your face, try to push in at the bar and during meal times but you have to be assertive and stand up to them, they soon back down. Its worth noting not all of the russians are bad and we met the odd friendly couple. Also, Watermelon seems to hold some sort of mystical power for the Russians - expect to see them carrying truckoads back to their table.

Drinks - for some random reason Lemonade seems like gold dust in Tunisia at the moment, the bars were constantly running out of Lemonade and some other basic soft drinks and all hell broke loose if someone was adamant they wanted Lemonade with managers being called down and arguing ensuing. Took the shine off the bar experience a bit. Another problem was often you'd go to the bar and they'd have such a random array of glasses you'd be served a beer in a wine glass which is plain ridiculous. Sometimes they had no glasses at all and you'd be told to go to another bar - my advice is point blank refuse and demand to be served, its all inclusive afterall.

Zack the rep was made aware of all of the issues, but did nothing to fix them. If you have a problem and really want it resolved, phone the Thomson 24hr helpine and kick off.

Tunisia is still a relatively developing country and so the staff dont get paid very much and so they really appreciate tips. You may feel that being all inclusive this isnt acceptable but its just the nature of the country. A few dinar to our housekeeper was met with massive gratitude and a selection of sweets off her the next day as a thankyou. Similarly the barstaff appreciate a few dinars and they'll keep you happy with drinks and table service if you are cheeky enough to ask!

Overall I had a great week - made better by the lovely people we met from both ends of the country - its amazing how having a good moan about the russians brought us all together!

Special mention to the team who run the kids club. Now I may be 31, but im a big kid at heart and these guys were absolutely fantastic, I even got a 'ive been a little star on holiday' sticker from them. So big shout out to Juicy Jenny, Hannah Montana and Bendy Wendy!

If you are going here enjoy yourself and dont let little issues spoil the experience.

(PS. Quad Biking is awesome and very cheap!)

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view of some sort, dont bother paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Went on a weeks holiday here, just got back. Had a fantastic time, room was beautiful with fantastic view. Food was good, plenty of it and plenty of choice. Just a shame the Russians didn't realise that, they thought there was a shortage. Would push in. One day I saw a little boy waiting for some chips and all the Russians just kept pushing in front of him. I went over and put some on the plate for him.
Staff were lovely, especially our waiter. I know he was only nice as he was looking for tips but even just giving them 2td (about 80p) they were happy. Would go again tomorrow

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph44dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from a week at the Tour Khalef. The weather was great. The hotel looks grand on first entering, but the upstairs corridors are a bit like a seamans mission I stayed in many years ago. The rooms are adequate, although we didn't have any electricity for most of the first day. Having said that the maid service was very good. Most of the staff are polite and friendly, but there were a couple in the lobby bar who's mood changed when put under pressure and could be quite rude. Talking of rudeness, it's true what they say about the Russains.
The food wasn't to our taste and having been in catering it looked as though some dishes on offer were made from left overs. On one occassion I had vegetable soup only to find pieces of fish in it. By the end of the week I would have settled for a cheddar cheese roll!
Summing up, if you don't like queuing in crowds at mealtimes and appreciate politeness, think twice!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view, but most of the rooms seemed to have sea views anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We are at the Tour Khalef now and have been here for 5 days. The hotel is very dated and a little disorganised. Beach is very nice but beware of local boys pestering women and girls in the sea. Food very basic and the serving area in the resturant is choatic. Our room is great. We have a perfect view of the sea and we have a flat screen TV and hairdryer but not all rooms are like this.Entertainment is poor with limitations what you can do at night. The pizza bar on the beach is not free and you are limited to two all inclusive resturants during the day which have limited choice. If you have booked this hotel it will be fine and the weather will make your holiday, but this hotel could do so much better with a revamp. I will not be returing to this hotel as i expect more for what i paid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jord432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.7 km away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
2.1 km away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.9 km away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
2.2 km away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa

Property: Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#7 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,711 - ₹ 15,328
Hotel Class:4 star — Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Also Known As:
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso And Spa
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Sousse
Marhaba Tour Khalef Hotel Sousse
Tour Khalef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing