We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
8
33
44
32
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
33
44
32
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of hot water roman coliseum facing the sea rooms are large the ground floor reception area austro heyday
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

The bones of this 1909 hotel are very fine. It was built on a grand scale during Pula’s heyday - when it was the base for the Austro-Hungarian navy. Very fine exterior and, inside, grand staircase and high ceilings. Rooms including windows are as they were built.

Yes, the hotel is tired. Furniture in the rooms and in the ground floor reception area seemed mid-Tito period and there’s no air conditioning. That’s a particular issue on the hot fifth floor where the rooms have small windows - I’d suggest avoiding that floor in warm weather. (When I visited in June only rooms on the fourth and fifth floors were available - the fourth floor ones facing the sea are a good size with decent sized windows and have balconies).

The wifi doesn’t extend above the first floor - although, as I discovered, staff were very accommodating about my using the wifi on the shady and cool breakfast/café terrace until midday, when it closed. Where the wifi was available, it worked well.

Other positives were the excellent bathroom I had and free parking in the car park across from the hotel entrance. The buffet breakfast was fine. And the hotel’s position is terrific, next to the famous arena and within easy walking distance of all Pula’s other sights. (Be sure also to do the short walk from the hotel to Pula’s very pretty railway station, past handsome fin-de-siècle apartment buildings). Although it’s central, the position is quiet.

It would be nice if one day the hotel could be improved. But it would be sad if it was so ruthlessly renovated that it lost its character and status as an important part of Pula’s history.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena_Hospitality, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at Guest House Riviera.
We are delighted to read such a lovely feedback and to know you were satisfied with the hotel, our valuable team members, the location, our breakfast offer as well as with the surrounding. Your kind words are highly appreciated.
It would be a pleasure to get the opportunity to welcome you again for another memorable stay.
Kind regards,
Guest House Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

An interesting, but worn interior. Beds are very short. The bathroom is clean and solid. Beautiful view and top location. A friendly receptor, the service stopped in time. We missed some cafes or a bar in the hotel; breakfast is due to the full occupancy of the hotel quite modest.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mr. Jerry,
thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the location, our friendly team members as well as the beautiful view.
With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards.
Guest House Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is and has been a very grand hotel. I loved the high ceilings and decorative casts,splendid pillars and wide sweeping staircase. Our room was huge 6x5 meters. The bathroom was also large and above all, everything was clean. Towels were fresh and plenty of soaps & shampoo provided. Twin bed were comfortable and plenty of wardrobe space with sufficient hangers.At breakfast there was a drink machine that gave the best coffee I had all holiday.The hotel lift was always in working order and plenty of hot water even to have a bath. DOWN SIDE-The breakfast,continental style, started off on day one with two cold meats and one cheese selection ,grapes and a selection cakes. Day two the grapes had gone and replaced with plums, fewer cakes. Day three ,even less cakes and they were now stale,plums still available. Day four, the cakes were now reduce to a small plate and were hard as well as stale. Day five, I had to ask for ham to be made available to the ever happy restaurant manager,cakes had now all gone and no delivery had been made,plums replaced with not very nice apples . NOTE to hotel,you have a great hotel that could be so much better for very little money.Local market sells beautiful fruit for minimal cost. Day six,TWO types of lovely sponge cake,just shows what a good whinge to the manager can achieve.Staff did their job so don't get hungover by their surly attitude,I don't go on holiday to make friends with them. Conclusion, A good stopover hotel that is priced correctly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCardRushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Guest House Riviera and for taking time to share your impressions.

We are happy to know that you stay with us was pleasant and that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness and the location.

It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you.
Best regards,
Guest House Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We knew once we arrived at Pula airport shortly after 10pm that the heat was going to be an issue. We arrived at the hotel by taxi which took about 15min (150Kuna). The driver showed us a photo of a temp gauge he had taken earlier in the day which topped 40.1C. Receptionist was helpful and we made our way to our room on the top floor. It's hard to describe but it felt like stepping into an oven. Our saving grace was a standing oscillating fan which provided some relief. Needless to say we did not have a good night sleep and neither can I apportion any blame to the hotel. We knew in advance there was no air-con. The bedroom and en-suite were spotless, a fantastic view of the harbour and breakfast, though basic, was enjoyed on the first floor veranda. For us it was all about the location as it was convenient to train station and in that respect it met all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tcpEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Guesthouse Riviera and for providing us with your feedback.

We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were satisfied with the location, level of cleanliness and views from the room.

It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you.
Best regards,
Hotel Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I took the risk after reading all the reviews and stayed at this sauna of a hotel for 2nights. This hotel at time of booking last minute was the cheapest stay in Pula BUT expensive for what you get in this hotel. Paid AUD $125 per night.No breakfast included. No air con. Only Wi-fi in lobby and NOT in bedroom. Room was old. Towels were ripped. And It was very hot.Room was a sauna with only a small fan.
I was so happy when it came to check out time.
The only thing that this hotel has going for itself is its prime location. 2 minute walk to arena and the wharf. And a 5min walk to the bus station.
If you are on a budget and plan to do a lot of sight seeing and boat trips from Pula and are coming back very late at night to sleep then maybe take the risk and stay only 1night. At your own risk!!!
If your looking for a relaxing,comfortable stay where you can have a nap this is not the place for you.
If you have kids don't bother they will be up all night.
This hotel needs attention to upgrades starting with providing aircon in rooms for customers. This hotel will be unlucky one day if they experience a patron who will be hospitalised for such poor hot conditions.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank VesnaZoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ms. Vesna,

we are very sorry to know that your stay at our Guesthouse Riviera was not among the best ones.

Please note that our official website provides detailed description of the facilities available at Guesthouse Riviera. We are aware that we offer simple accommodation which is, however, in line with guesthouse categorization standards, but it is not our intention to mislead our guests in any way.

Please note that our company Arena Hospitality Group offer a wide range of accommodation options which might better suit you. We invite you to check our official website.

With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you in one of our properties in Pula and Medulin, we are sending you best regards.

Hotel Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews