We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A taste of Alexandrian past” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Cecil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A taste of Alexandrian past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

+ Located in Downtown Alexandria
+ Very old building
+ Designated parking area
+ Excellent chinese restaurant / bar on the roof..with a magnificent view of the whole city

- No pool
- Crowded downtown area may disturb some, I recommend the higher floors
- Not so affordable prices
- Crappy restaurant

Room Tip: I recommend the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mo_tarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour , We do appreciate sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Trip advisor.

Thank you for the positive points you mentioned, and I apologize for the negative points such as crowd that might disturb some guests and restaurant. If you would like to send me more details about your stay, please write to me on h1726-am@sofitel.com .

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    189
    60
    28
    14
See reviews for
68
90
49
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was travelling on Business and had a sea view room, i was worried from the noise on the main street but it was really quite and I had a good nap in the afternoon and a good sleep at night. Its in a crowded area but alot of cafes and restaurants around.
The rooms are spacious with high ceiling, LCD and comfortable bed. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not for you. If you are looking for a decent hotel with good service I would highly recommend it. Breakfast selection was good. Hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful, always smiling to guest and wishing them a pleasent stay. My experiene was very good and will definitly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour, I would like to thank you most sincerely sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Tripadvisor.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;
Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was for a conference in Alexandria for 3 nights. My room in the 5th floor in the side street was clean and nice. The main street as all streets in Alexandria was noisy - with ear plugs I slept perfectly. The hotel is a "Agatha Christie" hotel, very authentic, with original renovated elevator and great furniture. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was clean and standard for this kind of hotel. The roof is unfortunately sub rented for a Asian restaurant, which ask minimum consumption something like 15 USD (coffee costs about 2 USD). It makes impossible to sit on the roof, have the great view and drink a cup of coffee during the day. I would also appreciate much more, to have instead of the uninteresting restaurant some beds and shower with bar on the top of the hotel, where one could have rest and enjoy the nice weather. In the current setup is the roof very uninteresting...perhaps for a Asian dinner. But not useful during the day.

Room Tip: upper floor oriented to the side street are less noisy, seaview with the main street nice, but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had stayed previously at the Four Seasons on visits to Alex which is farther outside of the city. This hotel is set beautifully on the Corniche with a great view and is very close to the main part of the city. The hotel itself has great history and has an older feel to it. The old Otis elevator is great and the rooms have wonderfully high ceilings. If you are looking for 5 star pampering this is not the hotel for you. It has older bathrooms, the safes are very small and difficult to operate. The doors do not give one a great sense of security. The price is great and the staff were pleasant. We would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: We were in two connected rooms, 401 and 402. Great views from balconies of both and the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STG_Alex, General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Steigenberger Cecil hotel for your recent visit to Alexandria. It was our pleasure having the chance to host you.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guests’ is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed your stay is a reward in itself.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Hosny
General Manager
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel - Alexandria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Was looking forward to staying here because of its history. Room was noisy the first night moved to another room the second night was much better. Breakfast was awful bread stale lousy selection. i do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
10.6 km away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
6.5 km away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
5.7 km away
Tolip
Tolip
#11 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
15.0 km away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Cecil Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Address: 16, Saad Zagloul Square | Raml Station Alexandria, Alexandria 11053, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,855 - ₹ 10,686
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Cecil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Cecil Alexandria lets you experience all the splendor of this amazing city first hand. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district, overlooking the bay and yacht club, this exquisite hotel is just minutes from the airport, ideal for business or pleasure. Built in 1929 yet constantly in step with the times, it provides a perfect blend of modern amenities and old world charm. Discerning connoisseurs also appreciate the impeccable service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Steigenberger Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cecil Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Accor Cecil Alexandria
Sofitel Alexandria
Alexandria Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing