We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Verudela Pula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Plaza Verudela Pula
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Beautiful newly renovated apartment with 3 plasma tvs, but only a couple of english channels. We booked self catering but the apartment had no cooker just a hob and microwave. Also no kettle. Pool was salt water. One big slide which you have to pay for. Small children's club. Towels changed twice a week. Lovely evening entertainment for kids.
On the whole had a great weeks holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dea_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Park Plaza Verudela Pula, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Dea_4,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Park Plaza Verudela. We are happy that you enjoyed the newly renovated apartment and that your children had a nice time at the kids club and during the evening entertainment.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Park Plaza Verudela.
Best regards,
The Park Plaza Verudela management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    260
    71
    19
    5
See reviews for
268
206
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

If you like the idea of a modern day Butlins then this would be fine for you, but expect to pay way over the odds! The rooms have been upgraded but you don't come away to sit in a room and the corridors are filthy. The pool area is packed to overflowing with people perched everywhere they can possibly squeeze themselves. Expect to pay about £2 per person per day for a pool bed and another £2 for an umbrella if your lucky enough to find one free. Also there is a huge water slide which although good for the children is at an extra charge per slide. A very deceptive hotel complex that works out to be a lot more expensive than you think!! Warning: don't forget to pack your towels as none are provided at the pools! In all honesty, just stay away, wish we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Park Plaza Verudela Pula, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Kerry T,
Thank you for writing your opinion of the Park Plaza Verudela. We are very sorry to hear that the resort did not reach you expectations.
We wish you had taken the time to talk to our staff, they would have certainly helped you to change your apartment or accommodation.
Kindly note that all the information about the pools and other amenities are present on our homepage, therefore we kindly invite you to always check the information online to avoid unpleasant surprises.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Park Plaza Verudela or in any other Park Plaza facility that would better suit your needs.
Best regards,
The Park Plaza Verudela management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked the hotel from 25.06.2012 - 07.07.2012, we booked it on booking.com, we booked a studio (on the homepage of the hotel it was advertised to have sea view (they changed it meanwhile).
We stayed at Park Plaza Verudela Pula from 25.06.2012 - 02.07.2012. Arriving at the hotel we were impressed! New complex, and really good looking!
At the reception: We got less information about the complex, then the guest just before us
Our studio: it wasn't as advertised in a small house, but like in a appartment house, without seaview... The facilities in the studio were beautiful! But:
-The kitchen utensils were dirty! The kitchen itself was dirty.
-The bathroom wasn't clean for real, so hair sticking on the walls
-The cleaning mop looked like there had been cleaned the whole houses with it, without cleaning it once.
-On the baseboards every dirt
-The walls also dirty
-The terrace/patio: food and dirt sticking on the floor, used cleaning utensils, doorknob, and used tissues, lying in the small ''garden'' of the terrace.
- You don't get towels or dishwashing liquid or floor-liquid! You have to provide it on your own! So you have to take it from home, or to buy it in the supermarkets there.
So we went to the reception to complain, so they gave us the key of another room to check if this one is okay: there was a ants-plague in it. So we went back to the reception to ask if it is not possible to keep our room and that they let clean it. The lady with the black short hair in the reception promised us this.
Then minutes later the housekeeping (2 ladies) arrived to our studio to clean it! They asked us where the dirt is, so we showed it do them! In the bathroom, the lady just wiped the hair with her hand from the wall. At the balcony they told us: ''The dirt is normal! It's the birds who take it from the trashcans and deposit it there''. They took the dirt away with the hands from the terrace and leaved us telling us ''the room isn't dirty, so we don't need to clean'' (They cleaned nothing, they took just the dirt from the terrace).
So the next day (tuesday) we went once again to the reception, again they promised us to clean, again they did nothing.
So again I went on thursday to the reception, there the lady with the black long hair told us that our studio is clean. As I asked when we get new towels, toiletpaper and the studio cleaned (It was advertised that you get twice a week new towels, and once a week the studio cleaned), the lady told me that we will get on friday new towels, and that we get toiletpaper and the studio cleaned on monday, as we booked just 2 weeks, we just get once cleaned.
After this, we decided to go further! Because in the hotel they just tried to cheat and do like the complains aren't founded! (No one from the reception came looking to our studio, even if we made the proposal to show them what is wrong).
We wrote an email to the hotel itself, to the park plaza, and to the customer care of the carlson group. And like magic: Our complains were heared, the manager called us, and gave us a free upgrade to an appartment with ''seaview''. This appartment was clean, but here was the problem that the swimming pool and the kids animation area weren't 10meters away, so from the opening until the closing of the pool we just got loud music and noise.
After one of us became sick, we decided to leave the hotel earlier. As we asked to do this, the manager told us that it is no problem, and that we just have to pay for the days where we really were there. We thought ok and then checked out.
After having paid, we got then the bill. As I checked the bill, I saw that they once again cheated on us, because they calculated us 8 nights instead of 7 nights, but we didn't say anything, because it wasn't worth to argue again.
The surroundings:
They have much facilities like tennissquares etc, and you can do much there, you also can go by feet to the beach (nowhere sand!), and they also got plenty of pools (the parasols and sunlounger cost extra!)
Pula itself: Not really interesting! You just can see the amphitheater.
The shops:
They have Liddl, DM, and Kaufland there, but be careful! The food, drinks etc are expensiver in Pula then in our own Country! Also the local supermarkets! [example: 1liters Coca Cola costs 16 kuna! (13 kuna = +/- 1€) ]
They don't have the shops we know! H&M for example is just in Zagreb, Split and Dubrovnik! You can buy clothes there but they are overpriced, as most of the clothes are no-name clothes.
Be careful when you something on the market! They try to cheat on you, because they know that you're a tourist, and that you can't really calculate with their money. So they try to sell you the clothes twice the price announced!
The restaurants:
You just get everywhere the same things! You got Schnitzel, grillplate meat, grillplate fish, blue white fish, calamary and pasta!
The best is to eat fish or the grillplate, because the pasta was nowhere good!
The prices don't have any relation to reality! A big Coca Cola cost 35 Kuna (+/- 4.5€) and the food costs 52 -112 Kuna (7-15€). There were restaurants where you paid 9 Kuna for a bottle of water and others asked 30 kuna.... But the food had everywhere the same prices.
So the food is cheapier and the drinks in the restaurants.
The people:
Be careful if someone crashes in your car! Don't move the car, even if they tell you that you will get a big penalty from the police if you don't move the car, because they lie! They try to get their ''cars'' repaired over your insurance! Always call the police, and always take pictures!
We had the experience! There was a man crashing on purpose into our car, he didn't to fill out the european constant, and then suddenly 10 men arrived (they all knew the man who crashed into us), and then they tried to make us the car move, by telling us that we have to pay a penalty of 200€ if the police arrives. After they saw that we weren't moving the car, and that we call the police, they became angry and continued arguing and insulted us! But as we didn't feared and as they saw that we took pictures of the cars, and the damages, and that we called again the police, everybody arguing with us was going away, it looked like they had to escape... But as we weren't stupid, we took pictures of the man driving away with the car he crashed into us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank CookiePeppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I was really surprised of the whole location - everything was really nice, poolside refreshing, nice bistro Oliva etc. Accomodation is divided in many houses in nice, green area. Rooms were nicely decorated, well equipped and renewed not too long time ago. Park Plaza's area was full of all kind of sports activities - tennis, foorball, basketball, trampolines, minigolf - you name it... The supermarket at the area and it's friendly stuff was totally great. If you get your lesson and learn few Croatian words it really pays off :) Locaction of the hotel was beautiful. Getting to the airport ar city centre is easily done by bus or taxi. If something could be better, I would say that getting clean towels more often would be nice (two times during 1 week stay). In addion to this it would be superb to have some detergent to do dishes. And last but not least - getting to the airport by taxi - lady at the reception told us that it would cost max 150 Kunas, it did cost over 200 Kn. So learn your lesson and get the deal with the driver beforehand...

Room Tip: If you can choose pick a room with sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Park Plaza Verudela Pula, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SpringFinn,
Thank you for choosing the Park Plaza Verudela, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest! We are particularly grateful for the time you have taken to give us a feedback on Tripadvisor. We always take the thoughts and wishes of our guests very seriously.
We are extremely sorry to hear that the taxi rate was higher then expected, unfortunately that depends on the Taxi itself, and just as you suggested it is always better to check the rates with the Taxi before the departure.
We would like to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Plaza Verudela in the near future.
Best regards,
The Park Plaza Verudela management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

+ Nicely decorated and modernized apartments with good AC, flatscreen-TV and kitchen
+ Fairly good prices compared to other similar places
+ Sporting facilities include minigolf (however the two courses are in terrible condition), tennis, basket, etc., and should keep you occupied
+ The supermarket is placed just beside the reception, with most of what you need, although at higher "tourist-prices" than normal

+/- There are a few restaurants on the complex, some of them offer very basic selection of food, they are not very exciting, and quite average in taste. And the service was so-so
+/- The complex is a fair bit away from everything else in Pula, so you have go by bus, taxi or car into the city
+/- The beaches are not what I would call "child friendly" with mostly rocks and cliffs

- Even though the complex has been modernized, it is only on the surface, the buildings are still original. This results in extremely poor soundproofing. This was especially the case out in the hallway - where it seems they have chosen doors made of cardboard. Luckily the house rules of silence during the night was enforced by our neighbours, otherwise we would not have gotten much sleep. Don't know of the apartments with entrances "out in the open" suffer from quite the same problems
- Little to none information available from the hotel when checking in, i.e.; how often do the cleaning crew come (once during the week to change towels), where/if do we empty the garbage ourselves (dedicated dumpsters), no re-fill of the toilet paper, etc. A perfect scenario would of course be the cleaning crew taking care of all this, but information on the do's and dont's should atleast be provided when checking in
- Really had expected more than a fold-out couch to sleep in for 5 nights in our apartment! The comfort itself wasn't too bad, but it made a lot of squeaky-noises when tossing and turning

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Park Plaza Verudela Pula, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Oslolosen
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Park Plaza Verudela. We are glad that you liked the resort, its decoration and the sporting facilities available.
However, we are extremely sorry to hear that some of the services mentioned did not reach your expectations. Please note that all the information about the cleaning and the availability of the sofa bed are mentioned on our homepage. Therefore we kindly suggest you to check all the descriptions, in order to prevent unpleasant surprises during your stay.
You may be assured that your important remarks will be taken into account helping us to improve our services.
We hope that these inconveniences will not prevent you to visit us once again in the future in Park Plaza Verudela or in any other Park Plaza hotel that would better suit your needs.
Best regards,
The Park Plaza Verudela management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.6 km away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.2 km away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.7 km away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
8.8 km away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
6.7 km away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#15 of 32 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Verudela Pula? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Verudela Pula

Property: Park Plaza Verudela Pula
Address: Ulica Verudella 11, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,458 - ₹ 11,574
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Verudela Pula 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Verudela Pula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing