We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
8
33
44
32
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
33
44
32
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plenty of hot water roman coliseum facing the sea rooms are large the ground floor reception area austro heyday
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

An interesting, but worn interior. Beds are very short. The bathroom is clean and solid. Beautiful view and top location. A friendly receptor, the service stopped in time. We missed some cafes or a bar in the hotel; breakfast is due to the full occupancy of the hotel quite modest.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mr. Jerry,
thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay with us.
We are glad to know you were satisfied with the cleanliness, the location, our friendly team members as well as the beautiful view.
With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards.
Guest House Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is and has been a very grand hotel. I loved the high ceilings and decorative casts,splendid pillars and wide sweeping staircase. Our room was huge 6x5 meters. The bathroom was also large and above all, everything was clean. Towels were fresh and plenty of soaps & shampoo provided. Twin bed were comfortable and plenty of wardrobe space with sufficient hangers.At breakfast there was a drink machine that gave the best coffee I had all holiday.The hotel lift was always in working order and plenty of hot water even to have a bath. DOWN SIDE-The breakfast,continental style, started off on day one with two cold meats and one cheese selection ,grapes and a selection cakes. Day two the grapes had gone and replaced with plums, fewer cakes. Day three ,even less cakes and they were now stale,plums still available. Day four, the cakes were now reduce to a small plate and were hard as well as stale. Day five, I had to ask for ham to be made available to the ever happy restaurant manager,cakes had now all gone and no delivery had been made,plums replaced with not very nice apples . NOTE to hotel,you have a great hotel that could be so much better for very little money.Local market sells beautiful fruit for minimal cost. Day six,TWO types of lovely sponge cake,just shows what a good whinge to the manager can achieve.Staff did their job so don't get hungover by their surly attitude,I don't go on holiday to make friends with them. Conclusion, A good stopover hotel that is priced correctly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCardRushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Guest House Riviera and for taking time to share your impressions.

We are happy to know that you stay with us was pleasant and that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness and the location.

It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you.
Best regards,
Guest House Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We knew once we arrived at Pula airport shortly after 10pm that the heat was going to be an issue. We arrived at the hotel by taxi which took about 15min (150Kuna). The driver showed us a photo of a temp gauge he had taken earlier in the day which topped 40.1C. Receptionist was helpful and we made our way to our room on the top floor. It's hard to describe but it felt like stepping into an oven. Our saving grace was a standing oscillating fan which provided some relief. Needless to say we did not have a good night sleep and neither can I apportion any blame to the hotel. We knew in advance there was no air-con. The bedroom and en-suite were spotless, a fantastic view of the harbour and breakfast, though basic, was enjoyed on the first floor veranda. For us it was all about the location as it was convenient to train station and in that respect it met all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tcpEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Guesthouse Riviera and for providing us with your feedback.

We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were satisfied with the location, level of cleanliness and views from the room.

It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you.
Best regards,
Hotel Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I took the risk after reading all the reviews and stayed at this sauna of a hotel for 2nights. This hotel at time of booking last minute was the cheapest stay in Pula BUT expensive for what you get in this hotel. Paid AUD $125 per night.No breakfast included. No air con. Only Wi-fi in lobby and NOT in bedroom. Room was old. Towels were ripped. And It was very hot.Room was a sauna with only a small fan.
I was so happy when it came to check out time.
The only thing that this hotel has going for itself is its prime location. 2 minute walk to arena and the wharf. And a 5min walk to the bus station.
If you are on a budget and plan to do a lot of sight seeing and boat trips from Pula and are coming back very late at night to sleep then maybe take the risk and stay only 1night. At your own risk!!!
If your looking for a relaxing,comfortable stay where you can have a nap this is not the place for you.
If you have kids don't bother they will be up all night.
This hotel needs attention to upgrades starting with providing aircon in rooms for customers. This hotel will be unlucky one day if they experience a patron who will be hospitalised for such poor hot conditions.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank VesnaZoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ms. Vesna,

we are very sorry to know that your stay at our Guesthouse Riviera was not among the best ones.

Please note that our official website provides detailed description of the facilities available at Guesthouse Riviera. We are aware that we offer simple accommodation which is, however, in line with guesthouse categorization standards, but it is not our intention to mislead our guests in any way.

Please note that our company Arena Hospitality Group offer a wide range of accommodation options which might better suit you. We invite you to check our official website.

With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you in one of our properties in Pula and Medulin, we are sending you best regards.

Hotel Riviera Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed here as part of a small group tour. Maybe the experience would have been slightly better if the temperature had not been close to 100 degrees but there were real problems with the place, anyway. There is no air conditioning, towels are not changed (unless you pay for new ones), a bat was flying around the 5th floor each night we were there (three nights), the toilet seat broke (this was fixed by the time we returned to the room). No Wi Fi except on the two lowest levels which wreaked of smoke and the heat was unbearable. The toilet off the lobby was out of order twice. One woman in the group could not open the one window in her room. The man at the desk asked her what she had done to try to open it. She said she had pushed it - he told her she should push harder. Another person's fan (stand-up fan) did not work properly and she was told that she was lucky to have a fan. I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff was so rude. Don't be fooled by the lovely exterior of this historical building - it stops at the door.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Platwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews