We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70's Eastern European-like Olympic camp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizont Golden Rocks Resort
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I shouldn't really expect too much for 2* however there are some basics that I would expect. I would say the good things to know before booking this: the views are stunning and the beaches are beautiful. Such clear water, it is picturesque. The price for meals and alcohol on site in the restaurants are fairly reasonable. Pool area is nice. The pool bar food is the better option on site.
The not so good things to know before booking: if your apartment is far from reception, don't expect someone to help you with luggage or send a buggy, you have to walk. You have to pay for the sunbeds around the pool which they pick and choose when they charge you depending on how sunny it is - an actual conversation I had with the man who wanted to charge us (30-35kn per bed so roughly just under £9 for 2 beds). We went in September and the pool bar shut at 10pm! No tea towels, sponge for washing dishes or washing up liquid. 2 toilet rolls in the room for week! Beds are harder than sleeping on a floor. My room was not clean: cobwebs in quite a few places, dirt in the shower and stains on the tea cups. Shower drained at snail pace meaning the bathroom flooded a few times. Walls and ceiling are paper thin so if you have noisy neighbours expect no sleep. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Towels changed once and bed sheets not at all in the space of a week. Don't bother visiting the restaurant next to the mini market - food is awful and the waiter enjoys a fag in between serves. Reception staff don't know what customer service is and to ask them a question is an inconvenience for them. This is the first holiday I have been on where I couldn't wait to come home. Visit Pula, but avoid this resort at all costs.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Ms. Hayley,

thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks resort and for sharing your impressions on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with the views and gastronomic offer within the resort.
In the more negative note, we are sorry to know that the standard of the apartment was not in line with your expectations. Even though we are aware of our simple accommodation, we give our best to provide our guests with the pleasant and memorable experience. Therefore, we apologize for the level of cleanliness as what you described is certainly not in line with our standards.

We would like to use this opportunity to invite you to check our official website arenaturist.com where you can find numerous accommodation options in Pula and Medulin which might better suit you.

With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you in one of our properties, we are sending you our best regards.
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Let's start with the good part, the environment is lovely, long beach side, amazing parks, doesn't make you feel the crowd on the beach. Apart from that, for the cost of almost a 100EUR the accommodation was a disappointment. The room is small and all the things there were old and worn out. There was no AC in the room so it was boiling hot during the day and since we had to keep the windows open at night to be able to bear the heat, it was very noisy. Some rooms, which look more modern, seemed to have AC, which you can use for extra charge, however based on the web side there looks to be no difference between the price of the renovated and non-renovated rooms only the resort part, which indeed looked nice. Pictured on booking sites are taken from the Splendid resort, but that's a different part of the compound. By default you don't get clean towels and toilet paper only after the 4th night, we did ask for it and the guy at the lobby was nice not to charge us the extra cost of changing the towels earlier. There is a small kitchen in the apartment, but not even a sponge to wash the dishes.There is a supermarket inside the area with high prices, two bags of food (no extra stuff some water, bread, pasta milk, etc) for almost 50EUR. There is a tennis court that you can book in advance and a gym (which is free of charge) with two machines but with a nice view on the sea. There is wifi, coverage is kind of OK to check emails. All in all, regardless of the nice environment, I would expect better facilities for such price.

Room Tip: Either choose the Splendid Resort, or make sure you will have at least AC in the room if you go ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Ms. Erika,

thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks and for providing us with your feedback.

It makes us happy to know that you were satisfied with the location, nature and surroundings.

On the more negative note, we are very sorry to know that you were not satisfied with the value for price and that standard of our 2* apartment did not fully meet your expectations.

We would like to use this opportunity to invite you check our official website arenaturist.com where you can find numerous accommodation options which might better suit your needs.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in one of our hotels or resorts in Pula and Medulin.

Best regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Booked This through Booking.com and the information is kind of decieving. They use pictures from Splendid rock resort, pool, views, rooms, which is on the same "grounds" but Another resort. I dont know IF This is on Booking or on the resort but someone is providing information..We were under the impression that we had booked a hotel room but This was not the case. At the reception we found out IT was an "villa-apartment" with No ac att he far far end Of the resort..! But a guy at the reception was very helpful and changed IT to a room att the actual hotel (Splendid rock resort) ( which is more like an apartment with self service) ! Thats Another review!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank VeronicaSjogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Ms. Veronica,
we would like to apologize for the inconvenience upon check in.
It is wonderful to know that the situation was sorted out immediately and that you enjoyed your stay at Splendid Golden Rocks.
Kind regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

i spent 8 days on this Resort and it was so laud.my room had view on the wrong side of the beach.not very clean.the stuffs was not very kind and you have to pay almost for everything.the internet was terrible.The good thinks was the pool that you have to pay for the chairs and umbrelass and the restaurant close to the pool was relaxing place

Room Tip: rooms with sea view,that i didnt had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,



thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks and for sharing your impressions with Trip Advisor community.



We are very sorry to know that your stay with us was not among the best ones and that the noise from the surrounding bars in the destination downgraded your experience.



Also, we would like to apologize if our team came across as not very kind, please note that your comment will be taken into serious consideration as we are aware that our accommodation is simple but we always give our best to provide exceptional service to all our guests. Therefore, we are very sorry to know that your experience was different.



With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you in one of our properties in Pula and Medulin again, we are sending you our best regards.



Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The setting of this place is exceptional. The sea is as beautiful, the accommodation is a little tired and can be compared to a 1970's Olympic village or indeed an CenterParcs in need of a refurb and without all the facilities.

However if you look past this the resort is fine as long as you are not expecting it to be 5*.

The staff are all utterly charming and knowledgably and willing to help in any way shape or form.

There is a swimming pool that has one of the most stunning vista's I have seen and is the perfect place to drink a cold beer eat a delicious pizza (pizza £5, beer £2!) while you watch the dolphins play at sunset (a given, every night)

I was with my family and the kids had a great time snorkelling, swimming and playing in the rock pools and on the beach (the beach is 200 yards down the front)

There is a little shop on site that is stocked with all the essentials and beer at £1 a bottle and £2.50 bottles of wine you cant go wrong.

Again if you want something posh this probably wont suit you. But if you can find time to muster up your sense of adventure and visit the deserted fort situated just behind the Horizont or really push the boat out and visit the best preserved Amphitheatre in the world, this might just be for you!

So to the Moral - Spend less time looking for problems and spend more time enjoying yourself

The Creighton's will return!

Room Tip: Ask to be able to see the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Mr. Leonard,

thank you for choosing Horizont Golden Rocks Resort and for providing us with such a wonderful feedback.
We are delighted to know that you had a five star experience with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Horizont Golden Rocks Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
0 km away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
1.1 km away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#15 of 31 in Pula
279 reviews
2.7 km away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#20 of 31 in Pula
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
5.4 km away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#6 of 31 in Pula
39 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Galija
Hotel Galija
#12 of 31 in Pula
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizont Golden Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizont Golden Rocks Resort

Address: Ulica Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range: ₹ 2,981 - ₹ 10,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizont Golden Rocks Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizont Golden Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Horizont Pula Hotel Pula
Hotel Horizont Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing