We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed four nights in the Pucic Palace towards the end of March 2012. As previous reviews mention, it’s in a great location right in the centre of the Old Town of Dubrovnik.

I think the hotel has something like 19 rooms, so don’t expect it to be like a big hotel in a chain – that’s part of the charm! The rooms are nice and reasonably sized. The bed was very comfortable, and I slept well (apart from being woken up at 5am on the last morning by a small earthquake!). The bathroom has all the usual amenities with mosaic floors and walls. There were comments in previous reviews about paying for wifi – it looks like this has changed and is now free (although I didn’t use it during my stay). I had a corner room which overlooked the square, great for seeing everything going on. If you’re not an early riser though you might find it a bit noisy first thing, despite the good soundproofing. Dubrovnik comes to life early as the traders set up their stalls in the market in the square.

Breakfast is all ordered – no buffet, but there is a good choice. As everything is freshly prepared and cooked to order you need to leave enough time to enjoy it. I didn’t eat in the restaurant.

The staff were all very helpful. If you let the hotel know when you are arriving in Dubrovnik they arrange for someone to meet you at the Ploce Gate to the Old Town and take you and your luggage to the Hotel. Similarly when you leave they will take the luggage back to the Ploce Gate.

Everything in the Old Town is within easy walking distance and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars near the hotel.

Dubrovnik is a beautiful city and this is a good place to stay to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMM_SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Pucic Palace Hotel. Yes wifi service is free of charge from this year. Thanks to the previous comments of our guests we listened what our guests would like. We do hope that you will be visiting us again.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    86
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
56
244
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recently stayed at this beautiful hotel for 4 nights from 10th february after researching the internet....it's the only hotel within the walls of the old city and it's location is stunning...we had a room overlooking the old square with a small balcony and a lovely bathroom and couldn't fault anything at all about it...the decor of the room was very classical with the comfiest bed ever and was cleaned daily....all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and laid back and willing to help with any questions or requests we had. Breakfast was plentiful with the usual choices of cereal, fruit , juices and cooked breakfast. We visited out of season and unfortunately for us the weather was quite bad so most restaurants and cafe's were closed so we had our evening meal in the hotel on our first evening which was just ok ....then on the sunday with particularly horrendous weather and nowhere open we decided to have room service for our evening meal and this was from the same menu in the restaurant... i ordered risotto and unfortunately it was so full of salt it was inedible...my partner ordered chicken which was not good either so definitely not 5 star food at all...we wondered if because we were visiting out of season, and there were not many guests wether they had a temporary chef. We didn't complain because all the staff were so lovely and we could not fault anything else about the hotel but if you are visiting in season there will be lots of lovely restaurants to visit in the evening so I would suggest eating out. We would definitely come back to stay again in the summer and Dubrovnik is a stunning city. Thankyou to all the hotel staff for making us so welcome. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Either ask for a room overlooking the main square with a lovely balcony....or room 16 is in the atti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you liked Dubrovnik and our hotel despite the bad weather. We are really sorry for the problem you had with the food in our hotel. There is no excuse for it weather it is in the season or off the season. We are going to take it into consideration and pay mora attention to it in the future. We do hope that you will be visiting us in the future.

Kind regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have just spent Christmas week at the Pucic Palace. The hotel, the staff, our room, the food, were all excellent and very good value. Being inside the city walls one feels 'part' of local celebrations - but one can easily get to local transport or taxis, and the 'not to be missed' cable-car is close by. For the two of us, both active pensioners, it was an ideal choice for a Christmas break, and the sunshine every day made it even better. Oh yes, the number 10 bus goes to Cavtat, a half-hour ride for 17 Kuna, and the walk on the peninsula is delightful, as is the waterfront. A lovely memory for us both.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JourneymanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad that you enjoyed Dubrovnik during holiday celebrations and that you met our local customs. We are especially glad that weather served you well and that you discovered not only Dubrovnik but surrounding areas too. We are looking forward seeing you in Pucic Palace in the future.

Best regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My husband and i had our wedding reception at the pucic palace at define restaurant. The staff went over and above to make our night amazing. The food was amazing and the service wonderful. We also stayed at the hotel for our wedding night and we only booked their cheapest room but we were given a room with fanastic views of the old square. The bathroom was out of this world and the bedroom was lovely. The staff left chocolates on the bed which was a lovely touch. Our breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future. This is the perfect hotel for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your honest and lovely feedback. We are happy that your first moments of marriage were beautiful and happy and that it all happened in our hotel. We do hope that you will come back and enjoy in Dubrovnik and in Pucic Palace Hotel. We wih you all the best and we are looking forward meeting you again.

Kindest regards.
Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Location was perfect. Hotel was stunning. Service was excellent. Food was delicious!
We did stay in late November which as it was out-of-season meant we got a very good deal (half board was an added bonus when we checked in as we thought we'd only booked B&B!).
Being out-of-season meant that the hotel was only half full and the staff were all the 'permenent' ones - nothing was too much trouble for them. In high season i can imagine that they, like all establishments, have to take on a number of seasonal staff who may not be as attentive as we experienced.
The rooms were classy, spotless and comfortable. Even the maid was always smiling. And the location is the best in Dubrovnik - you were right at the heart of the old city. We ate in several restaurants in the old town and never found better food than at the hotel
My recommendation would be to go to Dubrovnik 'out of season', you'll get better value, better service and experience the best Dubrovnik has to offer when its not over run by the thousands of tourists who descend 'in-season' . A day trip to Cavtat is also recommended and a ride in the cable car. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Dubrovnik as well.

We are looking forward meeting you again.

Kindest regards!

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.6 km away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,451 reviews
1.4 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,266 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#33 of 67 in Dubrovnik
16 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Property: The Pucic Palace
Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,961 - ₹ 63,687
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing