We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
11
39
35
24
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
39
35
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room and bedroom olympic village swimming pool air conditioning bus station breakfast and dinner pilates
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Let's start with the good part, the environment is lovely, long beach side, amazing parks, doesn't make you feel the crowd on the beach. Apart from that, for the cost of almost a 100EUR the accommodation was a disappointment. The room is small and all the things there were old and worn out. There was no AC in the room so it was boiling hot during the day and since we had to keep the windows open at night to be able to bear the heat, it was very noisy. Some rooms, which look more modern, seemed to have AC, which you can use for extra charge, however based on the web side there looks to be no difference between the price of the renovated and non-renovated rooms only the resort part, which indeed looked nice. Pictured on booking sites are taken from the Splendid resort, but that's a different part of the compound. By default you don't get clean towels and toilet paper only after the 4th night, we did ask for it and the guy at the lobby was nice not to charge us the extra cost of changing the towels earlier. There is a small kitchen in the apartment, but not even a sponge to wash the dishes.There is a supermarket inside the area with high prices, two bags of food (no extra stuff some water, bread, pasta milk, etc) for almost 50EUR. There is a tennis court that you can book in advance and a gym (which is free of charge) with two machines but with a nice view on the sea. There is wifi, coverage is kind of OK to check emails. All in all, regardless of the nice environment, I would expect better facilities for such price.

Room tip: Either choose the Splendid Resort, or make sure you will have at least AC in the room if you go there in July/August
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Ms. Erika,

thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks and for providing us with your feedback.

It makes us happy to know that you were satisfied with the location, nature and surroundings.

On the more negative note, we are very sorry to know that you were not satisfied with the value for price and that standard of our 2* apartment did not fully meet your expectations.

We would like to use this opportunity to invite you check our official website arenaturist.com where you can find numerous accommodation options which might better suit your needs.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in one of our hotels or resorts in Pula and Medulin.

Best regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Booked This through Booking.com and the information is kind of decieving. They use pictures from Splendid rock resort, pool, views, rooms, which is on the same "grounds" but Another resort. I dont know IF This is on Booking or on the resort but someone is providing information..We were under the impression that we had booked a hotel room but This was not the case. At the reception we found out IT was an "villa-apartment" with No ac att he far far end Of the resort..! But a guy at the reception was very helpful and changed IT to a room att the actual hotel (Splendid rock resort) ( which is more like an apartment with self service) ! Thats Another review!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank VeronicaSjogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Ms. Veronica,
we would like to apologize for the inconvenience upon check in.
It is wonderful to know that the situation was sorted out immediately and that you enjoyed your stay at Splendid Golden Rocks.
Kind regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

i spent 8 days on this Resort and it was so laud.my room had view on the wrong side of the beach.not very clean.the stuffs was not very kind and you have to pay almost for everything.the internet was terrible.The good thinks was the pool that you have to pay for the chairs and umbrelass and the restaurant close to the pool was relaxing place

Room tip: rooms with sea view,that i didnt had
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erandoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,



thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks and for sharing your impressions with Trip Advisor community.



We are very sorry to know that your stay with us was not among the best ones and that the noise from the surrounding bars in the destination downgraded your experience.



Also, we would like to apologize if our team came across as not very kind, please note that your comment will be taken into serious consideration as we are aware that our accommodation is simple but we always give our best to provide exceptional service to all our guests. Therefore, we are very sorry to know that your experience was different.



With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you in one of our properties in Pula and Medulin again, we are sending you our best regards.



Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The setting of this place is exceptional. The sea is as beautiful, the accommodation is a little tired and can be compared to a 1970's Olympic village or indeed an CenterParcs in need of a refurb and without all the facilities.

However if you look past this the resort is fine as long as you are not expecting it to be 5*.

The staff are all utterly charming and knowledgably and willing to help in any way shape or form.

There is a swimming pool that has one of the most stunning vista's I have seen and is the perfect place to drink a cold beer eat a delicious pizza (pizza £5, beer £2!) while you watch the dolphins play at sunset (a given, every night)

I was with my family and the kids had a great time snorkelling, swimming and playing in the rock pools and on the beach (the beach is 200 yards down the front)

There is a little shop on site that is stocked with all the essentials and beer at £1 a bottle and £2.50 bottles of wine you cant go wrong.

Again if you want something posh this probably wont suit you. But if you can find time to muster up your sense of adventure and visit the deserted fort situated just behind the Horizont or really push the boat out and visit the best preserved Amphitheatre in the world, this might just be for you!

So to the Moral - Spend less time looking for problems and spend more time enjoying yourself

The Creighton's will return!

Room tip: Ask to be able to see the sea!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Mr. Leonard,

thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks Resort and for providing us with such a wonderful feedback.
We are delighted to know that you had a five star experience with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I write this with a heavy heart unfortunately...

Having arrived for a 'much needed' a four day break I was disappointed when I arrived at this establishment.

Having checked into reception we then had to walk for 5 mins to our apartment style cabin, when I walked in a few things hit me immediately.
The apartment was very basic and dated, there's no kettle, no phone, no WiFi.
The biggest issue was the fact that there was no phone in the rooms, reception opens from 7am to 10pm so if there was an emergency there is no way of getting hold of anyone! There were no emergency guidelines or phone numbers of who to contact in case there's emergency.
What if there was a fire or if someone was hurt?
The view from our room was outstanding but blocked by hundreds of trees!! This is a valuable asset that the owners have not taken advantage of.
The bedroom was okayish and the bathroom small but functional.
If you are use to your creature comforts (i.e. working TV or kettle) then do not use this facility.
On the plus side the staff there are outstanding, they could not do enough to make us comfortable.
But unfortunately I will not be returning

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank MacDee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks Resort and for taking time to provide us with your feedback.

We are very sorry to learn that our simple accommodation did not meet your expectations.
Please note that our apartments are equipped in line with two stars categorization. It is a pity that you did not ask for a kettle at the reception as we would happily provide you with one. When it comes to your concerns for security after working hours of the reception, we would like to use this opportunity to inform you that we have security offers appointed throughout the Resort.
Our company, Arena Hospitality Group, has a large portfolio of accommodation options and therefore we invite you to visit our website and check if any other hotel would better suit your needs for future travels.

Best regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews