We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
71
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse no elevator the ground floor yogurt walk in shower chocolates left cakes and pastries breakfast is served downstairs first floor hotel is located quiet side street breakfast was amazing wonderful boutique hotel discount card four floors the main shopping street historic city
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Close to everything; friendly staff; highly recommend, they even packed us breakfast for our early morning departure. Hotel was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel was very new and breakfast had many choices. Great coffee. Nice restaurant attached to the hotel also called Hemingway’s. You get 10% off at the restaurant which is really nice .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPSpecial_Group, Manager at 8 1/2 Art Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Steve S,
Reading your words of satisfaction is the best reward our team can receive. Thank you for the positive comments and for giving us your highest rating.
Looking forward for another possibility to welcome you here,
Kindest Regards,
Tatyana Valentinova,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This has been a very comfortable stay.

The location of the guest house is excellent. It’s moments from the main shopping street, minutes from the Tzar Simeon Gardens and about 15 minutes walk from the Old Town.

The staff at the hotel is all friendly. The receptionists all speak good English and are a reliable source of information.

We had room 101 on the first floor. It’s not vast but there is still room to move easily. There is a Superking bed, TV, settee, occasional table and desk. The bathroom has a walk-in shower, a basin and a toilet equipped with a bidet spray (why don’t more hotels install these in their bathrooms?) The water is very hot and the shower is good with both an overhead and handheld spray. I wish the pressure were slightly higher though.

The WIFI is very good. We had no problem streaming radio broadcasts from the UK.

My only criticism of the hotel is of the room. It is very dark. During the day you need to keep the lights on and, at night, leave the curtains open to get the extra illumination from the street lamps. The bathroom is far better with six halogen downlighters however the smoked glass mirror makes shaving very difficult.

Breakfast is very good with fried eggs and bacon as hot dishes and a good selection of cold meats and cheeses. There’s also a very good selection of cakes and pastries.

We’re paying € 82 per night for the room and I feel that is very reasonable for what we are getting. I don’t see me returning to Plovdiv ion the future but, if I did, I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pnhmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I say almost because it has no elevator, but the rooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated and it’s right off the main pedestrian boulevard , across from one of the city’s best restaurants Hemingway’s ( as a hotel guest you get a 10% discount)

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jimbowein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Plovdiv a great alternative destination if you can stomach Stansted and Ryanair , both poor versions of Easyjet and Gatwick. The hotel has some great rooms . We took the penthouse. Great value and plenty of space, with terrace and view over part of Plovdiv.
Breakfast was good but make sure you get down by 10am and the breakfast police start to clear away everything hence the 4/5 instead of 5/5.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthew-kby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPSpecial_Group, Manager at 8 1/2 Art Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Matthew-kby,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback. We are glad to read your stay at 8 1/2 was very enjoyable. Regarding the breakfast we are sorry we are not always able not keep the breakfast longer than 10.00 h. especially on weekends which are extremely busy also for our pastry shop. As another option we would like kindly to offer you breakfast in the room, which you can enjoy at the beautiful terrace of our penthouse.
We hope to welcome you back again at 8 1/2,
Kindest Regards,
Tatyana Valentinova,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Really good hotel centrally located just off main square so not noisy. No facilities such as a bar but not a problem. The rooms really comfortable with a great bathroom and powerful shower. Nice touches such as daily goodies such as chocolate truffles/biscuits/fruit etc.

Spotlessly clean and breakfast served in coffee shop below. Good selection of items. Would definitely recommend and would return. Staff very helpful. Book early for next summer as Plovdiv is the European city of culture.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TheSherrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPSpecial_Group, Manager at 8 1/2 Art Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear TheSherrys,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write! Every single word of your feedback is making our team so glad. We are pleased your time at 8 1/2 was excellent.
Looking forward for your next visit,
Kindest Regards,
Tatyana Valentinova,
Manager
8 1/2 Art Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews